We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior baked Goods (not a restaurant)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopkins House

Hopkins House
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Brewster
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superior baked Goods (not a restaurant)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a lovely little bakery in scenic Brewster MA. It is located in an old colonial house on
historic 6A. You enter through a pretty flower garden into the tiny bake shop. There you will
find a beautiful assortment of freshly baked muffins, scones, cupcakes, cookies and assorted
sweets that are kept cold. The goods are baked by Heather, a graduate from one of the culinaryarts institutes in New York. She is a one woman show and she really knows what she is doing.
The muffins are the specialty and usually include 15-20 varieties. The most famous is the French Breakfast muffin, which is rolled in butter after baking then a cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar coating. My own personal favorites include the peach muffin, strawberry muffin etc.
Heather also makes a to die for peach cobbler, and her pies are wonderful, as well. Pies that
we enjoyed this summer included, strawberry rhubarb, blueberry crisp, and peach crumble. Heather's pies are the only ones I would buy as I normally make my own. She also makes
a lovely french bread that we fight over! You do need to get there early in season because they do sell out. Heather is the only one in the kitchen folks, so she does not produce vast
quantities, thus the quality is superior. Also no donuts, for CeeBee, go to the Brewster Store
if you want donuts. It is pricey, but for heaven's sake, it is homemade, people!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure what fuss all about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

After coming up here for many years I decided to stop in Hopkins Bakery. First parking is limited and a hassle. I went and noticed a line to the door. I was waiting patiently hoping to see what the fuss was all about. By the time I got to my turn, there was only a limited muffin supply and scones. I purchased 4 average size muffins and it was about $7. There were no donuts and I was there before 10am. Not sure if donuts are sold here anyway. Trying to leave parking lot was another fiasco, but finally made it out...tried it and crossed off my list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeBee1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The baker must be part magician....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

...Because these are by far the most delicious muffins we have ever had. Not to mention the other sweet treats, fresh loaves of bread, pies, and quiches are phenomenal. The Hopkins House is a Brewster treasure. We wait on line every day it's open, and will continue to do so for as long as keep coming to the Cape. The attached store has adorable things, and should also not be missed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travlnmommO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome Muffins!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As a previous reviewer mentioned, there can be a line when the Hopkins House first opens. While that is no doubt due in part to the greatness of their baked goods, it's also due in part to the fact that only about 5 or 6 people can fit inside at a time. Based on the reviews here I showed up right at opening time, 8 AM on Thursday, and there was indeed a line. It only took 10 minutes to get to my turn, though, and I sprung for a dozen muffins and a few other odds and ends. The French Breakfast Muffin is so good, it's ridiculous. The chocolate chip muffins were good, too. This is absolutely worth a visit if it's pretty close to where you're staying in Brewster.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wonderful assortment of baked goodies, hard to make up your mind - the Peach muffin was really filled with fruit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyndaU49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopkins House also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hopkins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing