We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My girlfriend and I booked one night's stay in the Captain Baker room for a short trip after our college finals ended. We were greeted warmly by Rick and Tom, who are incredibly gracious hosts. They even called to tell us that the light over their sign went out, as we were travelling at night. The place is pretty easy to get to, but we appreciated their concern. The entire inn was done up for Christmas and everything looked so cute. I personally admire attention to detail and you could tell that they have put a lot of effort into the inn. The old house is beautiful, but very cozy and intimate, which is something you can't really get at a hotel. We had a lot of questions upon our arrival and they answered all of them. They had wonderful recommendations for places to eat and knew the surrounding areas extremely well. I informed them that my girlfriend is a vegetarian, and when we ate breakfast, I was pleased to discover that her dietary needs were respected. We both enjoyed a wonderful vegetable strata, fresh fruit, and homemade scones (made fresh by Rick, who really knows his way around a scone!) All of these accommodations and little details made the stay even more perfect than I had originally intended. It was completely worth it--even for an off-season visit! Book your stay now!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
329
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I drove to the Cape to rejoin with my "other" family for this past Christmas 2011. They knew Rick and Tom and helped me book a room with them at the Captain David Kelly House. The website is just as great as the experience there. I stayed for 2 nights, solo. The house Christmas decoratrions were what I wish I'd had time to do at home and I felt very much "in the season". My room was on the 2nd floor facing north (I think), and quiet (as was the town) and Oh! so comfortable! The flat-screen was displaying a roaring fireplace. I could go to CNN, but that was out of the question being the Holiday Season.
My past read on B&B's has been, "well, that's just what you got: a Bed and a Breakfast." Not so here. Wifi in the room, a great common room, and, yes, breakfast. Here the breakfast is a meal with Rick and Tom dualing for the best scones: Saturday morning was Tom's Chocolate-Orange, (like that candy chocolate-orange thing you crack open on Christmas Morning). And a fantastic brocolli/red pepper quiche - Christmas green and red? The next day was Rick's Cranberry/White Chocolate Scone. Tough call. Their scone competition was their banter over the breakfast table, involving all of the guests weighting in. Sorry, Tom: I am going for Rick's Cranberry/White Chocolate scone and hope saying that, I can return. Monday's French Toast was "just like Mom made it" - great bread with a rich, custardy texture made complete with real (VT) maple syrup. The coffee is killer!
I do not know about Centerville at all as nothing was going on as I saw and I was visiting friends nearby. This B&B was a fantastic experience for one who generally shies away from B&B's. Rick and Tom were great hosts and I highly recommend their stellar, historic B&B.
NOTE: when I say historic,that's the charming house itself. The guest accommodations are totally current and great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were so happy with our stay during our Honeymoon in October 2011 at the Captain David Kelley House. Everything was absolutely perfect, and the service was second to none. Rick and Tom are excelent hosts and will make your visit especially catered to you. You will not be disappointed. Thank you, Dustin & Jesse

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dravland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As an innkeeper, it is always fun to see what other innkeepers are doing. The CDK House was warm, inviting, and oh, so comfortable thanks to the care that Tom and Rick put into everything. I was lucky enough to stay on the Cape two nights and I felt as if I had been away much longer. I stayed in a first floor room with a king bed. The bed linens were tasteful and the bed most comfortable. Upon returning to Vermont I have recommended CDK House several times to guests that were headed down to the Cape. Well done, Tom and Rick!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We just celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at the Captain David Kelley B & B. Now I am trying to think of other holidays or opportunities to stay there again. Tom and Rick are by far the best innkeepers we have ever come across, and we have stayed in many a bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were superb, the rooms beautiful and supremely comfortable, the whole inn a delight. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had the most fantastic stay in this wonderful B&B in Centreville, The location was superb, the hosts Rick and Tom (and Stephen) were amazing and could not have done more to help us. The rooms were delightful, the chocolates at bedtime were a lovely touch and the breakfasts were excellent. A highlight was Rick's french toast - superb!! The scone wars were hilarious and resulted in some fantastic scones. Relaxing in the evening in the beautiful lounge or on the porch was just what was needed after a busy day exploring the amazing Cape Cod. We would recommend Captain David Kelley House to everyone - it was perfect!!

Room Tip: We had Captain Kelley room and our friends had the Captain Baker room, both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylittleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I immediately felt welcome and comfortable at the Captain David Kelley House. We stayed three nights and wished we had more time. Pat greeted us the first day and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. Tom and Rick arrived and made us feel even more at home - not to mention they made fabulous scones for breakfast! We also appreciated the perfect guidance to a bike trail and bike rental shop and another great restaurant recommendation. The lovely room, good shower, central location, fresh fruit every morning and large screen porches all added to the experience. We will be back any time we make it to Cape Cod. Kate and Al.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
363 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
819 reviews
13.7 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#5 of 10 in Brewster
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing