We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has to be at least once per stay in the USA”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Burlington Mall Road
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. All roads lead to Legal Sea Foods. In this case, we are located near four main highways (Routes 128, 95, 93 and 3) on the first level of the Burlington Mall. Make the most of our convenient restaurant location - come for the seafood and stay to shop. Our entrance-way is marked by a water wall. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“has to be at least once per stay in the USA”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I cannot eat the huge portions Americans serve, therefore I always ask for my two favorite appetizers (already the size of a main dish in Europe) each split in half. I enjoy sitting there, sipping my white wine (huge choice from everywhere around the world!) and watching the other parties having fun...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SabinaLorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    204
    71
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, pricey”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Legal Seafood has a reputation for great food, which is partially deserved. People rave about it, however I felt that the food was good but not as special as suggested. It's mainly seafood as you would expect. The star dish for me was actually the pea fritter side that was suggested by the waitress. It tasted great! It's a busy restaurant and therefore quite noisy, although you tend for forget about that when you're seated. The prices seem a touch high for what it is but I suppose they live on their reputation.

The service was good and the quality of the food was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sav_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently perfect”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have been eating at Legal Seafood since 1988. This chain is the only place that I will eat raw seafood. Littlenecks are fantastic. The organization is dedicated to delivering only the highest quality product. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection. I go to Legals every time we come into Boston to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bjymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, great crabcake”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went there on a Tuesday night after 8PM and it was still packed although there was no waiting. Got the crabcake combination and it was an excellent variety of grilled and fried seafood. The scallops were a little overdone, but still mostly tender. The signature piece was the big crabcake which was loaded with crabmeat instead of the typical "loaded with filler" crabcake. Not cheap, but very good with a nice touch of mustard sauce. The polenta side dish was about as big as a main dish and the sides that my friends got were about as big also. Although it is listed as a Jalapeno polenta, it isn't very spicy and the pepper pieces are tiny and sparce so don't be intimidated by the name.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Standard”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is located at the Burlington Mall, next to Besitos and Bobby's Burger Palace. Easy access from the parking lot. The exterior entrance is low keyed. We were seated promptly and the service was fine. We asked for a sample of their seaweed salad and they accommodated us. The food was served quickly once ordered and after our questions had been answered. We had the sockeye salmon and the shrimp casserole. Both were served hot as were the rolls. The casserole contained a good serving of shrimp, lobster, scallops and a whitefish. The salmon was similarly tasty. My only complaint is that the prices for the entrees seem a bit high. However, the food was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing