We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“total comfort and quiet--except for the birds, happily!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“total comfort and quiet--except for the birds, happily!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved everything about the Bird's Nest B & B--our room, the view, the quiet, and the many birds we spied as we looked out the window on a late April morning: bluejays, goldfinch, nuthatches and more! This is a beautiful old home (1700's) that Cyndy, Dennis and Pat manage beautifully. We felt welcome and slept beautifully. Cyndy served delicious quiche for breakfast along with fresh fruit cocktail, juice, 2 homemade breads and a beautiful strawberry and baby lettuce salad (and great coffee in locally made pottery). We chose this place because we traveled the Asparagus Valley Pottery Trail and as Cyndy is an artist herself and friendly with local potters, we had some great conversation. Cyndy's mom Pat is extraordinary and pointed out that her parents made the exquisite rag rug in the dining room. Just a great getaway!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our cozy corner room--the hummingbird! Lovely light and comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
60
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast for Cider Days last year, and we enjoyed it immensely. Here's the skinny: if you want heated beds, fish to eat the dead skin off your feat, a personal masseuse, etc., etc. this is probably not the place for you. (One might wonder why you're in W. Massachusetts at all, and not, say, Tokyo!)

However, if what you'd like is a room furnished with the comforts of the rustic home we all imagine owning one day, friendly and fun owners, and a good meal--all at a reasonable price--this is the place to go.

Excellent value, comfortable, and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were attending a concert at Mass MOCA in North Adams, and couldn't find a hotel with any openings. I suggested a B&B and my husband found The Bird's Nest in nearby Buckland. So glad he did. A lovely , warm and cozy home with interesting artwork everywhere;( a plus for me..) . Very comfortable room and private bathroom. Very accommodating hosts and a delicious homemade breakfast in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named after birds! We stayed in the GoldFinch Room which was very comfortable, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We chose the Bird's Next for our place to stay for a weekend ski trip to Berkshire East Mountain. It was perfect. The drive was about 10 minutes to the mountain; straight and easy. The B&B conditions were great - well maintained, clean, beautiful surroundings and very hospitable hosts/owners in this 18th century home. The food was wonderful and they even provided us with a credit for being such great guests. What else can you ask for?

Room Tip: We had the only room that did not have an attached bath, but it was still great. If this matters to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Just a fantastic weekend here and the proprietors made us feel so comfortable. I have two young kids and they were very gracious and sweet with them. The breakfast was very filling and tasty. I wouldn't consider myself the bed and breakfast type but it was very cozy and they were very nice but with plenty of our own space.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank workingmom_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Bird's Nest Inn when I had a job in the area this summer. I stayed there with my colleagues for about 5 days and each day I was increasingly impressed by the hospitality I experienced there. Let me start with the cleanliness of the inn. Cindy, the owner, keeps the house immaculate, especially the bathrooms. The house is incredibly beautiful with each room having a distinct character and quirky decorations. The house is in a quiet, rural neighborhood with no city noise or loud airplanes overhead, however entering the house sets off their "dog alarm" for a few minutes (courtesy of their Chihuahua mix, Yoda). They do have WiFi you can use very easily, which is nice because they don't really have a T.V. Cell service is kinda spotty in that area, so you'll have to walk around the house and stand in a specific area for the entirety of your phone call. The beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, and what else…? THE. FOOD. Holy cow, best breakfasts I've ever eaten! Perfect quiche, fluffy pancakes, and hearty breakfast casserole all made the mornings before starting a gruling day of outdoor work much less daunting. Whether she knows it or not, Cindy did alot for our morale with how she took care of us. She was even willing to make special breakfasts or snacks for the gluten-intolerant member of our group (She doesn't make lunch or dinner though). She was always asking if she could do anything to make us feel more comfortable or at home, and because of the fact she's a local, she has extensive knowledge of the area, and can give you excellent advice on places to visit while you're in the area. To sum it up, Cindy's a gem, the house is uniquely beautiful, and you won't be at all disappointed if you stay at the Bird's Nest Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hosts, great food, the location was quiet and beautiful, and I couldn't have had a better weekend getaway. Seriously. Rural Massachusetts at it very, very, best. The hosts were knowledgable and friendly, and very cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 208Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckland
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
18.2 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
10.0 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
12.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
10.1 mi away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 4 in Greenfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Charlemont Rd, Buckland, MA 01338-9707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Buckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 the Bird's Nest B & B exudes an ambiance of elegance and simplicity. As a 200-year-old home, it's architecture reflects the area and personality of all who have lived and cared for the homestead for the last two centuries. Quilts, rugs, pottery, furniture, sculpture and paintings created by a family of artists and artisans can be found throughout the home, as well as a medley of family heirlooms, antiques and collectibles. We serve a full breakfast with fresh fruit, home baked muffins(or scones or bread) along with a main course such as eggs benedict. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing