We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eastern Inn: Basically Clean, But Run Down & Lacking Amenities” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastern Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buzzards Bay
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Eastern Inn: Basically Clean, But Run Down & Lacking Amenities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Eastern Inn and found it basically clean, but old, run down, and lacking in amenities one would normally find in hotels. The was a small refrigerator and microwave, but there was no hair dryer, no iron or ironing board. I couldn't even get a box of tissues from the owner, an elderly man who sits around smoking cigars all day. The indoor swimming pool was half full, closed, and was now a storage area. The rates were reasonable, but you get what you pay for.

The lamps in our room were held together with duct tape. Looked like a fire hazard to us.

My biggest objection was the bad odor of our room. It was non-smoking, but probably had been a smoking room at one point. We couldn't understand why there was an ash tray in there if it was non-smoking. The room reeked of disinfectant also. Pretty bad.

To reiterate, this place is old, run down and cheesy. If you're on a severe budget, or you don't care, it might be OK, but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrumBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    6
    4
    20
See reviews for
7
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

If you like mouse droppings, roaches, cobwebs & horrible people, this place is for you. I've not been in a place this ill-cared for, ever; to make matters worse it's American-owned...

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimlynnreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buzzards Bay hotels

queens, ny
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed at the Eastern Inn from September 18 - 21, 2010. Front desk woman was really nice when asked if we can see the room before we actually book. Price was very reasonable. Room was nice and clean. Room was very roomy and comfortable Motel had a deck so patrons can sit and enjoy the morning air (or anytime of the day) with their continental breakfast. Food at TJ's Grill and Bar was quite good and reasonable priced and they even deliver to your room. Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights from July 29 thru Aug. 1st. We were in town for a family reunion across the brige, not enough room in the cottage, so we rented 4 rooms here.
After reading all the negitive reviews, I was a but wary of the place, but once there I felt at ease.
The manager is a bit quirky, but a nce enough guy.
Our room had a king bed, a small fridge and a microwave/ The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked recently remodled.
For the price we paid, I have no complaints.
One woman in our group left her purse in the parking lot, luckily one of the maintenance workers found it and returned it to the front desk, with everything intact.
That says something to me about their integrity.
It;s not the Ritz, but it worked fine for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is a decent, older hotel. If you're one who is drawn to the Holiday Inn Express style hotels, then this is not for you. But we're into these older hotels with some Character. It's a wood frame structure with creaky floors and no elevator. But it was inexpensive, the room was clean (smoking room for my wife) and the king bed was comfortable. We stayed two nights and had no complaints. Again, it's a rough, New England style hotel but don't believe the reviews where they may say it's in a shady area or anything. It's not. Those people need to get real. The bar next door is called TJ's and the only motorcycle in sight was the Harley Davidson my wife and I rode out to Buzzards Bay! It's not a biker joint. So if you want basic accommodations -- meaning, no breakfast, etc... this place is definitely not bad. Oh, and an added plus is that there's a Starbucks right next door for morning coffee.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

I travel with my dog, so I have to take what I can get. Most places charge $50 and up for a "dog fee", this place was $25 ($10 refunded upon checkout if your room passed...."
You get what you pay for. It's a $50 +/- room, on The Cape, off season.
Yes, the walls are a bit thin, bring ear plugs. No - the sheets aren't 400 count, and the towels are NOT egyptian cotton. The staff I encountered were decent, some of the other guests certainly were a bit shady -- but I didn't feel like I was ever in danger. Right off the highway, conveniently located.
Mini fridge and microwave in the room, hot water -- that's always a good thing.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

I work in the hospitality industry and have never encountered such terrible customer service by the so-called "manager". Inappropriate remarks, rude personality. Should have read tripadvisor previously, this place is a dump!

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank val7379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buzzards Bay
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Bourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
7.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wareham Buzzards Bay
15.3 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bedford / Fairhaven
8.8 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Inn

Property: Eastern Inn
Address: 6 Bridge Approach St, Buzzards Bay, Bourne, MA 02532-5644
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Bourne > Buzzards Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buzzards Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastern Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eastern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Hotel Buzzards Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing