We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff, But Some Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff, But Some Problems”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Doubletree Boston/Bedford for nine nights on business. The hotel is on Middlesex Turnpike, but with recent road construction, your GPS might not quite guide you there. However, the change in the road is well marked, so it is not a big deal.

The lobby of the hotel is very well appointed and modern. The staff is very friendly and efficient. In addition, the small pizza restaurant (DeMarco's) is fantastic and one of the best assets of the hotel. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

The main restaurant in the hotel serves breakfast and dinner. For Gold and Diamond members, there is also an executive lounge for breakfast. I used both for breakfast, and prefer the executive lounge. The selections are about the same, but it is a quainter setting. The main restaurant is fine for breakfast, but the buffet items are identical every day, which can be tiring unless you order a la cart. The homemade vanilla yogurt is one of the best items on the buffet.

The rooms are a comfortable size, and the bathroom is roomy for a hotel. The furnishings are modern. The HVAC system does not allow a fan-only mode, which is something I use to drown out noise from the hallway. And I needed it this trip. Although not the fault of the hotel, I had very noisy neighbors that were up at all hours of the night, and any small noise or chatter they made could be heard just as if I was there with them. The front desk staff allowed me to change rooms, since the noisy neighbors would be there several nights. This was much appreciated. However, the hallway noise was still quite bothersome every night. There is just no way to drown out the noise.

My second room was identical to the first, but there was peeling paint in the bathroom. I can tell you that the hotel does maintain the rooms because there were several rooms being worked on during my stay, which included fresh paint.

The fitness center was nicely maintained and had a good variety of workout equipment. It is always staffed and the hotel does offer group fitness classes. I did not use the pool.

The business center has nice computers and functioning printers, which is a bonus. In addition, the internet connection speed in the rooms was very good.

Overall, the hotel was a nice place to hang my hat each night, but the noise prevented me from getting a good rest every night. If they could just allow the HVAC to be run in fan-only mode, it would help drown out the noise considerably.

Room Tip: Rooms near gathering areas and entrances to the hotel are very noisy. Try to get a room on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you and sorry about your noisy neighbors!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    347
    105
    40
    20
See reviews for
227
228
60
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The lobby is very nice. The room is a good size. I especially liked the bathroom. However, the temp in the room only goes down to 68. We couldn't sleep because the room was so hot. It was the worst night's sleep ever. That ruined the whole trip. When I tried to call the desk to complain, the phone wouldn't work. My husband had to walk downstairs and got no where with the man at the desk. I used to love DoubleTree, but now I'm rethinking that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MrsBAFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for your comments, I need to look at this lapse in service. Not acceptable.
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The DoubleTree Bedford Glen is a great hotel in Bedford about 30 minutes drive out of Boston.
The hotel is set in large wooded grounds that looked beautiful in the 'Fall'. It is close to several large corporate based in the area and there is a free bus shuttle to anywhere within 5mls. The reception is nice and welcoming, the rooms are large and comfortable. Internet is good too.
The fitness centre and spa are not great - i wouldn't want to stay at the hotel just to use those facilities - but having them there on a business trip was a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank very much!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel was not so easy to find on GPS, the road must have changed or is new. Overall the room was clean and comfortable but found the walls a little thin if you know what I mean. Seemed central to major highways and shopping in and around the Boston area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxBluenosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much and yes the road configuration did change! Unfortunately a lot of the GPS providers have not yet caught up. The key is to stay straight on Middlesex Turnpike if coming from the mall area and do not take the Middlesex Turnpike extension by the Lemon Tree restaurant. That will bring you right here.
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am a diamond level member and never get upgraded to even a king room. Just standard treatment. I just checked in for another 4 nights and same thing. No upgrade. i have a trip planned in Dec for 10 night and I am switching to Marriott. I am Gold for life with them an i get treated better than Diamond by Hilton. Tonight's check-in was the last Hilton stay if i have a choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I am so sorry that we could not accommodate your upgrade. We are so busy with Hilton customers Monday through Friday that we do have a very hard time upgrading during peak season. Usually November would not be as busy and we would have plenty of availability but not the case this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The room was clean, we actually heard housekeeping running a vacuum cleaner. The person at the front desk was warm and fuzzy. The gave us cookies without asking. The halls looked dated, however the room was very nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Everything in the hotel was very nice. The pool is about a 20 minute walk from anyone's room. Also there are restaurants, however, the pricing is very expensive. It also has a wii in the lobby which my daughter enjoyed playing with other children. There is a firepit outside that's cozy for hanging out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dollfyn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne_luongo, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for the review. I would suggest that if you are coming for the pool that you request a room in that area of the hotel. Yes indeed, we are fairly spread out.
Thank you!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
2.7 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
2.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 6 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen

Property: DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Address: 44 Middlesex Tpke, Bedford, MA 01730-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half-hour outside Boston, the hotel's rates and amenities make it a great family choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Bedford
Bedford Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing