We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wylie Inn and Conference Center(Beverly)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$193
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Light Inn(Marblehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
128
47
6
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
47
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomfully equipped kitchentrain stationsmall table and chairsperfect central locationblueberry muffinsgrocery store across the streetsoft sheetswithin walking distancenorth shore areaexcellent accommodationshave stayed here several timeslaundry facilitiesplace to stayup to datehome baseextended stay
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed for 1 night as part of a road trip through New England and the East Coast. We wanted to experience Salem at Halloween but didn't fancy paying the price of a hotel in town or negotiating the traffic, and found this place by looking at hotels surrounding the nearest few train stops. On arrival, the place looks more like a motel and we did wonder if our room would be ok. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large, very clean and comfortable room, and after bringing all our stuff in headed across the road to the MBTA stop to get the train into Salem. Journey there and back was inexpensive, quick and easy and as it turned out we were very glad we were out of the way of the crowds! The only thing I did struggle with was getting the heating to work (the controls loooked ancient!), and we did find the room quite cold. I'm sure the owners would have helped us with this though had we asked, but we didn't realise until we got back from Salem quite late at night and didn't want to bother anybody as it was time for bed anyway!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding smoking. As of May 1, 2012 we are implementing a new non-smoking policy which will allow smoking only in a designated area away from the front of the motel. Also, we have replaced the thermostats in all of the units. Again, we thank you for your feed back.

Ron and Brenda Spence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were in the area only overnight, but wish we could have stayed longer! Only 15 minutes to Salem and about 20 minutes to Glouscester, this was the perfect location. The accomodations were wonderful! We could not have asked for anything more! It was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: make sure you ask if smokers are next to you....would be nice if the motel was ALL no smoking!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fla1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Me and my fiance stayed there for 4 nights and decided to stay another night. The owner at first refused claiming that he smelled smoke in the room and insisted on it! He also helps himself into the rooms when no one is in. He slipped by saying that he went into the room to shut the fan off. People were smoking outside of the room so we had the fan on. he claims he came to shut it off. When we went to book a room 2 weeks later for our wedding weekend, they accepted at first then sent us an email a week before our wedding to say that they refused our stay after giving us a discounted rate for the wedding. They have now lost regular business because we have a large group that stayed there each fall and year round for business. I will certainly not recommend this place to anyone interested in visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank anthony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Both guest smoked heavily in and out of the suite. They were observed doing both by our staff and us. We offered them the only smoking allowed suite for there future reservation but they declined.

We must admit to being upset when guest smoke in our suite and especially when they deny doing it.

Ron and Brenda Spence
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed in this hotel for 7 years...This year we were accused of smoking in the room. The windows were near where everyone smokes, smoking is outside. You open the windows and yes...the room smells like smoke...We had smokers to the right of us..smokers to the left of us.My wife is a bad asthmatic..so I would never smoke in the room. We thought we cleared all of this up w/ the owner..so we booked 5 days for our HONEYMOON..and they give us a good deal...we get an email very near our wedding date stating that "bc there was smoking in the room", we were not allowed to stay in the rooms that we booked w/ them?? So we had to run around last minute and find a place to stay during a holiday weekend. Very bad BAD customer service...and the owner became just plain nasty...It use to be the perfect place to stay but after what they did to us for our honeymoon...good riddens...

Room Tip: Dont stay there if u like to open your windows
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Both guest smoked heavily in and out of the suite. They were observed doing both by our staff and us. We offered them the only smoking allowed suite for there future reservation but they declined.

We must admit to being upset when guest smoke in our suite and especially when they deny doing it.

Ron and Brenda Spence
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. The couple that owns the place couldn't have been more helpful or sweet. It's about a 15 minute easy drive from Salem. Nice clean rooms to come back to after a nite out in Salem. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhereNextNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews