We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second trip back to a GREAT place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Captain Freeman Inn beckons us to visit for a second summer. Would we go anywhere else? NO WAY! This is a beautiful comfortable Inn. It is a "well oiled machine" that has every detail down to satisfy and pamper even the most finicky guest.
We were a party of five who had the pleasure of staying in three different rooms. A soothing remodeled king room on the first floor boasts tranquil earth colors with the ultimate sleep experience as provided in all the rooms with all the mattresses and mattress pads. The Innkeeper will even allow you to buy one for home. Heavenly!!! All the linens are lovely.
The breakfast served is creative, thought-out and downright to die for. A great staff--- a new Innkeeper this year Shannon.... a enthusiastic young lady with a fantastic friendly personality. Owners who work along side everyone who obviously pay attention. They want you to be happy and you will be for sure.
I can't say enough about a wonderful experience it is to be here. It is a rare find........

Room Tip: Each room has something you will love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siteseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Me and my wife spent 3 amazing days at this luxury inn. Super cute and thought through rooms, great breakfast and amazing staff. Location is perfect, 5min to the beach, nice pool at the inn, half hour drive to the beautiful natural parcs. Many great restaurants at walking distance.
Unfortunatley we had to urgently leave one day early due to an emergency. We got a refund for the last night even though they could for sure not rent it out - that is truly amazing!
Aga & John

Room Tip: We stayed in Orleans in Yarmouth. Both were great, even nicer than the pictures on the webpage sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Spent a very enjoyable 5 nights at the Captain Freeman Inn - our first visit. Great location to use as a base to see all of the Cape from or a wonderful respite from the bustle of the summer madness. A day lazing around the pool was proof enough!

The breakfast meals were made extra special by the staff - Emily deserves a special mention as does the kitchen staff who were extremely accommodating to diets and preferences.

Living less than 2 hrs drive will make this a definite return venue so we will be back!

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms at the back which had private enclosed porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay so much that we can't wait to book another one! The Inn is beautifully restored and well maintained. Kudos to all of their staff. Byron, Nate & Donna are such lovely people whose passion for people pleasing really shows. The breakfast outside on the porch was a real delight and deliciously satisfying. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I spent two nights this past weekend and while we have been to Brewster before and loved it, our stay at the Captain Freeman made us love Brewster even more. The location is suberb, the room was wonderful, the owners nice, and the breakfasts were to die for. Two thumbs way up for the Captain Freeman!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I just got back from a week long stay at the Inn. I was attending a Cape Cod Seminar in Eastham and my husband had to work remotely, so what better place to settle down than a luxurious B and B that thinks of every detail. From the minute we checked in to our first breakfast we were impressed! They welcome you in your room with s vase of flowers and a small box of local truffles! Breakfasts were incredible every day. For those of us with dietary restrictions there were always alternatives and they were willing to accomodate your requests. The hot lavender infused towels at the end of breakfast was great! What was also just as great was in the afternoon there are ALWAYS some type of fresh cookies (we even had scones one day and short bread cookies another!) lemonade and cucumber or lime water. We loved the treats! We were in the Eastham room on the second floor towards the back of the B and B. The room was spacious and the covered porch was great, you can sit there in the evening as it is lit with overhead lighting another nice touch! Shannon was lovely and provided lots of ideas of places to eat, go and was overall just very friendly. Nate, who lives at the B and B was also helpful and willing to answer all your questions! The beach is only about a 8 minute walk down the street and for those who like a pool. The only one word of caution is be careful pulling out of the driveway, its hard to see to your left! we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Eastham, P-town are in the back of the B and B and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lams2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I cried in the kitchen of the Captain Freeman Inn.

I didn't expect to. But during a conversation with Donna and Shannon, the day before we left for home, I just welled up with emotion. Going back home felt like leaving a new home. It felt like leaving family--the kind of family who nurtures you, makes you feel special, knows you need a rest, and pampers you without making you feel guilty for being pampered!

The Captain Freeman Inn—lovingly managed by owners Donna and Byron; their dedicated son, Nate; innkeeper extraordinaire (and chief nurturer), Shannon; and talented cook, Lisa—is that special.

The Inn itself is just heavenly (and across the street from a historic New England church whose bells chime softly on the hour from 7 to 11). There is much to love here, from the warmly eclectic décor (among her many talents, Donna is a gifted decorator), beautiful floors, screened breakfast porch, delightful pool and perennial gardens, amazing breakfasts (We were never hungry until dinner!), luscious cookies from noon onward every day, port and sherry available for a pre-or post-dinner drink, and fresh coffee and tea (even Harneys, yum) anytime, all the time.

We saw a few of the rooms and they are all beautiful. One can see that a great deal of love and care was invested in the restoration and decoration of this historic 1860's home.

We stayed on the third floor, in the Wellfleet room. It's by far our favorite, with a view (from the front windows) of sunrise, the "town green" in front of the inn, and the church across the street, and a view of the sunset from the back windows, 2-person Jacuzzi, and shower. The color scheme is a soothing pale green and cream, with warm touches of honey wood and navy accents. There's a gas fireplace, wicker easy chairs with an ottoman, reading lamp, ceiling fan, central air, and iPod dock/radio (there was lovely music playing for our arrival). And for your technology needs, you'll find a strong wifi signal with an easy connection (in the room and throughout the inn.) Check out the room's comprehensive binder for suggested activities, walks, restaurants, as well as a history of the inn and the story of how Donna and Byron came to own it.

Outside of the Wellfleet is a small sitting area equipped with a guest refrigerator and coffee/tea service. That space is shared with the only other room on the third floor. That room was occupied part of the time of our stay and we heard no noise at all, even though we shared a wall and the sitting area (which was the entry way to both rooms).

The Captain Freeman's charm is as much about the people as the property and I must say a word about Shannon, Nate, and Lisa.

Shannon is that rare person who is lively, energetic, and young, but who has the authentically warm and welcoming ways of a beloved granny. She knows what you need, when you need it, and bustles about, always on the move, taking care of you and the inn. We felt just embraced by her care. I had particular dietary restrictions, and Shannon made sure that they provided treats I could eat, in my room every day so that no one else would eat them by mistake. They provided special foods for breakfast as well, so I never felt deprived. It made a big difference to me to not have to be as restricted as I often am when dining away from home.

Nate is a born innkeeper as well—a young man who is obviously well raised and very happy to be a part of the Inn when not away at college. Nate is the go-to guy for fixing things. When we were there he calmly managed an air conditioning situation during a heat wave and we had air. We initiated a few discussions with Nate, who is a biology/economics double major, and a fascinating wide-ranging conversationalist. We really enjoyed his depth, intelligence, and humor.

Lisa is a gifted cook for all things breakfast. And I mean all things. There was a different and delicious menu every day. You must ask for the homemade raspberry jam and the dark German bread! If you are gluten-free, no worries; Lisa's got it covered. And the warm towels at the end of the meal are unexpected and delightful.

In terms of to-do's: The historic Brewster General Store is just steps away around the corner, and the beach is perhaps a 10 minute walk, or quick drive down the road. There is so much to do with local shopping, restaurants, the Cape Cod Rail Trail and Nickerson State Park for biking or hiking, and theatre, nature preserves, and museums nearby. The surrounding towns are within a short drive…we visited Chatham, Hyannis, Orleans, Wellfleet, and would have visited Provincetown were we not so lazy that we just lounged around much of each day!

In fact, being luxuriantly lazy, for us, is a real testament to the Inn's relaxation quotient. My husband likes to plan activities and is ready to be up and about early. But he's an extreme commuter (4 hours a day commuting) and I always want him to recapture lost sleep on vacation. I usually can't get him to sleep in, but at the Captain Freeman he dumped his activities schedule and slept. He actually loved doing nothing but reading and relaxing on the porch or by the pool. (As did I.)

Donna and Byron, thank you for treating us with such care (and getting my spa appointment!), for creating such a nurturing and soul-filling environment, and for staffing your sanctuary with the lovely Shannon and Lisa, and your very cool Nate. Is it any wonder we've already booked the Wellfleet room for next June? See you then! And I'll try not to cry.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the third floor (ours was the Wellfleet) have 2-person Jacuzis. They face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExecCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
541 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £150 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Freeman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing