We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HappyDays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ruddy Turnstone
Ranked #8 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Being our first visit to Cape Cod we had no idea what to expect. The first thing I did right was calling to talk to Brent. He was very helpful with info about renting a car and getting around. The second right thing was staying at the The Ruddy Turnstone. If you want to stay someplace a little different than a hotel room, this is the perfect place. You get a true feeling of being part of the experience of the Cape by enjoying the lovely setting at Brent's home. We had a small, cozy room separate from the house that had everything we needed. It was clean, pleasant and I would love to stay there again. Thanks Brent for setting is off in the right direction the evening we arrived. Also Brewster is centrally located which made it easy to see all the villages without much driving. Be sure to visit the Brewster Store.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 116gege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Our goal is a peaceful and private experience, but sometimes guests need some advice from the locals and I am more than happy to help. Sometimes the information that you get on the internet is not quite what it seems. I'm glad that you called with your questions and potential plans before making any specific arrangements, much of your trip could of been frustrating otherwise. As for the Inn itself I'm happy to hear that it was a nice change from the normal "hotel room." We try to make things as homey as possible so you can truly enjoy The Cape. Our location doesn't hurt either, everything is close although sometimes on the property you feel as though you are out in the woods. We hope to see you both again, thanks for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Thank you Brent & Abigail for sharing your piece of heaven on earth.
We just returned from a trip to the Cape and thoroughly enjoyed staying here. We stayed 2 nights in the cottage and 2 nights in the suite. You will not be disappointed. Both were clean, roomy, beautifully decorated, & equipped with frig, water & coffee. The baths are clean with fluffy towels and HOT showers. Centrally located to the state park, bike trail & beaches via our bikes and great towns via car. Don't miss nearby Skaket beach at low tide, Cobies fish n chips, sunset at Rock Harbor, Wellfleet Main St and Chatham shopping. In Chatham don't miss the seals at the fish pier. It helps to have a GPS on the Cape I stayed directionally challenged the entire visit. We enjoyed our Cape experience.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with either room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandSeacrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Sometimes you have guests that you don't want to leave, you both were an example of those guests. I try to let the guests have their privacy and if they want information, suggestions or just to talk I am available. Our interactions were great because you both were enjoying every aspect of your stay. From the many day trips to the rooms themselves, every moment seemed to be just what a good vacation should be, relaxing and fun. I know that you liked The Cottage Room but your reaction to The Suite was great! From what you told me old homes are something that you seek out and appreciate. I am happy that we were able to give you the experience of The Suite, which is an old home built in 1803. Once again thank you for coming and I hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored all around the cape and it proved to be a great central location away from all of the touristy stuff. The proprietors, Brent & Abigail live & work on the premises, do all the work themselves, and couldn't have been nicer. The property itself is just stunning. The landscaping is beautiful and the inn overlooks a beautiful nature preserve. The room had binoculars in it so you could see all the way across the preserve to the ocean!
We stayed in the Cottage Room, which is actually a cozy room attached to the side of their workshop. We had thought we'd be in a separate cottage, so were surprised when we discovered we were literally sharing a wall to their studio, but the owners were very respectful not to start too early in the morning or work too late at night (Abigail is a wedding planner/florist who was very busy making phenomenal arrangements for 7 weddings that week!)
The bed was very comfortable, and the room very quaint overall including a small refrigerator, wine glasses, coffee & tee. The shower was great and while the bathroom was smallish, it had tons of great shelves to put all of your "stuff". The room also had a cooler, chairs, beach towels & an umbrella for our use should we go to the beach.
They recommended a great breakfast place just up the street that we loved.
PS. if you are thinking of a cape cod wedding...I'd highly recommend Abigail and Brent! The arrangements we saw were gorgeous and Brent was custom fabricating a trellis for one of the weddings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage Room which was nice & cozy as well as quiet despite the fact that its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It was fun to have you watch our progress through a busy flower weekend as well. All of our guests have found the added element of the floral business interesting to watch and plus there are all of the flowers to admire! We always respect the guests in The Cottage Room and keep our work schedule reasonable and quiet, the wall is well insulated also. The Cottage Room is many peoples favorite room because of its cozy nature and the view from your window. We truly enjoyed having you both here and hope that you come back next season.

P.S. I hope you liked the picture of the arbor I emailed, it looked pretty neat in place and finished!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at three different inns over the course of 10 days on Cape Cod. This one is just different and that is why we liked it best! It is perhaps the best kept secret on Cape Cod and it deserves to be booked all year around but it is not. The value is incredible for this pricey area! We had the two room suite and it was very spacious, clean and overall it provided for a very peaceful and enjoyable stay! We especially loved the view from the chairs at the back of the property. It is, however, a bit more like a cottage with separate suite experience so select it knowing this is not for those who want a luxury 5 star accommodation or typical B&B experience. There are many other places to go for that if you want it. The convenience amenities are all there for you but they are very basic as is the decor. It is "Old Cape Cod" style. They do not serve breakfast but there is a café a few miles down to the right or go left to Grumpy's for breakfast, both offer comparable decent reasonably priced food. Use the refrigerator, coffee maker, cooler and beach amenities provided in your room. What a wonderful, courteous perk! The central location makes it easy to visit the entire Cape and explore the shopping and beaches in every direction. This has all the bare bones needed for a very memorable experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We have tried to keep The Suite in the tradition of "Old Cape Cod" because that's just what it is. Being the original 1803 Cape style home our choice of an antique 10x18 oriental rug, antique four posted bed and traditional artwork keeps the theme and we are happy that you recognized it! We added the kitchenette to help make your visit a private, yet convenient one (no common areas here), so you are free to enjoy your time without interruptions. HD televisions, free WiFi and a Bose wave radio help to bring the room into the modern world without taking away its charm. Again we were thrilled to have you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ruddy Turnstone for 4 nights in mid July. The inn is on 6A but set well back from the street, which is quiet at night. We stayed in the Bay Room, which was very spacious and comfortable (great bed) and had a beautiful view far out to the bay. We loved the small deck, which was very private. And the owners are lovely. We also loved the location - in far west Brewster very near Dennis and the beautiful Sea St. Beach. Very "old Cape" - away from the crowds and mass tourism that afflict other parts of the Cape. We were just a few miles west of the Brewster Store,which is a wonderful place. There's a great local farm stand just a quarter mile from the Brewster Store. The inn is just a couple miles east of the Sea St. Beach and Dennis village which has a great home made ice cream store - Smugglers. Also very convenient to bicycle rentals and the rail trail. In terms of things I felt were missing - since we were there during the heat wave, I really missed having central air conditioning, although I know that is not traditional on the cape. The kitchenette is very minimal. I wished it had a little stove top. That being said, the best coffee we had on the cape was in the Bay Room made with the coffee Brent provided, which we enjoyed on our deck. All in all, a wonderful spot.

Room Tip: The Bay Room is spacious, has a great view and a small, private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

The old with a few modern touches is what The Ruddy Turnstone tries to embody. We are grateful that our mix is what you were looking for. The location seems to work well for most people being quiet yet easy to get to all of the things that you come to Cape Cod for.
As to our missing elements I will attempt to explain our reasoning. The Inn is an antique, built in 1803. The addition of central air is not practical due the configuration of the house and the fact that AC is only needed a few weeks a year. During those weeks I wish it could be a reality although it does make me look forward to room pick ups since all of our rooms stay quite chilly. Unfortunately cook tops in rooms such as ours are illegal and the safety of all of our guests would be compromised. We have added as much as is allowed by law to make things as convenient as possible during your stay. I'm happy to hear that the coffee was good, drinking it on the private deck looking at The Bay always helps. I hope that you will return to experience a bit of old Cape Cod with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Ruddy Turnstone Inn. Our room (the Bay room with a small balcony) was impeccable and owners Brent and his wife were super helpful in giving tips around town. We really enjoyed our stay. The room is homey and the view from the room is superb. Would highly recommend...

Marc

Room Tip: The Bay room is middle of the range, price-wise and is perfect in size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent E, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you had a great experience at the inn! Homey is a description that we love to hear and the view speaks for itself. Your comfort and convenience is what is most important to us. We are happy to know that our efforts have accomplished their goals. Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a lovely property! We spent two nights at the Ruddy Turnstone over the 4th of July weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect. Brent was wonderful to work while making the arrangements for our stay - extremely accommodating and he immediately made us feel very comfortable. The Inn itself is an absolutely gorgeous property and it is a very easy and relaxed atmosphere, both inside and out. Having never been there before we were happy to find our room was very nicely appointed, extremely clean, and was exactly as represented on their website. The view, from both our room, and out over the lawn overlooking the back of the property is staggeringly beautiful - we didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back and I can't recommend the Ruddy Turnstone highly enough.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnstoneinn, Owner at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We are so happy to hear that your stay was a good one! We have put a lot of time into our rooms and the grounds it is wonderful to hear that our efforts are appreciated. I wish I could take credit for the view, I am just happy to be able to offer a space to take it all in. We will have your room ready for your return and thanks again for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
200 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
0.5 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruddy Turnstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruddy Turnstone

Address: 463 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1049
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £132 - £844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ruddy Turnstone 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ruddy Turnstone is a small private Inn located on historic Rt 6A on Cape Cod. Our goal is to provide comfortable private rooms with all of the amenities. Enjoy secluded seating areas or sit on the grounds and gaze at the sea, The Ruddy Turnstone has a lot to offer. All rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, free WiFi, digital TV, beach chairs, towels and umbrella, a cooler and AC. Close to beaches, shops, art galleries and restaurants you will will find our location perfect for your trip to Cape Cod! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Ruddy Turnstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ruddy Turnstone Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing