We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enjoyable”
Review of Pepper House Inn

Pepper House Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pepper House Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent a long weekend, the first night in Boston and two on the Cape at Pepper House Inn. This was our first trip to the Cape and Debby was a great resource, pointing us to local spots of interest. The Inn is a darling 200 year old home that has indoor plumbing, electricity, cable and Wi-fi! It is charming and clean, I recommend staying there if you are looking for something unique. The owner is a great cook and made a beautiful breakfast for us each day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We left this place as soon as we arrived, leaving our entire payment with the owner who wouldn't refund. We were greeted by the mother of the owner who was incredibly rude. She planned to leave us there alone for the night without any lock on the door. The place smelt of stale cooking and was tired and shabby. We had to fight just to get out of the place while being shouted at by the mother of the owner. We emailed the owner the next day to ask for our money back but no chance. Please give this place a miss!!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lili186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepperHouseInn, Owner at Pepper House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

This guest decided on the day of check-in that they would like to cancel their reservation. They wanted to stay at a much larger/busier property that they had seen on their drive before arriving at our inn. Per our cancellation policy full payment was due because cancellation occurred l4 days or less prior to check-in. The guest said that they were o.k. with this - then many months later this review appeared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and I travelled to Cape Cod on our honeymoon and spent three nights at the Pepper House Inn. Having been our first trip to the Cape, Debby's knowledge of the area was a huge help in planning our days. The Inn is located a short walking (or driving if you must) distance from a nice beach on the bay. We stayed in the Cherry Room which was very clean with rustic charm. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfasts that were prepared each morning and especially enjoyed the cool Cape breeze through the dining room:)
Debby was very accommodating and pleasant during our stay. We hope to be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Positives
Different kind of hotels, not the regular one as I know. Debby, the owner, was a good guide for the region. She gave us good advises to what to do during our stay. The location of the Inn was excellent, on the middle of everything we needed: beaches, museums, sight see and good places to eat.
Negatives
All of them are minors except the last one: Not a lot of varieties for the breakfast, specially if you will stay more than 3 days. We can understand that the house is old but this rooms need more maintenance; bathroom faucet leaks, spiders and their nets are around the fireplace and in the bathroom, vinyl floor has to be glued on the bathroom. and fridge ''option'' is very noisy. They put plastic sheet over the mattress and it's noisy and uncomfortable to sleep on, and they refuse to remove it!!!!
A bit of effort and every thing should be fine

Room Tip: Ask for the fridge if you want, for extra 10$/Day, specially if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pharos101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepperHouseInn, Owner at Pepper House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

We went out of our way to switch this family to a room which could accomodate the 3 of them, rather than the room for 2 which they had originally booked - with their permission. The guest had not booked a room with a fridge, but the day before arrival emailed me & requested one. We went out and bought a brand new small fridge to accomodate this guest's request.
The bed the guest is referring to is the extra bed. The mattress pad will be replaced. That one
seems to have a kink in it. Unfortunately we do get an occasional spider. I will have my cleaning staff be more attentive to the area around the fireplace. At the beginning of the week of their stay I outlined the choices for breakfast. The guests seemed to each have their 2 favorite choices which they kept ordering. And they kept saying the breakfasts were yummy. I did offer
them yogurt which I also had, but they declined. We serve an American breakfast. This may be a case of a foreign diet & not used to American traditional breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This B&B certainly has room for improvement!(especially considering the prices).
The rooms are adequate in size, but linens are old & worn. The living room is dark, dirty and cluttered with magazines and flyers.
The breakfasts were lacking and very limited. Only eggs or French toast with no other choices and no minor modifications. The innkeeper would not accommodate any changes or tolerate any requests.
No niceties like tea, cookies or muffins.
A mini-refrigerator would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedar-wax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepperHouseInn, Owner at Pepper House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We do take our reviews seriously. and we do try to have a nice environment for our guests. Most of our rooms do have small fridges in them. It is only a $10 difference in price to have a room with a fridge and we always offer this option at the time of reservation. The Cherry room is our least expensive room and as such does not have a fridge.

We do offer tea at breakfast and have a nice selection of teas to choose from. We do always offer tea and coffee. We do not do afternoon tea & cookies - almost all of our guests are out during the day/afternoon enjoying the area.

Our towels are brand new. The 2 rooms without a fridge - Canopy Room was redone this spring and has all new comforters and curtains. The Cherry room got brand new comforters and curtains last year.

We offer a traditional American breakfast.. We have several different choices of items for omelettes made to order. We also offer eggs cooked pretty much any other way people want them, and a couple different choices of french toast. We provide fruit along with the entrees and also have yogurt &/or cold cereal available.

The Living Room is lit with an overhead light. There are also 4 table lamps and 2 floor lamps in the room that guests are welcome to use for reading or while sitting in the comfy couch & chairs.
Most of the time in the afternoon/early evening one of the table lamps is also on.
We do have magazines for guests to read and also some of the brochures & cape cod guides are in the living room. Most guests do appreciate being able to browse these items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pepper House Inn for a weekend in July and it was a great experience. Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific. Atmosphere is very relaxed and Debby is a gracious and kind hostess full of suggestions for touring, meals and directions. The Inn is easy to find and is in a great location to access all that Cape Cod has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room, which was delightful, but it seems that all rooms are wonderfully appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I set my parents up for a 2 night stay here over Memorial Day weekend. As per their report, everything about the inn was perfect! They stayed in the "green room" on the first floor. Debby was a wonderful hostess who cooked delicious omelets for breakfast. My parents were so impressed with the feel and comfort of the inn from the luxurious linens to the 4 poster bed. Since they have friends in the area, I'm sure they will want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dachshunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brewster hotels
0.2 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
558 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper House Inn

Address: 2062 Main St, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1899
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £142 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepper House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pepper House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper House Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing