We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite Cape stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobie's

Cobie's
Ranked #14 of 38 Restaurants in Brewster
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located along scenic 6A in Brewster, Cobie's has been a Cape Cod tradition since 1948. We serve award winning fried clams, and other delicious summer favorites!
Erving
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A favorite Cape stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We've been going to Cobie's for years and love thefod and nice outdoor environment near Nickerson and Crosby Landing. This trip I ordered the clam strip plate(whole clams are $$$ this year) with sweet potato fries. It was ready very quickly, hot and delicious. The serving size was very generous. The separate line for ice cream was very long, and I was dismayed to see the young scooper's pony tail swinging into the cone as she scooped. No big deal. I will continue to be a regular when on the Cape.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank goingforadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    86
    43
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
312 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have tried this restuarant several times. Usually just OK. this last time Mid-week mid afternoon was a disaster. They were understaffed and the wait was ridiculous. You have to pay when you order. So they have you. Have ordered seafood in the past, food was average for the cape. This time ordered hot-dogs ALMOST 20 MINUTES and they were not that busy.
I swear they spent the 20 minutes cooking the hotdogs over high heat, think sawdust and you have a idea how they tasted.
I will now refer to them as a tourist trap. For what you get prices.are very high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 98999Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I can't tell you how disappointed I was to read this, Mike. We've been doing this since 1948, and we certainly didn't get here by serving okay food or making people wait for overcooked hot dogs. I'm embarrassed and I really apologize that your last few experiences have been sub-par. That said, I'm confident we can turn this around. We really do have a lot of practice making great seafood, and I'd love one final opportunity to put it to work for you.

Hope you'll consider it,
Rob, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
327 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A Beach Style Restaurant but removed from the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On our way to Nickerson's State Park for a week of camping and my GF wanted to stop at Cobies for lunch before getting to the campground. My GF was anxious to have the fried clams strips that she so well remembered from her previous trips to Cobies's in past camping trips. I opted for the more traditional grilled sandwich.

Everything was very good and priced quite reasonably. Of course eating is out side on shade covered decks. Great stop and a place I would definitely come back to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
So happy you and your girlfriend were able to stop by and see us. I'm even happier that the Fried Clam Strips tasted just like she remembered, and that you both enjoyed your meals. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. I'm not sure how often you visit the Cape, but we'd love to welcome you back the next time you're in town!

Until then,
Rob, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clam Shack to which I must now compare all others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our multiple visits to Cobie's, the summer of 2013. The lobster roll is by far the best ever, with tons of perfectly cooked (and identifiable) pieces of succulent lobster and minimal dressing. The whole-belly clams and scallops are perfect, and paired with yummy fries. Servings are large and quality is very high. The fact that is is a very short ride off the Cape Cod Rail Trail is a bonus. My only complaint is that Cobie's is seasonal. They are only open from May through September, so we have to miss them on our fall visits to the Cape.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I love the casual atmosphere. Lobster rolls were pretty good, clam chowder wasn't the best but pretty good, great selection of ice cream.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tally4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal overall, and that our Lobster Rolls and ice cream selection were a big hit! If there's anything we can do to improve that Clam Chowder in your book, please don't hesitate to reach out. We aim for excellence and love to hear just what we can do to hit the mark.

Thanks for the great review,
Rob, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobie's also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cobie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing