We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FINE DINING ON 6A”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Restaurant

Dolphin Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Barnstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“FINE DINING ON 6A”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

All along beautiful route 6A on Cape Cod you will find many great places to eat. The Dolphin in Barnstable is one of those terrific restaurants. Our meals sat night were excellent. All of us had various fish dishes and were very satisfied. There was only one veg. on the menu but you could substitute for cole slaw. The crackers and cheese starting the meal were delicious. It's a small restaurant so a little cramped but not bad. Service was very good and helpful. You'll enjoy a stop at the Dolphin. The fish meals are top notch but you can also order chicken and meat dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    101
    26
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stopped in for lunch while road tripping on the Cape. The food was excellent. We had salad to start, fish n chips and a fish sandwich. The fish tasted really fresh and the service was great. We even stayed for dessert, which was also great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
281 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I do not get to go to this side of the Cape much but this was definately worth the trip. Great food, good prices and great service with a smile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Surf and Turf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

On a wet, rainy February Friday my wife and I decided to try the Dolphin Restuarant in Barnstable. We had friend meet us there and preceded to have a great meal. Oysters on the half shell were sweet and delicious and, of course, fresh! My Surf and Turf was one of the best Ive ever had. Large succulent maine lobster tail perfectly prepared accompanyed by a petite 6oz filet mignon, also perfectly prepared. Friend had a veal piccata that was delicious but too much for one meal, she took it home. Wife had the scallops carbonara which were also perfectly prepared. Dessert followed as we shared a fruit crumble and bread pudding. Nice little wine list also availalable with after dinner drinks and coffees also available. Wait staff are knowledgeable and experienced. No need to tell them how to pace a meal as most have been working there for years. When in Barnstable you must try the Dolphin!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, charming restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We enjoyed our lunch very much. We had baked scallops and baked scrod; both were fresh and excellent. Service was good; very friendly and pleasant staff. Ambience was terrific. We'll be back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Restaurant also viewed

 
Barnstable, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing