We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old reliable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Old reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have camped at Nickerson every summer since I was a kid 40 years ago. The sites are large with lots of trees between them. There are clean ponds for fishing, swimming and paddling, with lots of roads and paths for biking. The bathrooms are about as buggy and dirty as any camp bathroom would be, but there are lots of bathrooms that are well lit and easy to access from any site in the park. The two shower houses are large and free. The playground is amazing for all ages of kids. The camp store doesn't over charge you for things you may have forgotten. The rangers are helpful and kids programs interesting. You are close to the ocean beaches and all the other Cape attractions. I tell my husband that heaven will look a lot like Nickerson. We love it there.

Room Tip: There are lots of families in Area 6. The public beach is on Flax Pond. Quiet hours are between 10P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My family has resided in Brewster, MA for the past 40 years. My parents are business owners in the town and for the last ten years in particular we have had a site in June before the busy season for our business begins.

This year I rented two sites adjacent to each other on the water. I arrived at the site at 530 pm to set up the tent and was followed by two other guests who would be residing on the site as well. After the tents were set up we decided to set up our fire as well as our grill. At approximately 6 pm, a park ranger arrived at our site stating that he had received a few calls from surrounding campers stating that "they [were] concerned that our age would be a problem". We are all in our twenties.

It was obvious that this was going to set the tone for the night. It is EXTREMELY disrespectful to be ageist. He continued to inform us that in the past, sometimes he had had bad experienced with young adult campers and that it was pertinent that there were only to be 8 guests at the sites. We kindly understood his concerns and assured him that we would do our best efforts to not be a bothersome to other families and campers but informed him in advance that we would be having a few more friends joining us for our dinner.

At approximately 7-7:30 pm, the ranger arrived at our campsite again. At the current time of arrival, two people were about to walk down the path to go fishing, while a remaining five of us were laying out food on the table for dinner. He stated that he wanted to
"make sure" that we were aware of when quiet hours were because it was of concern to other campers. Not only we were not being loud, we were surrounded by other campsites who were having family gatherings and were at the same volume if not louder than us.

At 10:05 pm we had 8 campers and 5 guests at our site sitting around the campfire and catching up. A neighbor approached us and said that it was quiet hours (5 minutes past 10 which is quiet hours) and that we were being "obnoxiously loud". We apologized if we had been too loud and told him that the guests would be leaving shortly.

A half an hour later, the park ranger approached our site again. He said that since we had two sites we were limited to only having 8 campers. In all honesty, we had lawn chairs set up around the fire and were eating hot dogs and marshmallows and talking quietly amongst ourselves. The ranger was completely disrespectful, commented that we were selfish young adults who had no respect or consideration for other people. The camper who had previously complained about us then joined into the conversation and stated that we should be kicked out. The ranger then abruptly yelled at a few of us to leave. We were currently at 8 campers, the allowed number.

Following the incident, we packed up our belongings and left Nickerson. Myself as well as two other campers returned an hour later to sleep.
At 2 am, the ranger approached our tent furious while we were sleeping. He woke me up stating that he had received an incident report that stated that we were "drunkingly disturbing, yelling, screaming and laughing". We had been sleeping though, the only noise that occurred was the parking of the car amongst returning as well as the opening of tents and moving of sleeping bags etc. I assured the ranger that I had not been drinking and that we were sleeping. There were only three of us at the site at the time, two in one tent and one in another so a complaint about noise and drunken disturbance from 3 sleeping campers is completely unjust.

At 2:30 the ranger approached the tent again asking us to leave because we were talking too loudly. Yes, I had been talking in a tent with another camper who had been sleeping at 2 am when the ranger approached and I was explaining the situation to him. Nowhere in the rules does it say that a camper may not talk quietly in their tent. This is especially ridiculous because at the time there were fireworks being lighted up at a site not too far from where we were staying. After the ranger drove away, the camper who had been complaining stood at the top of the site and flashed a flash light on our campsite for five minutes before walking away.

My guests and my experience at Nickerson State Park has tainted our view of the park and it is safe to say that we will never return. It is sad that locals of Brewster cannot enjoy the amenities of the park without being faced with age discrimination and a constant unnecessary hassle. It is understandable to reprimand campers who are a bothersome or actually causing a drunken disturbance, but to be faced with such rudeness and disrespect for talking around a campfire is preposterous. We were told many times that Nickerson State Park is a family campground. I will never return to a family campground that does not allow for family and friends to join together and enjoy each others company.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank brewsterres90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've been camping in a lot of different places, and Nickerson State Park was by FAR, my favorite. I traveled here last year, in early June, for a family event put together by my town's schools, called "No Mom's Weekend". This is a dads and kids only event, where dads take kids camping. It is always a lot of fun. We go again next weekend, I'm very excited! The park had very close campgrounds, so we were close to our family friends; there was an amazing view of the lake just nearby; and a fire pit made it easy to make meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benboard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Nickerson State Park campground for 4 nights in July, 2011. We stayed in Section 7, site 003, and it was a huge site - there was probably room there for at least 3 tents. It was very quiet, and there were some lovely hiking paths nearby. The bathrooms were close, but not too close, and they were clean, although extremely buggy! (Ah, the great outdoors!). There are no showers in Area 7, so we drove (I have a bad hip which makes long walks difficult) to Area 6 for showers. This is definitely a more quiet area of the park, although you can hear the roadways just outside the park - we heard ambulance sirens nearly every night. If you like things a little more lively, there are other areas of the park where you can definitely get to know your site neighbors, and some sites are overlooking the ponds.

The great thing about the park is that you are right there, on the Cape. Brewster beaches are only a short drive from the campground entrance, there are grocery stores nearby so you don't have to bring all your supplies with you, and you can access all the fun things that are on the Cape. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the maps before you choose where you are going to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maurinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had site 14 Area 5 in early May of this year. Peaceful quiet, clean, safe. We had the place to ourselves. We had 2 dogs and the access to the water was the best entertainment for them. We will go again in 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CowHampshireTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The campsite on loop 1 was great. We had access to one of the lakes and were spaced out far enough from other campers. Took a drive to other camp areas in the park and the all seemed equally great. The shower facilities were excellent and very clean which was a great surprise. Highly recommended campground. Remember to leave it as nice as you found it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nataliah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stay at Nickerson at least once per summer, due to its low prices and proximity to the bike path. Sites range from not private to extremely private, so if you care about that make sure to ask one of the rangers for a recommendation. Campground is well taken care of, bathrooms are clean, and the showers are plentiful, free and hot.
( I don't know if they spray for mosquitoes, but we hardly saw any)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cllme007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
21.6 mi away
Peters Pond RV Resort
Peters Pond RV Resort
#1 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
0.3 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nickerson State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nickerson State Park Campgrounds

Property: Nickerson State Park Campgrounds
Address: Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 808
Also Known As:
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Hotel Brewster
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing