We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from a wonderful week at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ireland, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just returned from a wonderful week at the Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I just got back from a week long stay at the Inn. I was attending a Cape Cod Seminar in Eastham and my husband had to work remotely, so what better place to settle down than a luxurious B and B that thinks of every detail. From the minute we checked in to our first breakfast we were impressed! They welcome you in your room with s vase of flowers and a small box of local truffles! Breakfasts were incredible every day. For those of us with dietary restrictions there were always alternatives and they were willing to accomodate your requests. The hot lavender infused towels at the end of breakfast was great! What was also just as great was in the afternoon there are ALWAYS some type of fresh cookies (we even had scones one day and short bread cookies another!) lemonade and cucumber or lime water. We loved the treats! We were in the Eastham room on the second floor towards the back of the B and B. The room was spacious and the covered porch was great, you can sit there in the evening as it is lit with overhead lighting another nice touch! Shannon was lovely and provided lots of ideas of places to eat, go and was overall just very friendly. Nate, who lives at the B and B was also helpful and willing to answer all your questions! The beach is only about a 8 minute walk down the street and for those who like a pool. The only one word of caution is be careful pulling out of the driveway, its hard to see to your left! we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Eastham, P-town are in the back of the B and B and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lams2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
261
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I cried in the kitchen of the Captain Freeman Inn.

I didn't expect to. But during a conversation with Donna and Shannon, the day before we left for home, I just welled up with emotion. Going back home felt like leaving a new home. It felt like leaving family--the kind of family who nurtures you, makes you feel special, knows you need a rest, and pampers you without making you feel guilty for being pampered!

The Captain Freeman Inn—lovingly managed by owners Donna and Byron; their dedicated son, Nate; innkeeper extraordinaire (and chief nurturer), Shannon; and talented cook, Lisa—is that special.

The Inn itself is just heavenly (and across the street from a historic New England church whose bells chime softly on the hour from 7 to 11). There is much to love here, from the warmly eclectic décor (among her many talents, Donna is a gifted decorator), beautiful floors, screened breakfast porch, delightful pool and perennial gardens, amazing breakfasts (We were never hungry until dinner!), luscious cookies from noon onward every day, port and sherry available for a pre-or post-dinner drink, and fresh coffee and tea (even Harneys, yum) anytime, all the time.

We saw a few of the rooms and they are all beautiful. One can see that a great deal of love and care was invested in the restoration and decoration of this historic 1860's home.

We stayed on the third floor, in the Wellfleet room. It's by far our favorite, with a view (from the front windows) of sunrise, the "town green" in front of the inn, and the church across the street, and a view of the sunset from the back windows, 2-person Jacuzzi, and shower. The color scheme is a soothing pale green and cream, with warm touches of honey wood and navy accents. There's a gas fireplace, wicker easy chairs with an ottoman, reading lamp, ceiling fan, central air, and iPod dock/radio (there was lovely music playing for our arrival). And for your technology needs, you'll find a strong wifi signal with an easy connection (in the room and throughout the inn.) Check out the room's comprehensive binder for suggested activities, walks, restaurants, as well as a history of the inn and the story of how Donna and Byron came to own it.

Outside of the Wellfleet is a small sitting area equipped with a guest refrigerator and coffee/tea service. That space is shared with the only other room on the third floor. That room was occupied part of the time of our stay and we heard no noise at all, even though we shared a wall and the sitting area (which was the entry way to both rooms).

The Captain Freeman's charm is as much about the people as the property and I must say a word about Shannon, Nate, and Lisa.

Shannon is that rare person who is lively, energetic, and young, but who has the authentically warm and welcoming ways of a beloved granny. She knows what you need, when you need it, and bustles about, always on the move, taking care of you and the inn. We felt just embraced by her care. I had particular dietary restrictions, and Shannon made sure that they provided treats I could eat, in my room every day so that no one else would eat them by mistake. They provided special foods for breakfast as well, so I never felt deprived. It made a big difference to me to not have to be as restricted as I often am when dining away from home.

Nate is a born innkeeper as well—a young man who is obviously well raised and very happy to be a part of the Inn when not away at college. Nate is the go-to guy for fixing things. When we were there he calmly managed an air conditioning situation during a heat wave and we had air. We initiated a few discussions with Nate, who is a biology/economics double major, and a fascinating wide-ranging conversationalist. We really enjoyed his depth, intelligence, and humor.

Lisa is a gifted cook for all things breakfast. And I mean all things. There was a different and delicious menu every day. You must ask for the homemade raspberry jam and the dark German bread! If you are gluten-free, no worries; Lisa's got it covered. And the warm towels at the end of the meal are unexpected and delightful.

In terms of to-do's: The historic Brewster General Store is just steps away around the corner, and the beach is perhaps a 10 minute walk, or quick drive down the road. There is so much to do with local shopping, restaurants, the Cape Cod Rail Trail and Nickerson State Park for biking or hiking, and theatre, nature preserves, and museums nearby. The surrounding towns are within a short drive…we visited Chatham, Hyannis, Orleans, Wellfleet, and would have visited Provincetown were we not so lazy that we just lounged around much of each day!

In fact, being luxuriantly lazy, for us, is a real testament to the Inn's relaxation quotient. My husband likes to plan activities and is ready to be up and about early. But he's an extreme commuter (4 hours a day commuting) and I always want him to recapture lost sleep on vacation. I usually can't get him to sleep in, but at the Captain Freeman he dumped his activities schedule and slept. He actually loved doing nothing but reading and relaxing on the porch or by the pool. (As did I.)

Donna and Byron, thank you for treating us with such care (and getting my spa appointment!), for creating such a nurturing and soul-filling environment, and for staffing your sanctuary with the lovely Shannon and Lisa, and your very cool Nate. Is it any wonder we've already booked the Wellfleet room for next June? See you then! And I'll try not to cry.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the third floor (ours was the Wellfleet) have 2-person Jacuzis. They face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExecCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My husband and I had stayed previously at Brewster by the Sea and really enjoyed it. But when we tried to book a room a few weeks later, there were no rooms available, so we decided to try their other B&B - Captain Freeman Inn. We were not disappointed. This Inn is very stately. It is beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable, and the innkeeper and staff are so accommodating and friendly.

Upon arrival, I stayed in the car and my husband went to check in. When Byron (the owner of Captain Freeman Inn as well as Brewster By the Sea) realized I was in the car, he came out to greet me. He immediately knew who we were, having met us at their other B&B a few weeks before, and even remembered our names.

Nathan, the innkeeper of Captain Freeman Inn, is Donna and Byron's son. Like his parents, he is really personable, intelligent and very helpful. He spent a lot of time talking to us and answering all of our questions. He told us some of the history of the house and how they came to own it, the renovations, etc.. He was energetic and eager to please.

We sort of felt like we were at home here. We came and went as we pleased. We could get coffee, tea, ice, cookies - any time of the day or night. There was filtered water available if we wanted it, and this fed into the ice machine. It was overall an atmosphere of casual elegance. There was also a small box of chocolates and a flower on our bed when we arrived, and because it was my birthday, Nathan had left a baked treat with birthday candles in our room.

The room was beautiful and the bathroom was clean and nicely decorated. There was a "rain shower" fixture in the shower, which we really enjoyed and plenty of clean, fresh towels. There were also small bottles of shampoo, soap, etc. as one usually finds in the nicer B&Bs.

Although were were on the main floor and the Inn was full, there was not a lot of noise. The house was very solidly built and not creaky. The bed was very comfortable, so we both slept well.

There was more than one dining area - one overlooking the pool. The other thing we liked about it was that the tables were set up mostly in "twos" so we didn't feel like we were being thrown together at a large table for breakfast with a lot of people we did not know. These tables could easily be expanded to sit more people, if needed. For breakfast we had an egg souffle one morning, and crepes, the next. If you did not want the particular dish for that day, you could have an egg dish, oatmeal or yogurt and granola.

For other meals, there are plenty of places to eat in Brewster and in the surrounding area. To help you find the ideal place for you, the Inn has a book of menus of all the restaurants in the area, complete with helpful comments from Donna. It really helped us choose a nice restaurant (The Marshside) and we were not disappointed.

It is obvious that Donna, Byron and Nathan want to maintain their exellent B&B rating. They seemed to provide everything we could have possibly wanted in a B&B. We have stayed at many Inns and travel often, but this was definitely one of the very best. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inconspicuous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Nothing but perfect for the cleanliness, food. hospitality. It was my birthday when I stayed. Got back o the room and found a birthday cupcake waiting. Do not think twice about a stay a this B and B.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have been lucky to travel quite a bit and can honestly say that we have never experienced a finer Inn than the Captain Freeman Inn in Brewster. From the moment that I contacted Byron to make a reservation through to our last breakfast, everything was perfect. If you are looking for a wonderful, relaxing, welcoming place to stay during your visit to the Cape then your search is over - this IS the place.
Now for some details...
The reservation process was easy and fast. After a few questions Byron made his recommendations and we were all set. We stayed in Boston for a few nights prior to visiting the Cape and the drive from Boston to Brewster was extremely easy despite the Holiday weekend.
Upon arrival, our host Nathan greeted us warmly, helped us with our luggage and gave us a tour of the Capn' Freeman which is a charming, three-storey building located just a few yards off Main St. After settling in Nathan provided us with his suggestions of where to go and what to do.
Our first night was spent in the downstairs room Orleans. This room was very comfortable and had a nice en-suite bathroom. Every detail of this Inn is carefully planned with the needs of the guests in mind. The entire feeling is one of staying with old friends who just happen to be the perfect hosts. No request is too much trouble and everything is so well thought out and executed that for us three nights simply was not enough.
For our second and third nights we were moved up to the 3rd floor Wellfleet room which we enjoyed even more. This room is very light and airy, has a four-posted bed, a fire-place, a/c and a large bath with whirlpool tub and separate rain shower.
Here is what we particularly liked about the Inn:
Breakfasts are delicious with a new menu every day and each one as good as the last. Breakfast can be taken on the outside, fully screened porch or inside in one of two locations - a small room off the living room or the inside breakfast room overlooking the back garden.
Modern, cartridge-type coffee machines are available in multiple locations as well as the larger brewed coffee during breakfast hours from 8-10am. Home baked cookies are available at all hours (don't even think about counting calories!) as well as a wide variety of teas and home-made lemonade. In the evening decanters of sherry and port are set out in the living room... as I said, like staying in a wonderful, generous friend's home. Harrison is the family dog and has a lovely calm personality that fits right in with the entire atmosphere at the Freeman.
Here's what we didn't like about the Inn.... leaving!
A few tips on where to go and what to do.... just check with Nathan, the guy has a wealth of knowledge and always finds the time to share it freely. He is everything you look for in a host, friendly, knowledgable and calm... even at the busiest times of day.
Our favorites included the not to be missed Brewster Fish House - where the fish chowder is so fantastic we went twice, and we would also recommend getting out on the water in some shape or fashion, we chose kayaks and loved the experience. the Cape Cod Rail Trail is also a must, even if you do not have the time or stamina to do a long ride.
We also drove around quite a bit, to Yarmouth, Barnstable, Chatham and Provincetown and while some of the scenery was lovely, we never once saw somewhere else where we wondered if we should have stayed instead...
if you do go, we hope you have as lovely a stay as we did.
Finally, thanks to Byron, Nathan and all the people who made our vacation so perfect.

Room Tip: They all looked charming to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent our 44th Wedding Anniversary at the Captain Freeman Inn. It could not have been better. Every detail has been perfected. The Staff is great and very helpful. The breakfast's are outstanding starting with fresh orange juice, a fruit dish and then the main. Blueberry pancakes are wonderful. To end the meal you are presented witha warm hand towel to refresh with. In the afternoon there are fresh baked cookies and brownies available. Coffee and tea are available always. Also in the afternoon there is fresh lemonade and water with lemon. There is always a decanter of Sherry and Port for the guests to enjoy.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we can't until fall to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just cam back from a wonderful weekend at the Captain Freeman Inn in Brewster, MA. We stayed in the "Wellfleet" room which had a 4 poster, a fireplace and a two-person jacuzzi and a shower in the bathroom. The room was sunny and spacious and beautiful.

Breakfast each morning was delicious. We had homemade blueberry pancakes with fresh pineapple and berries the 1st morning and eggs with bacaon, fresh blueberies and honeydew melon, with warm, homemeade english toasting bread and jams.

Ih the afternoon, fresh cookies - 2 kinds! are available along with a selection of teas and coffees. After dinner, you can help yopurself to port or sherry.

The inn keepers- Donna & Byron and the rest of the staff id everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable!

A perfect get-away weekend!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Some have private little verandas, others have fireplaces, others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfortin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#2 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#4 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Property: Captain Freeman Inn
Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Freeman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing