We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we expected”
Review of Bedford Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night on our way from New York to Boston via Salem. We booked this motel at hotels.com and were attracted by the price. Honestly, I wouldn't expect anything good judging by its rating and reviews. However, I was really surprised with what I got.
We arrived late, around 11pm. The manager was really pleasant and helpful, told us everything we needed to know and gave us the Wi-Fi password. He also offered us to get free coffee in the lobby on the checkout. The front desk works limited hours; self checkout applies before 7am. Parking is right in front of the door.
The location is very convenient. It is not far from Burlington mall and a lot of other amenities, but at night the place is really quite once you approach the rooms. We enjoyed our sleeping experience there. Beds are really comfortable, by the way.
We got the room #12 (double, non-smoking). I was really surprised that the standard room was equipped as the one some motels would call "premium" (iron/ironing board, microwave, minifridge, small bathtub, hair dryer, however the latter did not work). Wi-Fi signal was steady and strong, and it is protected by a password for motel guests. Rooms look exactly like in the official pictures. On the downside, it wouldn't hurt to renovate rooms: carpet, armchairs, bed covers looked old and dusty, furniture and TV are outdated, the AC is old and noisy (but efficient), some outlets are out of order. The room key is not a card, it is really a key, which was a bit quaint for me.
I found the quality / price ratio to be completely satisfying. If I get a chance to visit Boston again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ixseeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    50
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
33
35
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We love to visit Concord but can't afford the prices there, and Lexington is one big traffic jam. Last time we were in the area we stayed in Littleton, but that was too far out so we gave the Bedford Motel a try. My first impression was not good as I pulled in and there were people and cars everywhere, turns out that the crowd was the Sunday evening crowd for the ice cream place next door. We checked in and pulled to the back where the rooms are and were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were very quiet, we could park outside our door. Rooms were very clean and the furniture looked new. Yes, only a stand-up shower, but that was ok. Plenty of outlets, good wifi. Pizza, drugstore, Whole Foods short drive from the hotel. Our GPS took us back to the hotel a different route one evening and we saw some beautiful horse farms. Never did try the ice cream next door, maybe next time as I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Friendly staff, clean room, very quiet. Great ice cream store next door. We slept like logs, kids loved the ice cream. A great value when visiting Boston. We drove into Alewife Station, and spent time touring Boston. 13 mins from Walden Pond.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here with daughter to check Boston off our bucket list and it was safe, clean, quiet, comfy (very comfy beds). Sure updates would make it a little nicer, but that would increase the cost. Had all the necessary amenities, parking right in front of our door, WiFi and coffee. We travel for enjoyment often as a family and often stay at higher priced establishments, but this was a mother/daughter trip and my daughter is practical, so we decided to keep costs affordable for her means as a college student.

Room Tip: Room 2 no issues at all, not a window view I would prefer, but we kept the curtains closed for priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy Park, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Convenient, your car parks at your door, bed is comfortable, secured WIFI, refrigerator, microwave, writing desk. On the not-so-great side: bathroom fan did not work, faucet handle was loose, making it difficult to control the water temperature, and shower soap dish was rusted. Then the alarm system started saying "Low Battery" at 4am. Told the front desk about the Low Battery alarm, told that someone will come look at. We checked out at 11am; alarm was still repeating "Low Battery", now louder, and followed by beeps. At 11am, the front desk apologized that the repair person was still not available to fix it. On a side not: the alarms use a 9 volt battery that can be easily replaced, as part of annual maintenance, to avoid waking up guests at 4am in the morning. We also stayed at the Best Western in Chelmsford. The quality is worth the price difference (about $20 per night). Best Western also gives a free tasty breakfast for Two at no extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamGebala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Old, inexpensive (for the Boston metropolitan area), out of the way, clean and well maintained motel with good Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and, of course, bed. Fast trip to Concord (Minuteman Old Bridge Battlefield site going across (not sitting in) rush hour traffic. Rooms are big enough that the desk chair does not bump the bed. Table lamp has power outlets for computers, a simple point that many inexpensive motels don't worry about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Few motels are as quiet as this one, and few owners are as thoughtful. It is "old-school" in some ways (real keys, and just coffee and a pastry for breakfast), but the overall experience is extremely positive. The motel itself is set back from the main road, and the fact that it is within a courtyard helps keep it quiet. The larger windows are at the back of each room, with the smaller-windowed bathrooms at the front, facing the parking lot, so that adds to the quiet. Right next door is Bedford Farms, a superb ice-cream place that offers about 40 hard-serve flavors, plus many soft-serve varieties. The closest eatery is is just 0.3 mile away, an easy one-minute drive or seven-minute walk. This is Ken's N.Y. Deli and Brick Oven Pizzeria, at 72 Great Road, and the menu offers much, much more than just pizza. Concord is just a mere ten-minute drive, and from there one can take a commuter train into Boston; many run each day, and parking at the station is ample. Bedford Motel is a superb place to stay when in the Boston area!

Room Tip: Deeper into the "courtyard" will be more quiet, but all rooms are almost certainly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigskies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
5.5 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
3.9 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Motel

Property: Bedford Motel
Address: 30 North Road, Bedford, MA 01730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bedford Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 25 miles from Boston, Massachusetts, we offer warm, inviting accommodations with basic amenities and services. With easy access to historic places like Lexington and Concord as well as the vibrant city of Boston. Bedford Motel offers a peaceful setting that's close to dozens of exciting New England attractions. The town of Bedford is a hub for corporation like IBM and SAP, making it an ideal choice for business travelers too. Burlington Mall and movie theater is located 7 miles in Burlington. Single story, exterior entrance to rooms and free outdoor parking. Additional amenities: In room Iron & Iron Boards and hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing