We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hospitality of the innkeepers at the Captain Freeman Inwas wonderful duing our visit. Nathan is a gracious host and everything seems geared to the guest experience. The inn and rooms are tastefully decorated yet inviting spaces. We received wonderful restaurant recommendations from Nathan. The inn thoughtfully provides laminated maps with directions to the area restaurants. the breakfast each morning was sustaining and well-presented. We had a wonderful dinner at Buca's and a picnic lunch provisioned from Pain d'Avignon boulangerie and bistro. The latter is located near the Hyannis airport. The charming interior belies the fabricated building exterior. My advice is to relax and let the innkeepers guide you to a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The Barnstable Room faces the backyard and as a small enclosed sitting area that overlloks it. Perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon this past August and we couldn't have picked a better spot.

The house and rooms:
The recently renovated house was absolutely stunning. Our room was beautiful, clean and every detail was thought of and attended to, including very nice toiletries in the bathroom and nice robes. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, I haven't slept as well as I did at the CFI in months. Also, the pool is very beautiful and relaxing to sit by.

The food:
The breakfast and baked goodies are amazing. We were consistently impressed each day with how delicious the breakfast was. Also, having constant access to delicious cookies and breads all the time was pretty awesome.

The staff:
The staff were the real star of the show here, if you ask me. So courteous and nice. We also got lots of great recommendations for places to eat and go from them.

The location:
Brewster is an awesome town to stay in because you're central to so many different things. Also, lots of great restaurants. The CFI is specifically in an awesome spot, right next to the Brewster general store which is a cool place. It's also within stumbling distance of The Woodshed, a great dive bar to go to for a drink and some live music. Note that the beach down the street is not the greatest you'll find on the cape, a little mucky and quite a walk out to the water. However, fear not, it will do the job and if you want to go to a great beach, try out Mayflower or Chapin beach which are about a 15-20 min drive away.

Overall:
I can't recommend it enough, now go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was one of the best B and Bs we visited on our road trip in New England. The staff were incredibly friendly, full of great recommendations of what to see and where to eat. The rooms were truly devine, with chocolates and flowers on arrival, fire in room, large whirlpool bath and one of the largest, comfiest beds we have slept in! The cooked breakfasts were delicious and the evening treats we're lovely. The lounge is lovely to relax in although we didn't have much time for that. Room was on third floor and there are stairs. If you are staying in Cape Cod definitely check this place out, we highly recommend it and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Truro was large, bright and romantic. A lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Upon arrival, we were immediately taken with the lovely home with the rocking chairs on the front porch. We were greeeted and given a tour of the inn and offered the afternoon's repast (chocolate mint cookies with apple juice or cucumber water). Our room was so modern with a jacuzzi tub and large flat screen TV and updates throughout. Even the provided toiletries were first-class. For sunset photos, we were directed to the beach at the end of the street and we were not disappointed. Breakfast on the screened in porch was divine, as was drinking wine of the front porch in the evening (we had our own wine). WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: We only saw our room, but cannot imagine there being a bad room in the entire inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wacotxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed an exceptional weekend at the Captain Freeman Inn this summer. Neither of us had ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and we both could not be happier with our selection. The Captain Freeman Inn is conveniently and centrally located so were able to visit a variety of towns in Cape Cod and never felt like we were driving too far. The service during our stay was amazing; the breakfasts were delicious and I loved the fact that there was a variety of coffees, teas, yogurts, and baked goods available 24/7. Finally, we want to give a special thanks to the staff at the Captain Freeman Inn who were kind enough to ship me three shirts that I left in the armoire of our beautifully decorated Dennis room.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LizD21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent three nights here and loved it! The breakfasts were delicious, as were the
"afternoon repasts" and molasses cookies. The staff was very friendly, and our room (Wellfleet) was perfect. We especially appreciated the innkeepers' list of restaurant recommendations and menu book. We had such a good time that the Cape will now be a yearly trip, and we will include the Captain Freeman Inn in our planning!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ADG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I do not really know where to start with my praise for the Captain Freeman Inn (CFI). From my very first emails they were friendly, helpful and came up with accommodation to suit a family with an 18 year old son. We arrived late at night and our rooms were welcoming, cooled with air conditioning and inviting with relaxing music. These are some of the small touches that promote the CFI from great to fantastic. The CFI is beautifully decorated and each room has its own distinctive character. The beds are sumptuous and the bathrooms laden with a variety of toiletries. We spent every morning on the screened porch overlooking the pool enjoying a delicious breakfast. The CFI team were friendly and very helpful. It was our first visit to Cape Cod so we had lots of questions.
Brewster is a good central place to base yourself for Cape Cod. The CFI is a short walk from the beach and there are lots of restaurants nearby. Donna has kindly reviewed some of the best for their guests.
Apart from the I would like to say a big thank you to Byron, Donna and the CFI team for their hospitality. A fantastic place to stay in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £151 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Freeman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing