We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beverly Garden Suites
Nearby Hotels
Wylie Inn and Conference Center(Beverly)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawthorne Hotel(Salem)(Great Value!)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Light Inn(Marblehead)
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
127
47
6
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
47
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdepot dinerliving roomtrain depotfully equipped kitchensmall table and chairsperfect central locationblueberry muffinsgrocery store across the streethome away from homesoft sheetswithin walking distancesmall apartmentnorth shore areahave stayed here several timesexcellent accommodationsarea hotelslaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We did not want to smell smoke so we were located close to the office away from the designated smoking rooms. Ideally, owners may wish to consider going entirely smoke free. Even though our location was closer to the main road, we were not disturbed by road noise. The room was basically like an apartment. The central living area had a large couch that folded down into a bed. There was a small dining chair, comfortable chairs for relaxing, a full kitchen, a separate bedroom with two double beds and a bathroom off the bedroom. There were 2 TVs in the living room and bedroom. Almost everything that you could need was available in the kitchen including microwave, large refrigerator, full stove and oven, coffee maker. We did miss not having any measuring cups and measuring spoons for cooking, however. There is a large grocery store and pharmacy only about a mile away on the main road. Our only complaint was that the thermostats in the living room and bedroom had only two settings, low and high. We would prefer to have more control over the temperature, but were warm enough once we got extra blankets.

Room Tip: If smoking bothers you, ask for room away from the designated smoking rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding smoking. As of May 1, 2012 we are implementing a new non-smoking policy which will allow smoking only in a designated area away from the front of the motel. Also, we have replaced the thermostats in all of the units. Again, we thank you for your feed back.

Ron and Brenda Spence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed for 1 night as part of a road trip through New England and the East Coast. We wanted to experience Salem at Halloween but didn't fancy paying the price of a hotel in town or negotiating the traffic, and found this place by looking at hotels surrounding the nearest few train stops. On arrival, the place looks more like a motel and we did wonder if our room would be ok. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large, very clean and comfortable room, and after bringing all our stuff in headed across the road to the MBTA stop to get the train into Salem. Journey there and back was inexpensive, quick and easy and as it turned out we were very glad we were out of the way of the crowds! The only thing I did struggle with was getting the heating to work (the controls loooked ancient!), and we did find the room quite cold. I'm sure the owners would have helped us with this though had we asked, but we didn't realise until we got back from Salem quite late at night and didn't want to bother anybody as it was time for bed anyway!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your constructive criticism regarding smoking. As of May 1, 2012 we are implementing a new non-smoking policy which will allow smoking only in a designated area away from the front of the motel. Also, we have replaced the thermostats in all of the units. Again, we thank you for your feed back.

Ron and Brenda Spence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were in the area only overnight, but wish we could have stayed longer! Only 15 minutes to Salem and about 20 minutes to Glouscester, this was the perfect location. The accomodations were wonderful! We could not have asked for anything more! It was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: make sure you ask if smokers are next to you....would be nice if the motel was ALL no smoking!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fla1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Me and my fiance stayed there for 4 nights and decided to stay another night. The owner at first refused claiming that he smelled smoke in the room and insisted on it! He also helps himself into the rooms when no one is in. He slipped by saying that he went into the room to shut the fan off. People were smoking outside of the room so we had the fan on. he claims he came to shut it off. When we went to book a room 2 weeks later for our wedding weekend, they accepted at first then sent us an email a week before our wedding to say that they refused our stay after giving us a discounted rate for the wedding. They have now lost regular business because we have a large group that stayed there each fall and year round for business. I will certainly not recommend this place to anyone interested in visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank anthony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Both guest smoked heavily in and out of the suite. They were observed doing both by our staff and us. We offered them the only smoking allowed suite for there future reservation but they declined.

We must admit to being upset when guest smoke in our suite and especially when they deny doing it.

Ron and Brenda Spence
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed in this hotel for 7 years...This year we were accused of smoking in the room. The windows were near where everyone smokes, smoking is outside. You open the windows and yes...the room smells like smoke...We had smokers to the right of us..smokers to the left of us.My wife is a bad asthmatic..so I would never smoke in the room. We thought we cleared all of this up w/ the owner..so we booked 5 days for our HONEYMOON..and they give us a good deal...we get an email very near our wedding date stating that "bc there was smoking in the room", we were not allowed to stay in the rooms that we booked w/ them?? So we had to run around last minute and find a place to stay during a holiday weekend. Very bad BAD customer service...and the owner became just plain nasty...It use to be the perfect place to stay but after what they did to us for our honeymoon...good riddens...

Room Tip: Dont stay there if u like to open your windows
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gramof2, Owner at Beverly Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Both guest smoked heavily in and out of the suite. They were observed doing both by our staff and us. We offered them the only smoking allowed suite for there future reservation but they declined.

We must admit to being upset when guest smoke in our suite and especially when they deny doing it.

Ron and Brenda Spence
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews