We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dining Experience”

Brewster Fish House
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Dining Experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As a resident of Cape Cod, we have many dining options, but the Brewster Fish House is one of our favorite dining experiences. The food is alway imaginatively prepared and presented with unique offerings of the freshest fish, the highest quality meats and delicious sides and desserts. Not to be missed if you are visiting Cape Cod.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    157
    79
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Exquisite food & excellent Service!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went to Brewster fish house for the second time. Even though they had a new chef ( I was told), the menu was nevertheless very good. Even though I didn't like most appetizers, I was still amazed by the fish entree, it was simply delicious. Portion was just the right size and presentation was also very nice.
Our server was also extremely attentive and definitely deserved at least 20% for a tip! Would go back any time! Highly recommend to try any fish entree on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Have the Clam Chowder, really, do.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stopped off here purely for the Clam Chowder. It was perfect. Trust me it's divine. The service is very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Food was exceptional. Breads were delicious. Drinks were great. We had a very short wait at the bar. I would have liked to sit longer before being seated! Outstanding service and food. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smfRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Usually top notch...”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We have gone here several time over a few years, maybe it was early season jitters as the food and service is typically top notch, not this time though. Drink service was slow to say the least, with drinks showing up halfway through each course despite being ordered with ample time before each course. Oysters were perfect, well shucked and presented. Calamari on the other hand was a bit over cooked, tough, seemed hastily prepared, dipping sauce was tasty though. Fish chowder was heavy handed with the butter, who doesn't like butter but this was way too rich, not much in the way of fish, small bits of potato. Monk fish main was again a bit over cooked, but everything else on the plate blended well, seasoned, was a decent dish. Hanger steak was undercooked, well below med.rare, tough, but again everything else on the plate was decent. 3 others at the table had small issues with their dishes, overall though it was good, we just expect more consistency, more attentive service and care from this restaurant as it is one of the few on the Cape that truly is quite good. We'll be back for sure, just hope the preseason jitters will have passed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewster Fish House also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Brewster Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing