We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, Wonderful Innkeepers, Perfect Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I decided to book the Captain Freeman Inn for our honeymoon and after the initial phone call we knew we had made the right decision! Byron was warm and welcoming on the phone when we called with inquiries and every follow up call we made over the last year has been exactly the same! Byron and Donna truly welcome you with open hearts and are there to assist with any questions you have (we had many) and make recommendations for places to visit. They were also more than accommodating when we decided to add amenities to our room.

We enjoyed every moment at the Inn and looked forward to conversing with both of our Innkeepers! The 3 course breakfasts were out of this world and the room and common areas of the Inn were immaculately clean.

I could go on and on about how wonderful the stay was and how we never wanted to leave but there are too many things to talk about! The staff, the food, the décor, the amazingly comfortable beds... it's all perfect at the Captain Freeman! If you are looking for a getaway, this is the place to choose.

My husband and I will definitely be returning to visit Cape Cod, this amazing Inn, and our friends Byron and Donna (and Harrison too)!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mashpee which was right off the breakfast room on the first floor. It was beautiful...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeMay608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Captain Freeman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent another weekend at this wonderful Inn after last year's stay, you really feel this is "Home away from Home"! Very high quality, attention to detail, quiet, the perfect place to relax.
Excellent 3 course breakfast with the right portions, not too much so that you feel too full to move, just the right portions, very delicious and wonderful presentation. Tastefully decorated rooms & common areas with classical music enhance the experience of true relaxation. You may want to try a cup of tea in beautiful China in the living room while listening to some relaxing music on the Couch, as opposed to the everyday running-around-with-a-papercup-from- Dunkin-Donuts routine... Everything you read on the website is truly what you experience, absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jami2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a 4 day getaway in Brewster this April vacation and the best part was our visit to the Captain Freeman Inn. This is truly a high quality bed and breakfast from the moment you are greeted with fresh flowers and truffles to the 3 course breakfast every morning.

Quality, attention to detail, quiet, and the spirit of service are the memories I cherish 24 hours after coming home. The entire staff was exceptional in their presence to make your visit memorable and comfortable. It is the simple things - remembering I liked decaf coffee and my wife drank a special tee, fresh cookies in the foyer every day, special lavender spray that filled the air with peace and tranquility - shall I go on ?

Imagine a 3 course breakfast every day - starting with a pear tarte with side of sliced apple, followed by fresh melon topped with red raspberry with a twig of mint, and finally a mushroom, spinach omelette with side of slice tomatoes, a few basil leaves and slices fresh baked bread with home made raspberry preserve. That was the 1st day and then... well you will just need to visit to find you what they are serving tomorrow...

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor rooms with a jacuzzi tub - we had the truro room - it was the best. But I sugg...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

All I can do is echo the other kudos the Captain Freeman has received. It's simply the best stay I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. Everything we could want from an inn, it had. Our room, Wellfleet, was on the third floor of this recently renovated sea captains's home. It was tastefully decorated in a way that was comfortable and appealing. There was a gas fireplace with two leather chairs facing it. The bathroom had both a shower and a two-person jacuzzi tub. On the third floor landing outside our door was a sitting area with coffee and tea. A lavish breakfast was offered each day from 8-10 including a fresh fruit cup and an entree, either savory or sweet. Either way, it was enough food to get through most of the day! After a day exploring, we would return to home-baked treats in one of the downstairs rooms. Our hosts, Byron and Donna, were friendly and knowledgeable, helping us with reservations. The inn is a mile away from a long beach on the bay side. I would definitely book this inn the next time I stay on the cape. It has everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wellfleet, on the third floor. Windows face on the street, across from a church. Be...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We are Cape vacationers for over 9 years. We have vacationed in Brewster just down the road on Tides Court and North Truro. We have admired the Inn on our walks to the Brewster store and this year for my birthday my husband booked the Inn.

We love the Cape off season, no traffic, crowds and it feels like the Cape is there just for you. Our stay at the Captain Freeman Inn April 4-6 was perfect, just us and another couple. The Inn was like home away from home.

Our room was the Truro Room, it was spacious but intimate and had a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi a nightly treat to sooth the legs from all our walking along with the spa robes and the various lotions, bath salts and Inn made lavender spray added to feeling pampered.

Byron, Donna and Harrison (the Inn dog) are wonderful Inn keepers. The gourmet 3 course breakfasts were delicious ( couldn't wait to see what was planned for the next day) and it was the fuel we needed to walk, walk and walk our weekend on the Cape. We had fabulous weather, sunny and brisk.

The Inn is nestled in the heart of Brewster that has old world charm (loved the story about Captain Freeman) and it offers modern conveniences (WiFi with flat screen TVs and Bose sound systems in every room) that satisfy the needs to relax and/or keep pace with the world if you choose or need to.

This weekend was also the NCAA Final Four games. Byron offered his office on the 1st floor for us to watch the UConn game with our son who lives just an hour away as we did not want to disturb the other couple that we were floor mates with as this was their getaway time too. Having the office to watch the game was awesome as we could express ourselves freely ( Go UConn!) as well as enjoying the Inn made cookies,brownies (made fresh daily) and the complimentary sherry and/or port wine.

We will return! As I do have a Birthday each year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy and Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Captain Freeman Inn is unparalled in quality, attention to detail, cleanliness and service. Donna and Byron are gracious hosts and they made us feel like we were visiting old friends, instead of paying guests. From the delicious food to the exquisitely decorated interior, each room had it's own story and charm and everything was perfect. The house is simply beautiful and it has been restored to its original grandeur. Please, take the opportunity to stay if you are in the area and treat yourself! We are sure glad we celebrated our birthdays here. A family tradition has been started and we intend to come back every year and celebrate our birthdays and stay in the Wellfleet room.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. It depends on your preference. If you still can't decide talk to Donna...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend getaway at The Captain Freeman Inn. Although spring has barely begun, we have found the Cape to be an amazing place to visit any time of the year. This inn (which has an excellent mid-Cape location) is an extraordinary B&B for many reasons. Donna and Byron (the owners) are special people who are caring and intelligent in their roles as innkeepers. They have created a wonderful retreat for their guests with beautifully decorated rooms that are immaculate with an attention to small details that is truly memorable - We stayed in the Eastham room and on our first night, my husband sat on the couch surrounded by pillows with a drink in hand watching his basketball game by the warmth of the fireplace - after a few moments he declared, "I feel happy!" (Girls, don't be afraid to bring your man here!) and I shared those feelings as I enjoyed the cozy and very comfortable bed! The gourmet breakfasts are simply the best and provide a warm start to your day - after I admitted to Donna that I am not a fan of banana bread, she immediately offered to substitute a corn muffin and I appreciated the individual attention. We walked a short distance to Breakwater Beach after breakfast and enjoyed a nostalgic visit to the Brewster General Store (right next door to the inn) - Our luncheon meal at the Brewster Fish House was fresh and fantastic - we stayed in Saturday night and had excellent take-out sandwiches from the Local Flavor shop (they close mid-afternoon) with Donna's incredible cookies for dessert! Be sure to stop by Brewster Sweets for some chocolate goodies (and use the $5 gift certificate in your welcome items in your room) and do check out the amazing kitchen store at Lemon Tree Village. Donna and Byron are enthusiastic Cape Cod residents - take the time to read through the comprehensive information book they have provided in your room - after an initial reading, I went back and wrote down fun ideas to remember for future visits! (Loved their dog Harrison who is gentle and wise and a friend to all!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
716 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
625 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £147 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Freeman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing