We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Freeman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Every last detail was attended to. Breakfast, snacks (tea times featured cucumber-infused water and fresh pastries) and amenities were wonderful. The manager was very personable and offered excellent advice. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
259
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I relied on tripadvisor's member reviews and was not disappointed! I originally was trying to book Brewster by the Sea but they were booked. I spoke to Byron, the owner of both properties who was very accommodating and told me about the Captain Freeman Inn, which previously I was unaware. Upon our arrival, Byron's son, Nathan, greeted us and gave us a tour of the house, culminating with showing us our room. A full breakfast is part of the package. There is a set menu every day, however, they are more than happy to modify or simplify your meal upon request. Fresh seasonal fruit, and juice accompany every breakfast. I loved the cheddar biscuits! Delicious freshly baked cookies, water, and lemonade, are available daily, along with coffee and tea. So many places to relax--the covered porch, screened in patio, as well as the pool area and large grass yard. Our room had an enclosed seating area as well. Beds are very comfortable with double sheets. Love the ductless Mitsubishi air conditioner in our room. Noticed however, that many rooms had window air conditioners. The people that work here are very friendly without being overly so. At breakfast, I heard many, many, picky requests that were fulfilled cheerfully and with no attitude. Knowledge of the area was most when deciding where to eat. The beach is a 1/2 mile walk down a pleasant residential street. Everything you could ever need, all in 1 place. The only time we ever got into our car was to drive to P Town. Thank you Nathan, Byron & Donna, for your hospitality!!! BTW, this inn is most appropriate for adults. Our 14 year old son, was more than welcome. They provided a great air mattress cot for him.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors. If lots of baggage, might be a consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FruPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Captain Freeman and the hosts were very welcoming but not "in-your-face" pushy! My favorite time was morning with yummy breakfasts on the screened in side porch. The Inn is very quiet - we had the Brewster room and it was very nice. The location is perfect for walking to the beach and there is yoga on Thursday and Saturday mornings with Jess @ 7:30 that was a good way to start the day! Also fun to watch all the kids explore the sand crabs etc when the tide is low! Traffic was pretty heavy at times esp around Chatham. Took the Island Ferry to Marthas Vineyard which was a longer drive (about 50 min) to Falmouth but if you leave early and take the first trip over its not bad - and the fare is MUCH cheaper than Hyannis! Also took in the show at the Playhouse which my son was in and it was well worth it! Dont try to drive up to P-town on Sat as it is a traffic nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have been staying at the Capt.Freeman Inn on average of 3 days a month since January---Capt.Freeman(Byron)Donna,Nathan,Harrison and all the staff have become a surrogate family.They are welcoming,
warm,and helpful in all ways.Attention to detail is a hallmark of the inn
keepers and it shows in every room.Breakfasts are so delicious and pre-sented in such a creative manner that I look forward to going every morning.This Inn in not just for summer but delightful in ALL seasons.
You will not believe how quiet it is even though it is located a stone's throw from Rt.6A,The set back location makes the difference.

Room Tip: My favorite is Brewster,on 2nd.floor in middle of the Inn,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HERMIONE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I just returned from a long weekend at Captain Freeman Inn. I was a little apprehensive as this was my first B&B experience. It's a beautiful Inn, located in a picturesque setting and a fabulous location. A beautiful beach and General Store, as well as other restaurants are all in walking distance. The rooms are all lovely. The wrap around porch and pool are added bonuses. It was a very relaxing environment and I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malkodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our first trip to Captain Freeman, and we fell in love forever! The owners, Byron and Donna, have paid exquisite attention to every detail to make their guests' stay at the inn memorable. We stayed in two different rooms over a one-week period, and loved both of them, for different reasons--the first was a cozy retreat on the third floor with a view of the church steeple out the window; the second was a spacious and airy second floor hide-away with little private porch for sipping morning coffee, or reading a book. The gourmet breaksfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool were sumptious, as were the mid-afternoon cookies and iced lemonades. We walked back and forth to the beach at the end of the lane all day, and at night, curled up on the leather couch in the salon, or hung out in rockers on the front porch, with ice-cream cones from next door. The setting is a beautiful old seaman's mansion, with enormous ceilings, and a mix of furnishings and art both old and new. Every single member of the stafff is lovely and personable, and will help make your stay perfect in every way. We cannot wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: We peeked in every room with an open door, and each room had its own wonderful charm, so you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband Harry and I just returned from spending a few days at Captain Freeman. I wanted to write this review right away because I didn't want to forget. We had such a good time. This is a great place to stay, the rooms were clean, comfortable and have lots of little extras. It is very apparent the staff thinks of every little way they can make your stay a comfortable one. They were great! Nathan greeted us and although we came in early he was very accommodating. Donna and the rest of the staff were just as fantastic. They make you feel like you are visiting close friends. And for the animal lovers, you will love their dog Harrison!!! We enjoyed the DELICIOUS breakfast, the cookies and yes, the Port. The beach, stores, trails and restaurants are all close. This is a wonderful place to relax. I recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minerva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
8.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#2 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#4 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Property: Captain Freeman Inn
Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Freeman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing