We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip this summer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Second trip this summer”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I already wrote the review "old reliable" a page ago, but I went again in September and wanted to talk about Area 5. It's very quiet over there with no sites behind you. It is right on the smaller, quieter lake. This area was mostly couples, few families when we went. There is no sink with hot water outside the bathroom to wash dishes. Before we stayed in Areas 6 and 4 which both had lots of kids and places to go to wash dishes without having to heat up your own water.
If you have kids and want to find playmates for them, check out area 6. If you want more quiet, check out area 5. Once again, it was a wonderful vacaion and Nickerson did not disappoint.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    37
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our family parked near the park on the Cape Cod rail trail bike path. We then pedaled up about 3 miles until we were at the entrance to the park (restroom here). We then went into the park and stopped at the park store. This is where we found plenty of candy and some ice cream. They had all kinds of other stuff almost like a small general store. The best thing we received here was advice on which pond to swim in.
With the advice from the store clear we headed over to Flax pond. Finding our way down to the water was a challenge as there are very few paths other than through campsites. We found an empty campsite that did the trick and had a wonderful swim in clear very warm water.
The park has a great paved bike path which is well marked. This was sort of a scouting trip for a possible camping trip in the future.

Room Tip: Haven't figured this out yet other than the large ponds seem to be the better locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constructiontype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This campground is great. It is in the middle of the cape, which makes it perfect for sightseeing. It is just off the ocean and has multiple lakes, which makes it perfect for swimming or sunning. It has sites that feel private and well-tended. It has clean, well-located bathroom/shower facilities. It books up fast, so try to either book early or book late (cancellations). My favorite areas are 3, 4 and 5. I don't like 6 at all - it's sites don't provide the sense of privacy that the others do.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

the site has few areas to camp, each has its own twist.
we stayed in area 005 which i highly recommend if you want to have lake view or be near the lake.
the lake itself is amazing with its sandy shore and cold water. you can easily spent there a full day. one side of the lake has beach (not sure if there was life guard). we also rented kayak and sea cycle.
restroom could need some more daily attention and better cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank theCitizen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UPTON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I love Nickerson State Park. Have been there numerous times and have enjoyed every trip, including my last this past week. However, our campsite this time, Area 3, Site 101 was like being stuck in a studio apartment. We barely had room for two small tents and a small dining canopy. It was hard to stake the tents and canopy down because we had to go into the woods. One car had to be blocked in by the other car. There are other very small sites in Area 3. I've stayed there before and I wonder if the bush isn't being cut back as it has in the past. A couple of sites I stayed in seemed to be a lot smaller.

That said, we did enjoy our stay, the bike paths, Flax pond, and we discovered Crosby Landing Beach across Rt. 6a. I dropped my family off, went back and parked in the Nickerson bike lot and rode my bike the short 1/2 mile trip back. No need to worry about getting up early enough before the parking lots fill, or pay to park. Not the beauty of the National Seashore beaches, but a nice little bay beach with warm water.

Room Tip: Avoid Area 3, site 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Matiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

No electricity, no tv, no wifi, no water at any of the sites. Community water faucets sprinkled throughout not too far from any site and restrooms do have flush toilets, but showers are in one building shared by more than one site and often driven to. Every site is different. Different shape, size, shade, few are level. This is and old style campground where the sites can be far apart or you're practically on top of your neighbor. that said, you need to reserve a site 6 months in advance for the summer because the location is absolutely fabulous for touring the cape. If you have never been here before and you like a bit of room between you and your neighbor I would suggest sites 6, 6x, or 7 and select one on the outside perimeter. The sketch of the sites when making reservations is not too bad when trying to find a site with space between.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Peregrinating_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have camped at Nickerson every summer since I was a kid 40 years ago. The sites are large with lots of trees between them. There are clean ponds for fishing, swimming and paddling, with lots of roads and paths for biking. The bathrooms are about as buggy and dirty as any camp bathroom would be, but there are lots of bathrooms that are well lit and easy to access from any site in the park. The two shower houses are large and free. The playground is amazing for all ages of kids. The camp store doesn't over charge you for things you may have forgotten. The rangers are helpful and kids programs interesting. You are close to the ocean beaches and all the other Cape attractions. I tell my husband that heaven will look a lot like Nickerson. We love it there.

Room Tip: There are lots of families in Area 6. The public beach is on Flax Pond. Quiet hours are between 10P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
21.6 mi away
Peters Pond RV Resort
Peters Pond RV Resort
#1 of 4 in Sandwich
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nickerson State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nickerson State Park Campgrounds

Property: Nickerson State Park Campgrounds
Address: Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 808
Also Known As:
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Hotel Brewster
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing