We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Sights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stony Brook Grist Mill and Museum

Stony Brook Grist Mill and Museum
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Sights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed in Brewster during early May and hoped we were traveling at the right time to see the herring swimming upstream. We went to the Stony Brook Grist Mill pond and were intrigued by the sight of the herring jumping out of the water as they tried to make their way up the "ladders". After reading about the beauty and peacefulness of this area, we were not prepared for the sight of and noise from the gulls as they squawked at each other, flew around overhead, and ultimately snatched up unsuspecting herring. After watching for a while, we moved across to the side where the mill is located. This area is serene and extremely lovely and well worth a visit just to view the water flowing, even when the herring are not running.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 4myviewtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A most beautiful spot on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Never to be forgotten views, you could stay for hours and not want to leave and bring your camera.one of the capes most beautiful spots.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeP2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Made a detour from route 6A here in the first week of May cos I wanted to see herring. The rest of the place was closed that late afternoon... but what a treat! Pools of herring with the brave fighting strong currents to jump up the various ladders. Just fascinating.... Then suddenly a whole flock of gulls descended on the pools and started their meal... that was fascinating in itself. I'd come again if I had the chance... narrow window of opportunity to witness an somewhat magical part of nature.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in the spring!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Visited in spring when daffodils were first blooming and fish were running. Very cool to watch fish try to jump from level to level over the rocks. You can get as close as you want. Would have been 5-stars but the gristmill was closed on our weekend visit and would like to have had some longer trails around the millpond.

Not great for those with trouble walking on uneven surfaces. Excellent for kids! Be sure to watch the action on both sides of the street. Parking a little tricky but don't miss this if you are on Cape in the spring. Plan about 30 minutes, a little longer when the gristmill is open.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Spring Family Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

I have countless memories of seeing the herring run while visiting my grandparents on the Cape around Easter as a kid. If you can time it right, the sheer number of herring you see is amazing. My wife and I try to time a long weekend to the Cape every spring to coincide with the run for our own kids. It's a great way to celebrate spring a small way to shape a great part of natures cycle with them. The photos I posted ate from 2010 but its pretty representative off the run at a peak weekend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stony Brook Grist Mill and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Stony Brook Grist Mill and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing