We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't live up to expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We expected a lot more from what is marketed as a top luxury destination on the cape.

The rooms have been updated and have a nice style, but popcorn ceilings, other non-updated items, and minor maintenance issues (loose toilet, bath fan doesn't work, etc.) take away the shine.

Despite still being in season according to the website, the pool was no longer heated, dirty, and the snack shop was closed (on an 90 degree day!).

The hotel felt completely overrun by large conferences being held on site.

At check out, the hotel tried to charge the daily resort fee we had already paid through Jetsetter.

Location is nice - you can walk into town and it's easy to drive to the other communities/beaches/etc. on the cape. Beach is unique (at low tide you can walk out super far and might run into local oyster harvesters).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1987312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    141
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
269
189
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very pretty grounds and a nice room but rather underwhelmed . Check in took far too long as the front desk was understaffed to accommodate arrivals which included people coming for meetings and a wedding etc. also there was no bell staff or carts to help with luggage and if you were in their East Wing you got to lugg you stuff up stairs. Management at OE: install a ramp so wheeled luggage can be easily transported! Also include valet parking for those attending weddings so those of us who are staying on premise for other reasons aren't searching for parking occupied by said party-goers.

Pub grub was good and service good enough

Location was a bit misleading since Ocean View rooms are rather limited

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancyz221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been visiting the Cape for more than 20 years. We have often driven by Ocean Edge and wondered how it would be. Well, this September, 2013, we had the opportunity to spend a few days on the Cape and my daughter-in-law suggested we stay at Ocean Edge. Sure, it looked quaint. Wow! Were we surprised! It "ain't quaint". It is a world class resort community with magnificent accommodation options. Guest rooms are palatial. There are villa and home rental options. The views are spectacular. The staff are from all over the world, friendly, attentive, professional and best in class. Unfortunately our stay did not allow for tennis; however, we did rent bikes and cycled the Cape Cod Rail Trail. Bike rental was at the tennis courts which are magnificent, clay and hard court options. And, the pro was very helpful in directing us right on to the CCRT for a great ride. We observed tennis lessons and play and were totally envious. Next time, we allot more time and bring the racquets. There are multiple indoor and outdoor pool options, excellent fitness facilities and be prepared for some outstanding eating and refreshment opportunities overlooking panoramic views of the ocean. The beach is a short walk from anywhere on the property (there is a reason its called Ocean Edge). Its expansive and beautiful. Enough said, I love speaking about this property and highly recommend it; but, I have to book my next stay. Wicked Awesome and a very pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: You simply cannot go wrong with the accommodations! We did not see or hear of a bad room choice. Obv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Was here for a business meeting, but did arrive early, so could soak in resort and Cape Cod.
What a great location, beach, sunrises, sunsets, and that conveniently located to all the attractions of beautiful Cape Cod! Rooms very nice, very clean, spacious, well maintained. Restaurant food and drinks all very good. Setting beautiful, ideal for bicycle rides up and down the cape. Pools good, beach close, and clean.
Downsides: Wifi did not function properly - on and off all the time. We rented bicycles which were clearly over their useful lifes - gear shifts noit working, and we ended up being picked up by a friendly guy with his truck who drove us back the 15 miles from Chatham ... However, we finally did not have to pay for the wrecks ... Front desk often unmanned, and efforts to call also not being answered. Beds great, but some strange maintenance works starting as early as 3 am waking me up ...

However, very friendly, attentive service from a truly international crem made up for almost everything, so that all in all this was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Choose North side, towards the beach, as that side is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,az
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

First the good news- the setting is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. We had a bumpy start at check in as they had not listened to anything I said when I made the reservations. We are senior citizens with some physical limitations and the rude clerk sent us off to our room after a long wait with no bellman. Our room was only accessed going up step stairs- a bellman was provided when I make the request. They did give us a free breakfast one day to compensate which was a nice gesture. The $17 per person buffet is the same one the Renaissance Inn serves for FREE! This place just misses the mark on so many things too numerous to mention. There are a few friendly employees but most are surly or disinterested. Food was average and overpriced.

Can't imagine why they charge a resort fee in off season when half the facilities are unavailable. Bring roller skates or a golf cart as everything is so spread out including the beach that I was told was a 2 minute walk form our room. Some staff members will tell you that management does not care about customer service. They compare themselves to Chatham Bars Inn I DON'T THINK SO!! We have been to lovely resorts all over the country and they set the tone for excellent service with the bellman and the front desk staff. This place needs to stop riding on past laurels and location and do the same. Skip this resort as I and my groups will!

Room Tip: Stay at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Edge this past weekend after tying the knot on Friday! We decided to do a "mini-moon" just to get away and relax for a few days... And it turned into be the most amazing weekend ever. From the moment we walked in, staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. I first spoke to Kathy at the front desk, who was a sweetheart! The next person we spoke to was non other than the resort manager himself, Matthew Moore. He went out of his way to congratulate us on the wedding and make sure our stay was nothing short of perfect. And he certainly accomplished that! I can only imagine what a busy man he is, but he took the time to make us feel very special... GREAT guy.

We dined on the terrace that evening, and the food and service was top notch. On our last night there we went off the resort for dinner but came back for a few drinks, and watched the Red Sox downstairs at the pub. Annie was our bartender and she was THE BEST! We had a great time :)

I could go on and on... The mansion is beautiful, food and service impeccable... We could not have imagined a better experience as newlyweds. And couldn't imagine going anywhere else to celebrate our first anniversary! See you on 9.13.14 Ocean Edge! HUGE thank you for everything! Can't wait to go back....

The new Mrs. Sharice Miles

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The property is beautiful with many things to do. My two complaints are with respect to the service (very inconsistent and many employees with substandard English language skills) and the fitness facilities (small, dirty, and with broken equipment -including treadmills with damaged decks and rusted machines with loose and missing pieces).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
20.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
8.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing