We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, romantic motel, really bad service”
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean View Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Centerville
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Location was really good if you don't happen to be there during one of those windy periods because then it's really impossible to get any sleep at night. The wind can drive you crazy!
The staff were anything but helpful, we had to ask for a wine opener like a thousands time from different people & in the end they said that they haven't got one!! They go buy it.
But then for the last night that they didn't have any room available they sent us to the family motel for the same price without mentioning how crappy it is & it's not even located on the beach!
Mostly the feeling I got there was that the only thing in their mind was money & no service what so ever!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed thert June 20 through the 22nd. It is a nice place, very clean and well maintained and the staff there is absolutely the best! It really is a hidden gem. The location is right across the street from Craigville Beach so you can just walk and find a nice spot. There are also two snack bars next door where you can get something quick to eat, and plenty of diners to choose from within about ten minutes.

Each room is named after something related to the Cape and we stayed in the Martha's Vineyard Room. It was at the front of the hotel and had a small balcony to sit on which faced the ocean as well as the street. It was very pleasant to sit on and drink coffee in the morning.
Even though the room is right on the street side it is pretty quiet. The room also had two queen size beds in it.

The room has a refrigerator and a coffee maker which is pretty convenient, and if you need anything the staff is very helpful. The bathroom was a little on the small side but was still not too bad. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrentham_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Looking for somewhere to stay for a few days, ideally on the oceanside we came upon this small motel. Yes they did have an oceanfront room with a balcony on the upper floor. OK it is roadside but a very quiet at night you do not hear any traffic, and right on the beach
Clean, comfortable, and oh what a view. The staff are great, so helpful and friendly and nothing is to much trouble. It may not be a 4 Seasons but hell for the price charged it was a great find

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In 2011 I wrote a very good commentary about the place, but last year I tried to make a reservation by e-mail. I didn't get an answer. When I called one lady not very polite told me the place was booked for a family reunion. Janine called back and told me she was sorry. We found another place, but when we went to the beach across the motel I saw the sign: Vacancy. I came in to ask why and someone told me: I think the cancelled. We have been thee three years in a row, but now, the things have changed, it is not possible to talk to Ray directly anymore. He doesn't answer to the phone or the e-mail. Too bad, I think it is the beginning of the end.
Marie-Paule from Montreal,Canada

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marie-paule2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've stayed here many times over the past few summers, and love it here! I think its one of the best places in the Cape to stay. The location is great its steps from the beach, and the staff is great. The rooms are very cozy and always clean. I strongly recommend the Ocean View and will return again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I were looking for a place to get away over the weekend between Christmas and New Years this year. We wanted something that was cute, clean, on the beach, and wouldn't break the bank. We discovered the Ocean View Motel and based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did.

The Ocean View is across the street from Craigville Beach and offers a broad, panoramic view of the ocean. We stayed in the Vineyard room ($119/night), which provides views of the ocean on three sides and has a balcony. The room is nicely decorated and definitely leaves you feeling like you are at the beach. The walls are pretty thin and we could hear our neighbor but most of the time it was pretty quiet. The staff weren't around much but were very helpful when we saw them and the owner was friendly and always a phone call away.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would happily return for another visit.

Room Tip: There are interior pictures of the rooms on the Ocean View Motel website. The second floor rooms ar...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My boyfriend Patrick and I returned yesterday from our weekend at the Ocean View Motel. We just wanted to take a minute to extend our thanks for such a nice experience. Our long weekend at your motel was planned far in advance, and very much needed when the time came. The staff made it even more enjoyable by offering suggestions for what to do in the area, and accommodating a spontaneous extra night's stay. We truly appreciate your kindness and hospitality, and have already decided to plan an extra long stay in May to celebrate Patrick's completion of graduate school. An extra thank you to Jeanine for the cruise passes and to Ray for being so pleasant. It certainly didn't go unnoticed, and we'll be recommending your motel to our friends and family. We look forward to our stay next summer!

Thanks again,

Kelly & Patrick

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJFlaps34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
6.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
6.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
611 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
3.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,269 reviews
7.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Address: 966 Craigville Beach Rd, P.O. Box 458, Centerville, MA 02632-3545
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Centerville
Price Range: £89 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming place where every room has a water view. The Ocean View offers a unique experience to our guests with access to Craigvile Beach on beautiful Nantucket Sound only footsteps away. Considered to be Cape Cod's most popular beach, Craigville Beach is a long wide strand of soft sand perfect for walking. Warm water temperatures, averaging 72 degrees, and gentle swells make for ideal swimming. Our Centerville location places us in the midst of some of the Cape's most popular and historical attractions. All right outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Hotel Centerville
Ocean View Motel Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing