We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shocking disappointment”

Peddler's Cafe & Grill
Ranked #21 of 40 Restaurants in Brewster
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a shocking disappointment”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family of four went to Peddler's based on the tripadvisor reviews and the menus posted on the restaurant's website. We generally like French cuisine and the atmosphere of a simple bistrot. We came very early to avoid waiting, and we felt lucky to get a table right away. People who came later were supposed to wait for quite a while. Tripadvisor is apparently a powerful tool...

"Eggplant" turned out to be a pile of pasta with four extremely thin, but generously breaded and fried circles of egg plant. Those fatty, covered in bread circles of former vegetable were topped with probably half a pound of cheese. The dish was pronounced unbeatable even by my cheese and pasta loving kids. One of them was struggling with his own pike of extremely fatty pasta carbonara, but managed to eat almost half. This was the success of the evening.
My husband who liked the atmosphere of this dark and shabby room kindly gave me half of his sole fish. He said that although it was soaked in butter and had no taste, it was better than trying to derive something from the so called egg plant. I gratefully accepted the donation and this piece of tasteless although FRESH sole took care of my dinner.
The meat part of boeuf bourguignon was OK, but for some reason served over half a pot of thick and hard pasta, quite an unusual idea...
The place is very dark, very. It is hard to see what one eats actually. I wonder if this is a coincidence. Everything looks shabby, crammed, and unkept rather than charmingly "atmospheric". Like visiting a very old single relative who simply has no energy to maintain the dwelling.
Positives: the bread was tasty, and the pressed garlic and herbs in olive oil do not allow me to say that no spices were used in our meals.
Would I recommend this place to a friend? No. But I could suggest to an enemy to check restaurant reviews on tripadvisor and to decide based on them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming Change of Pace in Brewster”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were referred to Peddler's by local residents 6 years ago and we have made it a point to return at least twice a season ever since. What a find! This lovely, shabby chic bistro is hidden on a dead end street behind the Brewster Bookstore and, despite their no reservations policy, we have always been lucky enough to score a table without a long wait. We are partial to the pate and warm crusted goat cheese on greens for appetizers and the sole meuniere, sea scallops & slow roasted duck for entrees, which are served in individual iron skillets with roasted potatoes and vegetables. Our daughter favors the pasta bolognese; who can blame her...it's delicious! The deserts are sublime. Dinner is not inexpensive and they only take cash or AMEX but the charming venue, the service and the lovingly prepared cuisine make it a rewarding and different Cape dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank therichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, CT
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Off the beaten track in Brewster, Cape Cod this charming, tiny restaurant features French and Italian cuisine, prepared to order by the French Chef owner. His wife provides table service and serves as Bartender so be prepared to wait. Service thus is slow. Food is outstanding but menu limited. Entrees $26.95 to $29.95 Only drawback - Drinks are grossly overpriced or rating would be higher. No reservations so height of Summer no time to visit. Open Thurs, Fri. and Sat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always the Best :)”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Peddlers Restaurant is always a place we look forward to when we are in Cape Cod.
Alan (Chef/Owner) and Beth,(Chef's helper and owner) are wonderful people,and they
serve amazing French food at their small (you have to look for it)) Bistro. The salad is the best ever. Tonight we had the berry tart for dessert, and it could not have been better. The pastry was light and delicious as was the ice cream. We were already full, but the tart was finished :) They don't take reservations , and are open only Thurs.,Fri. and Saturday, but if you have to wait a little , it is SO worth it. We look forward to being back in the Fall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique find on the Cape”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just returned from the Cape and have to remark about a wonderful restaurant in Brewster. On the outside a Cape Cod cottage, but on the inside a counry French bistro. It is run by a husband and wife team. The husband is the chief, and the wife does everything from hostess to bartender to server. The food is as if you were in France itself, excellently prepared and served. They are open during the summer months thursday, friday and saturdays only starting at 5:30 PM. One caviot, thebill can get hefty for the casual diner, but the food and atmosphere is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peddler's Cafe & Grill also viewed

Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Peddler's Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing