We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend your money elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bedford Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Spend your money elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stay in all types of places all over the world so a place has to be really bad for me to write a poor review. Often I am traveling for work, as in this case & I have no say in where I stay. I saw 5 or 6 different rooms at this place & some were ok while others had major problems. I came here knowing that the Bed Bug Registry website had reports of bedbugs in 2010. One of the people I was traveling with did find a bug in his bed but I cannot confirm for sure that it was a bedbug. Any small dark bug found on your mattress is bad, regardless of what kind it was. He was staying on the same floor as the reported bedbugs from 2010 & front desk did change his room. My room had paint peeling everywhere, water stains on walls & ceiling & a/c didn't cool room as it should. I had some nice long hairs stuck to the wall in the bathroom & a large rusty stain on my box springs. My mattress didn't have zippered cover as the other rooms did & when I asked at the desk they assumed they were out being cleaned. My shower curtain had hair & mildew spots all over it. The one positive thing I can say about the place is the bathroom had a window so the natural light was great for applying makeup. The internet connection was up & down & when I questioned the front desk, they claimed that too many people were using internet & that was the problem. No offer to reset it or check on it or anything. There were several sketchy people roaming the halls & I heard the front desk staff talking about people the shelter had placed at the property. Nothing against anyone staying in any type of shelter, but this could cause a lot of security issues at the property in my opinion & there was no security on staff. The pool is in the center of the hotel with the rooms surrounding it. Because of this, you can hear everything going on in the pool, regardless of which room you are in. The only way it can be avoided is if the people in the pool whisper. The atrium style design causes voices to echo throughout the property. I didn't pay for my room so I have no idea what the cost was but I did hear front desk quote 99 & 129 rates for the evening which is ridiculous. This is a 49-59.00/nt property at best. I have photos I will upload soon but I will not return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2016
Thank you for your two star review, We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture, new carpets since the time of this review, We are working hard to fix everything. Please come again and refer others. Our management has changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    33
    23
    77
See reviews for
51
45
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Not a 5 star hotel but good for the money. When I arrived the hotel clerk told me to go next door to MC Ds. to get discount coupon -for $55 plus tax stayed 2 nights. Everything worked fine and was clean. Clerk also gave me good advice on bus subway travel into Boston. A step above similar priced motels - hot breakfast, clean inside pool.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2016
Thank you for your five star review, please come again and let others know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

First lets start by saying there was poop on the second floor stairs, the bathroom floor was sticky and smelled like urin,the pool and bar is closed all winter but they do not tell you that when you book the rooms stink. If you are broke stay if you have a extra twenty dollars stay someware other then the bedford plaza hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pturner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Thank you for your input, we have fixed many issues you have pointed out here, including new Air conditioners, new elevator control room, breakfast, pool, etc. We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture. We are working hard to fix everything, anyone reading this should note the dates of these reviews as this is almost four years ago. A lot has changed in this time. Our Management has changed, Please come again and see for your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Honestly I don't like reviews I am hoping someone reads this and saves themselves from this atrocity. Me and my mother planned to stay here from December 2011 until April 2012 this will not be happening.. I am writing my review from the room right now.. We have been here a month and have been harassed to the point where me and my mother have both cried.. people walked in while i was showering, my guests were verbally assaulted, a man walked in on my mother in the bathroom unannounced, my mother was in the bath and they barged in claiming a leak that was nonexistent, we were called every hour for our first week because we wouldn't go to the front desk. The pool is unclean, the food is stale and disgusting, the rooms are despicable me and my mom clean our ourselves. I have never felt more uncomfortable. We have had staff hit on us and no one speaks English. Stay anywhere but here! Seriously its not worth it.. they lie about prices harass and violate guests and feel as if its okay to swear and threaten to physically assault and or forcibly remove guests.

Room Tip: Tips for choosing a room? dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Thank you for your input, we have fixed many issues you have pointed out here, including new Air conditioners, new elevator control room, breakfast, pool, etc. We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture. We are working hard to fix everything, anyone reading this should note the dates of these reviews as this is almost four years ago. A lot has changed in this time. Our Management has changed, Please come again and see for your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Norwich, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I recently booked several rooms for a college tour. The hotel was disgustingly dirty with broken blinds that didn't cover the bathroom window which faced a major busy road. One of the rooms had roaches and the manager's only comment was that the room was not supposed to be rented because it had a long time renter and hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. He kept talking about bed bugs even though we said it was roaches. The halls had a rancid smell and it was totally unacceptable place to stay by anyone's standards. We left within an hour of check-in and had to argue for most of that hour not to be charged. That is why they have a no refund policy! In the end I had to pay $100 to get out of the reservation. A total rip off but worth the price to get out of there. I am unsure how they are allowed to stay open and serve food with bed bugs and roaches in the facility. The health department should close them down. I am wary of any of the positive reviews here as being legitimate and no one should believe them and DO NOT STAY HERE and if you do check your bag and clothes for bugs.

Room Tip: In another hotel. There was a lovely HAmpton Inn not far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Thank you for your input, we have fixed many issues you have pointed out here, including new Air conditioners, new elevator control room, breakfast, pool, etc. We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture. We are working hard to fix everything, anyone reading this should note the dates of these reviews as this is almost five years ago. A lot has changed in this time. Our Management has changed, Please come again and see for your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked online as we were travelling through the area and wanted a centrally located hotel. Check in was ok, no complaints about the staff ..
I don't know if they have good rooms and bad rooms but ours was very run down. The shower rail was falling off, the toilet was slow running and the tub had been repaired with cement, The room was not very clean and was very old and very tired, although the carpet seemed newer.We would have moved on but it was late and we had been travelling all day.
The rooms all overlook a nice central pool area but when there were kids in the pool we could not hear the tv in the room from the noise from the kids. Also, in the morning there were people having breakfast in the pool area at 6.30 a.m and the noise woke us up, the noise continued unabated after that .
There is underground parking which is good but overall, not a good experience.
We stayed at a new Courtyard by Marriot 15 miles away for the same money ($99 per night) and it was a first class place. For the money this is not a good deal.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask if they have refurbished roooms or don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brummy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2016
Thank you for your two star review, We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture, new carpets since the time of this review, We are working hard to fix everything. Please come again and refer others. Our management has changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Spoke with woman on the phone who did take my coupon ( only good thing about hotel). Hotel room had bed bugs and ripped old carpeting. The old heating unit was rusted out and falling off the wall. The television was small and the bathroom had mold growth on the shower curtain. There was 1 small window with a broken handle i could not close.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DunkinD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal p, Manager at Bedford Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2016
Thank you for your input, we have fixed many issues you have pointed out here, including new Air conditioners, new elevator control room, breakfast, pool, etc. We have updated all of our rooms with new furniture. We are working hard to fix everything, anyone reading this should note the dates of these reviews as this is almost five years ago. A lot has changed in this time. Our Management has changed, Please come again and see for your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
3.3 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Plaza Hotel

Property: Bedford Plaza Hotel
Address: 340 Great Rd, Bedford, MA 01730-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bedford Plaza Hotel - Boston. Located 18 miles from Boston, Massachusetts, we offer warm, inviting accommodations with a host of luxury amenities and services, with easy access to historic Massachusetts places like Lexington and Concord as well as the vibrant city of Boston, Bedford Plaza Hotel offers the best of both worlds-a peaceful setting that's close to dozens of exciting New England attractions. The town of Bedford is a hub for corporation like IBM and SAP, making it an ideal choice for business travelers too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bedford Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing