We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raising the bar for B&B's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Raising the bar for B&B's”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the CDK House and it was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast. It was one of the best places we stayed as well as the best decision to stay in this location. Rick & Tom were the one's who made our entire stay enjoyable. They were entertaining, accomodating, considerate, and most of all caring. CDK House was clean as it was comfortable (and I am very picky). A great place to forget about everything else in the world. I would, without a doubt, stay here again and we cant wait to go back for more Scone Wars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
326
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Tom and Rick have done a wonderful job restoring and decorating this lovely old house. We stayed there for three nights and felt welcomed and at home. Our room was large and comfortable and had all the modern conveniences, including wi-fi. Our hosts were all really helpful and obviously love the Cape. They gave us great tips on what to see and do. The breakfasts were delicious, and they were very accommodating to my husband's dietary restrictions. They went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Capt. David Kelley House from 9/16 to 9/21/12. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. The hosts, Tom and Rick, are just great! The food was wonderful, the B&B is just beautiful. We also liked that this B&B was centrally located - very easy access to Provincetown, Martha's Vineyard or Plymouth! We had a wonderful week here and would definitely recommend this B&B for a stay in Cape Cod.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Capt. David Kelley Room - it had a king sized bed. Very comfortable! A beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My sisters and I just spent a long weekend at the CDK House and we loved every minute of it. The house and accommodations are charming and comfortable, and the landscaping around the house is beautiful. Tom and Rick are the most entertaining and personable innkeepers we have ever met - they made us feel more like family or friends that like hotel guests. Their breakfasts - and their good-natured scone wars - were a treat also. On a scale of 1 to 5, I would rate this B&B a 6! Yes, it's that good, and I hope to have a chance to stay here again someday.

Room Tip: The Patience Room was perfect for 3 adults (a queen bed and 2 twins), had lots of windows, and enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ4Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Had a delightful stay at CDK with my two sisters. Our hosts, Rick and Tom were very entertaining and gave us same great tips on touring and dining in the area. Lovely B&B, delicious breakfasts and fantastic scones created by these two jovial hosts. My only complaint was the Wi-Fi wasn't readily available in our room, probably due to the location of the router. We just had to use the lobby for our internet access which was a little inconvenient. Otherwise it was a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be4mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

As their sign says 'Another day in paradise'.
A pleasure to stay here. Hosts are so accommodating.
only 2 down points, I had a plastic topped mattress protector on my bed, and if you like to stay up past 11pm then you cannot use the lounge as you may disturb other guests as noise travels'

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear crystal f, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love hearing guests' comments, and we're happy you found your stay at CDK House a pleasure. It is our goal to create a warm, welcoming and peaceful environment for our guests to enjoy ~ our 11pm closure of the common room helps us to ensure every guest a restful night's sleep. Thank you also for bringing the plastic-lined mattress pad to our attention. We strive to provide a high quality sleep experience while maintaining the highest sanitary standards. Upon completing our product research, we replaced any plastic-lined mattress pads with the latest waterproof fiber protective covers. We think you will be pleased with the change. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Cape Cod!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at CDK. I stayed here for 3 nights in the Rachel Room. Great for a single person traveling alone with just the amount ouf privacy and quiet that I was looking for. Rick and Tom are great hosts and made me feel very welcomed. They are truly gifted at paying attention to all the details.
The location is excellent to anywhere needed to get to on the Cape. Craigville beach is down the road. Four Seas Ice Cream is located right around the corner. Don't miss stopping by for some delicious homemade ice cream.
A full breakfast with scones, fresh fruit and their daily choice was plenty to get me going for the day. Apple pancakes, cheese omeltte with broccoli and red peppers and waffles with fruit were delicious.
Without hesitation, I highly recommend this B&B and would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
3.4 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing