We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens nice, watch for ticks and come later in Spring”

Eleanor Cabot Bradley Estate
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Canton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through elegant gardens complementing a stately country house then explore surrounding fields, pastures, and woodlands that echo the property's agricultural past.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Gardens nice, watch for ticks and come later in Spring”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A very nice little farmstead with a beautiful mansion. Did not visit inside but did walk the gardens. There are trails that extend out quite a ways and those are probably the best feature of the property.

We came because this figured on a list of a great place to picnic in Boston. We ultimately did not picnic but walked the grounds so we could know for another day. The grounds are nice but it's too early in Spring to see anything interesting and they are ultimately not that big.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stroll”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

You will walk up to the house, the flower garden in back and the woods and fields on the side. Deer tick infested and no bathrooms. The house is only open when rented for a function. Dogs allowed. And it is free.

Helpful?
Thank SpiritsOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deeply Dissapointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We live nearby and decided to take an afternoon stroll here. I read about the grounds and offerings online, and once I visited I was deeply disappointed. Granted - the House and grounds directly surrounding the house were immaculate. What a spectacular view. However, that is where the greatness ended. As we parked, I picked up a map of the grounds - there were several paths that weren't mowed, and the promise of farm animals was not there. This place is only for renting for an event, not for spending the afternoon. Next time I'll continue one exit to hike ponkapoag pond or blue hills.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lizard2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Another Fine Trustees of Reservations Property”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Tranquil site, just of Route 128. Classic house from 100 years ago. Stop in for a restful time. Or, rent it for an occasion -- wedding, corporate retreat, etc. It will make for a memorable time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unknown Treasure off Route 138”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Off the beaten path of Route 138 lies a very special quiet and relaxing place where you can unwind with your pet and enjoy nature on a beautiful sunny day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eleanor Cabot Bradley Estate also viewed

 

Been to Eleanor Cabot Bradley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing