We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I could not have been happier to have found this bed and breakfast in Centerville. We unfortunately only were able to stay one night, but Rock and Tom made the stay very enjoyable. They were both very friendly and accommodating, and as all the other reviews have stated, they make a wonderful breakfast! The rooms were clean and charming, and the patio outside where they served breakfast was just beautiful. If we ever get a chance to go back, we know where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

It just occured to me, when booking another stay in Centerville that I never took the time to post a review. Shame on me! My husband and I stayed at CDK last Thanksgiving and Rick & Tom were fabulous hosts and could not have been more accomodating. They not only made us feel wecome but made us feel like part of the family! (Tom's family was in town for the Thanksgiving Holiday and they were all very gracious!)
We had the Captain Kelley room on the first floor which was very spacious. The bed is a beautiful four poster king bed that is also very comfortable. The bathroom is a little tight but unless you are a 6'4" circus bear on skates, that shouldn't be an issue.
We are so excited to be able to stay at CDK again this year. Not for the convenient location and cozy, inviting rooms but for the SCONES!! Don't make any lunch plans while you stay here as the wonderful breakfasts that Rick & Tom prepare will be plenty to sustain you for a day of sightseeing on the Cape.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely. Check out the picture gallery on their website to view and decide which room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at CDK the beginning of September and we loved this " home away from home." Tom and Rick are gracious hosts and every attention to detail has been met at this wonderful B&B. We highly recommend a visit to CDK-We cant wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had an absolutely phenomenal time at the Captain David Kelley House. Tom and Rick are wonderful, kind, caring and meticulous hosts. They made us feel welcome and at ease from the moment we arrived, and the entire experience could not have gone more smoothly. If you're a traveler reading this, looking for a wonderful B&B on Cape Cod, this is it. Go. You won't regret it.

We stayed in the Phebe Room and loved it. The room was sweet and charming and the bed was very comfortable. We had a beautiful view from the big window at the back of the room.

Breakfast each morning was delicious and beautifully presented. Tom and Rick have a lot of fun with their "Scone Wars" and it shows. The guests get the benefit of amazing scones every day, which, is a big benefit because Rick and Tom make some very, very good scones! I should also mention that breakfast is served on their beautiful screened in porch that overlooks their lovely yard. In fact, the entire B&B is lovely. The house is gorgeous inside and out, and the landscaping is a treat to look at as well.

Staying at the Captain David Kelley House made our trip to Cape Cod a very enjoyable and memorable one. Running the B&B is truly a labor of love for Tom and Rick. We will certainly be back for future stays. I don't think we'd even consider staying anywhere else. So, thank you so much to our new friends, Tom and Rick! We had a wonderful time and will be back soon!

Room Tip: We loved the Phebe Room! It was quiet, cozy and very comfortable. But I'm sure travelers can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Modernly renovated beautiful building with historic flair and very special rooms. Excellent breakfast including very personal and welcoming integration through the two wonderful hosts. This has been a very special, relaxing and just wonderful experience! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From the moment we arrived our experience was outstanding. Tom made us feel at home telling us about the B&B. He was helpful in providing incredible restaurant suggestions. Both Tom & Rick did everything they could to ensure our first experience on Cape Cod was fantastic. The breakfasts were not only delicious but entertaining, too. A first rate experience...Tom & Rick's service could not be better...they definitely make you want to return since it's impossible to decide whose scones really are better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were planning for an escape from busy day by day, and we were looking for a sunny place near the beach. Unfortunatelly the weather was terrible but still we decided to go, and we made the best bet to choose CDK house! It is homy and friendly, extremely confortable, and the hosts are just wonderful: carying, attentious, not invasive too. And they prepared such a funny experience for breakfast!! Try it, you will NOT forget it :) full of surprises! We definitely want to go back :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAOS_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
370 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
433 reviews
15.6 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
19.2 mi away
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
A Little Inn on Pleasant Bay
#1 of 1 in South Orleans
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range: £127 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, free WI-FI, hair dryers. Each room is uniquely decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minute ride away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing