We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweetwater Forest Campground
Certificate of Excellence
missamanda13
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My husband and I just recently returned from our 5 day/night trip to Cape Cod and stayed at this campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We actually got into a little fender bender while on property and they were very helpful. We stayed in the G campsite which was near the pond.

As in the above post, the bathroom did have water and mud on the ground but I did notice that they cleaned the bathrooms daily. It rained 2 days we were there so I assumed the mud was from that but there was still mud on the floors on the days that it didn't rain.

There were several playgrounds throughout the campground. most were older but they did have a newer playground across from the Mini Golf. They claim they have a lot of recreation activities although when we arrived i did not receive any information, list, newsletter etc... about their recreational activities. My husband and I would have probably not of attended any events but we still did not get anything.

If traveling with pets:
Our dog came with us. He stayed in their kennels. There is only 4 pens for the dogs so once you arrive make your reservations for the kennels. Unfortunately, they did close at 8pm so if you plan day trips you need to be sure you are back at the campground before then to pick up the dog. The kennel looks a little shady on the outside but is newly renovated on the inside. Air conditioned, and they have the radio playing for them so its not to quiet for the dogs.
Provincetown is very pet friendly! great place to walk around and shop. we brought our dog with us.
Freedom Ferry to Nantucket: you can take dogs on the ferry although you must stay outside the entire 80 minutes ride to and from Nantucket. It did get chilly. But, there isn't much to do in Nantucket when traveling with a pet. We didn't have the option of leaving him in the kennel because we wouldn't of been back by the kennel closing time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missamanda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    35
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
73
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stayed here in July 2008 and had a wonderful time. The sites are spacious and well kept. Lots of green and thus shade. There are small -somehwat old- play grounds scattered around the park and a mini golf which is perfect for kids. The staff was extremely nice at check in and took time for any question we wanted to ask. Great tips on restaurants, beaches and shops to visit. Most importantly for us there was almost direct access to the bike bath on cape cod (across the street) which eliminated the need to drive and park. The camping staff also regulates noise in the park very well which is perfect for families.

But best of all perhaps was it's location. Brewster is definitely away from the crowds that pester cape cod in the summer. No traffic jams for us. The most in terms of lines was for ice cream at the local general store which is flocked after dark.

The only downside was that wirelss internet access was available only in certain areas in the park (not at your campsite). We didn't miss a pool as there are stretches and streches of beach in Cape Cod. Nice family beach only 3 minute drive away. As for the situation at the shower/toilets I cannot attest. We were there in our own trailer and didn't use teh bathroom facilities at all.

  • Liked — Spacious shady sites
  • Disliked — No internet access at site
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Allergictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We have been camping at Sweetwater Forest for about 8 years now, and our family (3 generations) have enjoyed our stays. The facility is family-owned and we find them to be friendly and reasonable to deal with. The sites are ample sizes and cater to all sorts of equipment--tents, pop-ups, large trailers. While it is true there is no on-site swimming, there is a pond where you can fish or go out in a canoe/rowboat. The location of the campground is quite easy to get to and there are lots of things to do in the area. We enjoy walking through the grounds, also.

The owners are very generous with special events--such as the make-your-own-sundae and pizza parties, as well as the recent Labor Day Barbecue which featured a live band, wine & beer and a catered western-style meal, as well as a raffle--all FREE. This was a great celebration of their 50th year. Unfortunately, some person or persons chose to steal the donation box set up near the food area, which most of the campers in attendance had contributed to. We were very upset to learn the next morning that some people have no conscience and obviously no morals to do something like this.

  • Liked — Convenient Location, Friendliness of Staff, Special Planned Activities
  • Disliked — Bathroom Facilities Need Updating
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CJNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My group of 13 friends rented 4 campsites in the C section this past weekend. We were all disappointed with the uncleanliness of the bathroom facilities. Rain or shine there was a constant trail of mud inside the bathroom/shower areas. There was mold all over the shower curtains, clumps of hair on the shower floors, one out of three of the sinks kept clogging, some of the toilets kept clogging, the trash was usually overflowing onto the floor and the paper towels ran out on a daily basis. Also, the water pressure in the showers was not the best.

I called the office one evening about the clogged toilets, no toilet paper and general uncleanliness of the bathroom. I was told there was nobody there to send to fix the problems and to go use the B area bathrooms.

Also, there is a security gate that is locked from 10pm to 7 or 8am, but is open all other hours for anyone who wants to drive into the campground. After passing the gate there is only a sign telling you to check in at the office. We did not have any problems, but just mentioning incase this is something you look for in a campground.

If you are looking for a campground that has an activity schedule, then this is not the place for you. The only scheduled activity was a hayride.

Make sure you are out of your site by 11am. We were running a little behind and the next campers showed up at 11:25. Nobody from the campground ever came around to check the site before the next camper arrived.

The campsites we had were nice and connected by paths through the wooded areas in between the sites. And you can have campfires (a lot of campgrounds on the Cape do not allow campfires).

NOTE: QUIET time is 9PM to 8AM.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbeachdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I just arrived home from a 4 day stay at Sweetwater Forest Campground in Brewster, MA. We had four campsites with 15 people staying with us. We arrived on Friday and immediately checked into our sites. The sites are very large and had great space between each one. We were over in the "C" section and were very close to the bathrooms. We all had paths to each other's sites so it was great to go back and forth.


The worst part of staying here is there is absolutely NO swimming anywhere on this campground. NO POOL! at all. There is a pond which you are not allowed to swim in at all. You can boat and fish in this pond..but that is it. There is a pond nearby, which you have to go to the local town hall and get a permit to go to. This was really bad considering it's 90 degrees out and you are just dying from the heat and have no where to cool off!!

The next worse thing about staying here is the bathrooms here were the most disgusting bathrooms I have ever encountered in my life at a campground! 6 out of 8 toilets were clogged with urine/feces/toilet tissue! One out of two sinks was constantly plugged and unuseable! There were no paper towels and no hand wash either. The floor was constantly covered in mud..and it was bone dry outside! We called about 6 times for them to come and clean these bathrooms..which never got cleaned!!!! Another thing you may want to know about this campground is quiet hours start at 9:30!!!! OK..now I'm on vacation..I don't know too many people that go to bed at 9:30 on a Friday and Saturday. They strictly enforced these hours also! We were just playing a hand held game around the campfire and got yelled at 3 times..

I definitely will not return back to this campground ever! This was the second time I have gone to this campground. I gave it a second chance..and it definitely will be the last.

The other good thing about this campground is it's literally right on the bike path and that's always an awesome activity for the entire day!

  • Liked — The very large sites!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Bathrooms, no swimming and quiet hours.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank krazyrkamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
5.2 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
21.1 mi away
Peters Pond RV Resort
Peters Pond RV Resort
#1 of 4 in Sandwich
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.9 mi away
Campers Haven RV Resort
Campers Haven RV Resort
#4 of 4 in Dennis Port
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Forest Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Forest Campground

Property: Sweetwater Forest Campground
Address: 676 Harwich Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-5269
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Forest, established by our family in 1958, features 250 campsites artfully spread over 75+ acres of Native Cape Cod woodland, with frontage on a lake for fishing & canoeing. Sweetwater offers a Separate Tenting Area, some sites with beautiful views of the lake & our retired cranberry bog- a haven for wildlife. On site modern amenities are available, & Camp Store has plenty of extras you may need-and ready to eat lunches-perfect for a day at beach or biking the Cape Cod Rail Trail. Our Roster of in-camp recreation includes 6 Playgrounds, Basketball, Canoe Rentals, Miniature Golf, Horseshoes & the Log Cabin Lodge where the game need not be missed! Pets are welcome, but may not be left alone on sites. Paws A While, our day boarding Kennel has a limited number of spots, is air conditioned, and dogs are walked. SWEETWATER FOREST's CENTRAL LOCATION MAKES IT THE PERFECT HOME-BASE FROM WHICH TO TOUR ALL THE CAPE & ISLANDS HAVE TO OFFER-WHETHER STAYING FOR THE WEEKEND-OR THE SEASON! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Forest Campground Hotel Brewster
Sweetwater Forest Campground Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing