We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Highly”
Review of The Old Manse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Manse Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and i spend a lovely overnight at the Inn. The inn keepers-- Brian and Charlie-- werer among the nicest we have ever met, and made us feel very welcome. The room (deluxe) on the ground floor was absolutely wonderful, anf breakfast was delicious. We were there "off-season" (mid April) and found Brewster to be a quiet and lovely area of the Cape. We recommend the Old Manse Inn highly to anypone looking fro a beautuiful B& B on the Cape.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonboy1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Chart Room, our first floor deluxe room! Being one of our deluxe rooms, the bedding has been upgraded. The Captains, Blue and Nauset rooms are also slated to have upgraded / enhanced room amenities this year - before our most busy season begins too!
We often here from our guests that Brewster has a great location because it is a 'quiet and lovely area of the Cape', as you mentioned, away from the traffic and crowds of other areas of Cape Cod, especially during the high summer season. We do, however, like to call Brewster the 'Hub of the Cape' because of its central location and proximity to all that the Cape has to offer. We are a relatively short drive to Provincetown at one end but also close to Chatham and to the ferries going to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket in Hyannis and Harwich Port as well towards the other end of the Cape. We hope you come back soon - for the new breakfast recipes we are trying - and the serenity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I come to this Inn twice each year in the off-season in order to enjoy the quiet and beauty of the cape without the summer crowds. This past week was our first time with the new owners and we were pleased to see their efforts to make the Inn their own, without taking away from its wonderful historical character. The rooms are comfortable and the beds have always been equally comfortable. Typically I have trouble sleeping in strange places, but never here! The breakfasts are very filling and taste great! My husband has significance food allergies and Brian and Charlie went out of their way to accommodate him. We felt like family. If you like privacy and appreciate a beautiful setting this is where you want to go! Away from all the traffic, but easy access to great restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are fantastic but be prepared to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhr_carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so happy that you came back again this year to meet and stay with us as the new owners / innkeepers.
As you noted, we are beginning to make upgrades and changes to both the main gathering areas of the inn as well as the guest rooms, but also keeping the historical character as you noted. Our hope with the upgraded bedding, new Bluetooth/USB clocks in some rooms, etc. is to enhance the stay of our guests while the more nautical appearance of the new paint in the Parlor is meant to open up & brighten that space for the use by our guests. We hope that you will come back to see even more changes as time goes by!
We also continue to try new breakfast recipes, including Crab Eggs Benedict with a Chive Hollandaise that we served just this morning that you will have to try. We offered the traditional Eggs Benedict for those that cannot have shellfish.
We feel like each guest is an extension of our family and we are glad to hear that you feel the same way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a wonderful B&B. The breakfasts were exceptional, and the owner gave great advice about a great restaurant our first night. There were cookie and drinks available in the evening, and games in the living room that were fun to play. The rooms were lovely and the innkeeper was just wonderful. I'd highly advise visiting!

Room Tip: The Captain's Room had a lovely bathroom with a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us as that is always our goal. We are thrilled to let you know that we have already begun upgrades to more rooms with new bedding (including the Captains Room you stayed in) and have painted the parlor with lighter, more nautical colors in keeping with the Sea Captain history to enjoy those cookies and drinks. We hope that you visit again real soon now that Spring is on the horizon and so you can see all of the new changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Family and friends gathered at the Old Manse Inn for our wedding celebration weekend on Cape Cod when the former innkeepers Richard and Karen were there. A spectacular time was had by all and the inn was beautifully appointed. Breakfasts were amazing. Our immediate family stayed in the luxury suites where we had a small kitchen area that allowed us to really personalize private entertainment and led onto a private deck. We must return soon to greet the new owners!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

As the new owners and innkeepers here at the Old Manse, we love to hear that you had a great time, especially when it is such a memorable experience like your wedding celebration. The Admiral Suite is perfect for that wedding day preparation with the large bathroom and dressing area along with the private entrance and deck. We are already receiving inquiries from folks for their rehearsal dinners and weddings and we hope to make them just as special as yours. We hope you will consider coming back to stay on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

When I arrived I was warmly greeted by Brian the innkeeper/owner. My room #3 the Garden room was beautifully decorated and nicely appointed.They thought of every detail, a beverage station available all day, fresh chocolate chip cookies, movies, books and games. Breakfast the next day was amazing,granola,yogurt and fresh fruit parfait, veggy egg strata with maple sausage!The breakfast room is beautiful. If you love old houses, this one is a treat, it's been beautifully maintained.I felt like I was back to a bygone era. I've just booked to go back again in a couple of weeks with my husband.

Room Tip: Loved #3 and #4 I don't think there is a pool. I didn't mean to rate that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picky41645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming our guests and making them feel at home as soon as they arrive. In fact, our information signs posted in each room say 'Welcome Home' and we mean that! Preparing breakfast is one of my favorite times of the day being the 'foodies' that I am. Preparing fresh and delicious breakfasts that are a feast for the taste buds - and also the eyes - is what I strive for! Speaking of the eyes, I hope every guest gets a chance to know my signature note that I put in every breakfast served. We are proud of our breakfast dining room, especially on bright and sunny days, as the room is filled with sunshine with 13 windows in this room alone! You would never guess that the room was once used as a chapel! We cannot wait to have you return in just a few weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Newly restored and elegantly renovated. Wonderful hosts. Gracious, helpful and welcoming. Room elegant and super comfortable. Breakfast extraordinary. Brian has mastered special recipes which resulted in offerings we had never seen, and thoroughly enjoyed.Had a chance to view entire facility, including kitchen, which was immaculate. A must experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We will continue to try to surprise our guests with both visually exciting and delicious breakfasts as we move forward! Walking people around the inn is terrific fun for me as well as there is history about the inn that can only be told when you can see it at the same time. I learn something new everyday myself! We recently found some old photographs that we intend to showcase in the rooms for our guests. The carriage way between the main house and barn was quite the surprise to see! We look forward to showing you the next time you stay at the Old Manse in Brewster, Cape Cod.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Old Manse Inn for two nights this January. The Inn has recently changed hands, so this review is for Brian and Charlie, the new innkeepers. We had originally booked for the weekend of the large snowstorm, but they were very understanding and allowed us to rebook for no charge (it was the offseason...). Once we arrived the following week, Brian and Charlie did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, from calling ahead to a restaurant for dinner reservations, to giving us a tour of the entire house and grounds, and, when they found out we had been dating for a year, providing us with a complimentary bottle of wine and a nice surprise for our celebration. They obviously take great pleasure in hosting and were always eager to talk and give recommendations.

There are sherry, port, and cookies out in the afternoon and evening. Breakfast is continental for now but we hope to be back again soon to sample Brian's cooking! The Inn itself is a charming 19th century home, and I believe the new owners are looking to make some changes in the furnishings to make it their own! We had a great weekend at the Inn and felt right at home! We'd be happy to go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

That was one big snow storm we had! It was quite the welcome mat for us as new innkeepers. We were happy to move your reservation for you to the following weekend since it was near impossible to travel that weekend. Since we have been here since December, we have gotten to know some terrific restaurants, so we were only too happy to help secure a reservation for you - and celebrate your happy occasion! You will be happy to know that breakfasts are back! Vanilla Bourbon French Toast this morning and a Mushroom Quiche after a Pineapple Banana Cairn starter for tomorrow for example. We cannot wait to have you back to sample the new menus! More updates to the Old Manse are planned so we hope you will connect with us to see what happens next! Please stay in touch and we hope to have you back very soon! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
539 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Inn

Address: 1861 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: £139 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Manse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive bed and breakfast establishment offers twelve well appointed guest rooms and three luxury suites, each with its own private bath, AC, flat screen DVD/cable TV. The inn is situated on Old King's Highway (Rte 6A) in the historic seaside village of Brewster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Manse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Brewster
The Old Manse Inn Brewster, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing