We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful, centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ruddy Turnstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruddy Turnstone
Ranked #7 of 9 Brewster B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delightful, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored all around the cape and it proved to be a great central location away from all of the touristy stuff. The proprietors, Brent & Abigail live & work on the premises, do all the work themselves, and couldn't have been nicer. The property itself is just stunning. The landscaping is beautiful and the inn overlooks a beautiful nature preserve. The room had binoculars in it so you could see all the way across the preserve to the ocean!
We stayed in the Cottage Room, which is actually a cozy room attached to the side of their workshop. We had thought we'd be in a separate cottage, so were surprised when we discovered we were literally sharing a wall to their studio, but the owners were very respectful not to start too early in the morning or work too late at night (Abigail is a wedding planner/florist who was very busy making phenomenal arrangements for 7 weddings that week!)
The bed was very comfortable, and the room very quaint overall including a small refrigerator, wine glasses, coffee & tee. The shower was great and while the bathroom was smallish, it had tons of great shelves to put all of your "stuff". The room also had a cooler, chairs, beach towels & an umbrella for our use should we go to the beach.
They recommended a great breakfast place just up the street that we loved.
PS. if you are thinking of a cape cod wedding...I'd highly recommend Abigail and Brent! The arrangements we saw were gorgeous and Brent was custom fabricating a trellis for one of the weddings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage Room which was nice & cozy as well as quiet despite the fact that its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It was fun to have you watch our progress through a busy flower weekend as well. All of our guests have found the added element of the floral business interesting to watch and plus there are all of the flowers to admire! We always respect the guests in The Cottage Room and keep our work schedule reasonable and quiet, the wall is well insulated also. The Cottage Room is many peoples favorite room because of its cozy nature and the view from your window. We truly enjoyed having you both here and hope that you come back next season.

P.S. I hope you liked the picture of the arbor I emailed, it looked pretty neat in place and finished!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at three different inns over the course of 10 days on Cape Cod. This one is just different and that is why we liked it best! It is perhaps the best kept secret on Cape Cod and it deserves to be booked all year around but it is not. The value is incredible for this pricey area! We had the two room suite and it was very spacious, clean and overall it provided for a very peaceful and enjoyable stay! We especially loved the view from the chairs at the back of the property. It is, however, a bit more like a cottage with separate suite experience so select it knowing this is not for those who want a luxury 5 star accommodation or typical B&B experience. There are many other places to go for that if you want it. The convenience amenities are all there for you but they are very basic as is the decor. It is "Old Cape Cod" style. They do not serve breakfast but there is a café a few miles down to the right or go left to Grumpy's for breakfast, both offer comparable decent reasonably priced food. Use the refrigerator, coffee maker, cooler and beach amenities provided in your room. What a wonderful, courteous perk! The central location makes it easy to visit the entire Cape and explore the shopping and beaches in every direction. This has all the bare bones needed for a very memorable experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We have tried to keep The Suite in the tradition of "Old Cape Cod" because that's just what it is. Being the original 1803 Cape style home our choice of an antique 10x18 oriental rug, antique four posted bed and traditional artwork keeps the theme and we are happy that you recognized it! We added the kitchenette to help make your visit a private, yet convenient one (no common areas here), so you are free to enjoy your time without interruptions. HD televisions, free WiFi and a Bose wave radio help to bring the room into the modern world without taking away its charm. Again we were thrilled to have you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ruddy Turnstone for 4 nights in mid July. The inn is on 6A but set well back from the street, which is quiet at night. We stayed in the Bay Room, which was very spacious and comfortable (great bed) and had a beautiful view far out to the bay. We loved the small deck, which was very private. And the owners are lovely. We also loved the location - in far west Brewster very near Dennis and the beautiful Sea St. Beach. Very "old Cape" - away from the crowds and mass tourism that afflict other parts of the Cape. We were just a few miles west of the Brewster Store,which is a wonderful place. There's a great local farm stand just a quarter mile from the Brewster Store. The inn is just a couple miles east of the Sea St. Beach and Dennis village which has a great home made ice cream store - Smugglers. Also very convenient to bicycle rentals and the rail trail. In terms of things I felt were missing - since we were there during the heat wave, I really missed having central air conditioning, although I know that is not traditional on the cape. The kitchenette is very minimal. I wished it had a little stove top. That being said, the best coffee we had on the cape was in the Bay Room made with the coffee Brent provided, which we enjoyed on our deck. All in all, a wonderful spot.

Room Tip: The Bay Room is spacious, has a great view and a small, private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
The old with a few modern touches is what The Ruddy Turnstone tries to embody. We are grateful that our mix is what you were looking for. The location seems to work well for most people being quiet yet easy to get to all of the things that you come to Cape Cod for.
As to our missing elements I will attempt to explain our reasoning. The Inn is an antique, built in 1803. The addition of central air is not practical due the configuration of the house and the fact that AC is only needed a few weeks a year. During those weeks I wish it could be a reality although it does make me look forward to room pick ups since all of our rooms stay quite chilly. Unfortunately cook tops in rooms such as ours are illegal and the safety of all of our guests would be compromised. We have added as much as is allowed by law to make things as convenient as possible during your stay. I'm happy to hear that the coffee was good, drinking it on the private deck looking at The Bay always helps. I hope that you will return to experience a bit of old Cape Cod with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Ruddy Turnstone Inn. Our room (the Bay room with a small balcony) was impeccable and owners Brent and his wife were super helpful in giving tips around town. We really enjoyed our stay. The room is homey and the view from the room is superb. Would highly recommend...

Marc

Room Tip: The Bay room is middle of the range, price-wise and is perfect in size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I'm so glad to hear that you had a great experience at the inn! Homey is a description that we love to hear and the view speaks for itself. Your comfort and convenience is what is most important to us. We are happy to know that our efforts have accomplished their goals. Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a lovely property! We spent two nights at the Ruddy Turnstone over the 4th of July weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect. Brent was wonderful to work while making the arrangements for our stay - extremely accommodating and he immediately made us feel very comfortable. The Inn itself is an absolutely gorgeous property and it is a very easy and relaxed atmosphere, both inside and out. Having never been there before we were happy to find our room was very nicely appointed, extremely clean, and was exactly as represented on their website. The view, from both our room, and out over the lawn overlooking the back of the property is staggeringly beautiful - we didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back and I can't recommend the Ruddy Turnstone highly enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnstoneinn, Owner at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are so happy to hear that your stay was a good one! We have put a lot of time into our rooms and the grounds it is wonderful to hear that our efforts are appreciated. I wish I could take credit for the view, I am just happy to be able to offer a space to take it all in. We will have your room ready for your return and thanks again for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid June 2013. It was a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing in the busier sections of the Cape. It's on the North side away from the noisy areas, but it is only 10 - 15 minutes to get to those places. Owners were very nice and not intrusive. The Bay Room was perfect, clean and quiet with it's own private deck. Very peaceful to sit and watch the marsh and birds in the morning and after a day running around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnstoneinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
The Bay Room is one of my personal favorites and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room. Peace and quiet is our goal and the Inn is located perfectly for those seeking a private place to enjoy without intrusions. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cape Cod!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having spent ten days travelling through New England and staying at some fabulous bed and breakfasts we wanted to experience something a little different in Cape Cod so we opted for The Cottage at the Ruddy Turnstone in Brewster. It's not a bed and breakfast, its really a chance to have your own little home on the very quiet side of the Cape, overlooking a large salt marsh with distant views of the ocean. There's a small kitchen area with coffee maker, fridge and little tabletop oven ( milk, tea and coffee provided) so you can shop like a native Cape Codder in the local store. If the weather had been kinder during our stay we would've taken advantage of the chairs in the garden and eaten al fresco. As it was, we relaxed in the little sitting area in our room and enjoyed a glass or two of wine, much needed after our hectic itinerary in New England. I managed to leave my handbag at the cottage and Brent the owner is kindly sending it to the UK for me, thanks! Brewster itself is a very quiet part of the Cape but being in the middle part is good for accessing all the sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cezmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnstoneinn, Public Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I'm so glad that you took the time to write a review and more so that you had a great stay with us!
We try to make a place were you can feel at home while on vacation and I am very happy that we did so. I will work on the weather for your return visit and I hope that you got your purse back safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
4.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
10.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
0.5 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#3 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruddy Turnstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruddy Turnstone

Property: The Ruddy Turnstone
Address: 463 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1049
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ruddy Turnstone 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ruddy Turnstone is a small private Inn located on historic Rt 6A on Cape Cod. Our goal is to provide comfortable private rooms with all of the amenities. Enjoy secluded seating areas or sit on the grounds and gaze at the sea, The Ruddy Turnstone has a lot to offer. All rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, free WiFi, digital TV, beach chairs, towels and umbrella, a cooler and AC. Close to beaches, shops, art galleries and restaurants you will will find our location perfect for your trip to Cape Cod! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Ruddy Turnstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ruddy Turnstone Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing