We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a value hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a value hotel.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You get what you pay for. The hotel es far from Boston, you need to take a 10usd cab to get to the closest train station and then a 30 min train/subway to get to downtown area. So in the end what you save in accommodation you lose in transportation.
The hotel is old. The carpets are old, the mattresses are old, the pillows are old. It is quite clean if you're not too obsessive.
The best is the service, everyone is really friendly and commited to make you feel at home, specially Kelly at the front desk, they provide all you need and see that you're, well, happy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Juan Z,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. However, it was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the issues you had with the condition of our hotel. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    78
    57
    28
    19
See reviews for
47
79
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was a bit difficult to navigate. Only one set of elevators and we had the luck to be at the other end of the hall, so when feeling vigorous, we took the stairs. They have a small "honor system" shop to buy snacks in, but the hotel was not convenient to shopping to pick a few groceries, etc. for the kitchen. It was convenient to the interstate without being too close for the noise, but not close to the transit system to Boston, so we had to drive and pay parking.

If you were staying for long term - 1 week or more, the convenience to the road and laundry in the building would have been more appreciated. For just two or three nights on a vacation, you might want to choose something a little more travelr friendly.

Room Tip: Stop before you near the hotel to pick up any food supplies you want to have in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonmickey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear bostonmickey2010,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is designed to be low cost. It has a laundry room where you do your own. The same space houses a simple shop and exercise room. But for what it aims to do, this hotel does it brilliantly. My 12 year old daughter and I stayed in two rooms. We cooked food we bought in the shop using the in-room cooker. She thought it was a real treat. We loved the fact we were allowed to borrow a jigsaw and crayons and were trusted to give them back.
The one member of staff on duty did an amazingly efficient job of providing a feeling of personal service beyond what a normal hotel chain achieves.
The hotel colours are a slightly unfashionable brown and cream, to me, expressing the modest personality of the operation. The colour scheme gives a dowdy impression, but look close and you see the paint is fresh and new. This may sounds odd, but this seems to me an expression of the culture of the hotel - it looks very modest at first glance, but look harder and you see the quality is really very good.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location so I don't think there is a noise problem anyway. There is an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked Candlewood for the proximately to Boston and for cost. The hotel is located in an industrial park which is very isolated. We didn't expect anything fancy but we do like a clean and well functioning place to rest our heads. Unfortunately, we won't be returning, our room (303) needs some TLC! The shower didn't drain; the air conditioner didn't work efficiently; the rugs were dirty and the furniture was torn. On the positive side, the staff and the towels were great! Candlewood is very lucky to Angie at the front desk!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear HappyFamily004,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Braintree hotels

Stone Mountain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked this as an economic choice that offered access to major highways and reasonably close to Boston and Cape Cod. It met those objectives, and as a disclaimer, I'll acknowledge the motel was over-booked, and the staff seemed genuinely trying to please. On checking in, we found we didn't get the one-bedroom "suite" we requested that would have offered a sleeper sofa. The mgr did quickly come up with a roll-away, but that did cramp us a bit. Also only 2 sets of towels, and there were no more to be had until very late that night or early next AM. Fortunately, that worked for us.

We also had an issue with the air conditioning that didn't seem to work very well with the on-wall thermostat, and although the unit was originally designed for manual controls, the control knobs were not present. We had to work with either too cold or too warm for the weekend. A door that required some forceful closing to engage the lock probably didn't go over well with the neighbors.

The motel is conveniently located near major highways, and access toward Boston & Cape Cod is pretty straight forward. Going into Boston, you are subject to the vagaries of rush hour traffic patterns, but it's reasonably close to the T, and that beats driving into Boston if you don't have to drive. There's a decent mall close by, and dining ranging from decent to higher end is also close. The little pantry mentioned by another is convenient, with complementary coffee and other odds & ends for reasonable prices. Exercise room and laundry are also nice, and the in-room kitchen is adequate. Overall, the facility seems to cater to the business traveler, but a vacationing family can find some value there.

Motel does have some repair/renovation going on, so hopefully, some of our issues will be addressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the location of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with the condition of our facilities. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel was very clean, quiet, and comfy. It was close to the interstate and other popular attractions without being right in the middle of Boston. Loved the kitchen so we could cook rather than eat out constantly. Great workout room. Staff was very nice. The only thing I didn't like is housekeeping doesn't come daily so we had to go find clean towels every morning, which was difficult a couple days. Very happy with it, though. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel has very easy access from the highway and driving into downtown Boston was easy. Excellent kitchenette, and very spacious rooms. Seemed very clean and was in fairly good repair. Staff was very efficient. If you are traveling for an event or business this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
0.2 mi away
Beantown Inn
Beantown Inn
#4 of 7 in Braintree
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Quincy
4.3 mi away
Best Western Adams Inn Quincy-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree

Property: Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
Address: 235 Wood Rd, Braintree, MA 02184-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is conveniently located just off of Route 93 in the Quincy/Braintree area and just minutes from Public Transportation, Boston's Logan Airport, Boston Convention and Exhibition Center and Downtown Boston. We are an all-suites property, with both Studio and One-Bedroom Suites . Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check e-mail and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the DVD/VCR Player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Candlewood Suites is close to Boston area attractions such as Fenway Park, the Freedom Trail, the USS Constitution, Boston Common, Harvard, MIT, Curry College and Faneuil Hall. Patriots football, Red Sox baseball, Celtics basketball, Bruins hockey and Revolution soccer are a quick ride away. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is also a short drive to Quincy, Plymouth, Cape Cod, Providence, Newport, Salem, Wrentham Outletsand many other places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree Hotel Braintree
Candlewood Suites Braintree
Candlewood Braintree
Braintree Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing