We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little local ski hill. Don't expect big mountains skiing”

Blue Hills Ski Area
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great little local ski hill. Don't expect big mountains skiing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We go here regularly for afternoon and weekend skiing with the kids. If you want little kids to get in some runs without having to go all the way up north, this is a good solution. Season passes are cheap, staff is friendly and they work hard to keep snow on the little runs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ski Lessons”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Without doubt the most dis-organised kids ski lessons that I have ever been at. Parking is very bad. One week I sat there wondering where my kid was along with other parents and it turned out the instructor had taken them back to the lodge via the back of the hill, without telling any of us.
The next week, they didn't have enough instructors so classes of different grades were merged

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lucky to Have it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Totally dependent on weather but when it cooperates, what a great location place to ski! Good choices for all levels, plenty of parking and nice energetic staff! Great to bring the kids after school for a quick run or two!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karar567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, but small.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a fun, usually well-maintained hill that's good for a quick outing with a friend or family member. The ski school gets good marks: my kids all learned to ski at Blue Hills. But aside from two magic carpets, Blue Hills has only a single lift: a 60-seat double chair to the top of Big Blue.

Go on a day when it's not crowded and the conditions are pleasant and you'll have a great time. You can also make this observation: if you don't dawdle too long at the top, and ski (on just about any trail) back to the bottom of the lift, you stand a pretty good chance of ending up on the same chair number as on the your previous run. In other words: it takes about the same amount of time to ski down this hill as it does to ride back up.

While we were noting this fact with some amusement (it probably holds true at plenty of other ski areas!), and enjoying a fine, sunny day on the slopes, we did the math. The total capacity of the lift is 120 people. If there are more than this many people skiing, the excess will end up in the lift line. Given that the prices are hardly a "bargain", then, this is a place to avoid if it looks like it's getting crowded at all.

Most of the trails, except for "Big Blue" itself, are great for intermediate skiers. There's one cruiser on the outside, "Sonya", which has no snowmaking and is therefore rarely open-- and worth trying once when it is. Beware that it dumps you out at the bottom of the beginner area with a 6-foot hill to climb and then a long trek back to the lift.

The lodge is fine and food is reasonably priced; rentals were quick and courteous.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank k-dog021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice place to hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Recently visited Blue Hills Ski Area while visiting relatives in nearby Rhode Island. Since it was October we were there to hike, not ski. Very nice trails leading to the top of the mountain. There was an old stone tower which you could climb. Beautiful views, the Boston skyline was in the distance. There is also a weather observation tower that you can climb as well. Nice views and very interesting weather statistics on the marker outside. We were able to ride the ski lift down. $2.00 and you could ride all day. This was only certain days in the fall. There were some animals at the bottom of the hill, a river otter, deer, snowy eagle, etc. It was a nice way to spend a few hours. There was a fall festival going on while we were there. That was just a little more than a yard sale.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Hills Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hills Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing