We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Star (and Stars) of the Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Star (and Stars) of the Cape”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If it were possible would give this place 10 stars. Great village location but close enough to get to everything on the Cape (also very near a great beach). We had 'toured' for 3 weeks using various B&B's but this was without doubt the best both for the type of accommodation and the hosts. The place is a true palace of luxury. Tom and Rick were the perfect hosts. The scone wars at breakfast have become the stuff of legends, I won't spoil the fun asyou have to experience it yourself but if they were to sell the recipes it would be a best selling book!

Room Tip: anyone of them, we had the Rachel, be warned you need a step ladder to reach the bed its so high and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
334
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned from the best weekend away.... Don't look at another B&B in the Hyannis area... This is the perfect place...in every way. The house and rooms are meticulously clean and we'll appointed. Every detail is amazing... Your hosts Tom and Rick are warm, friendly and truly make you feel a part of their home. They embrace you as a new friend and when you leave you will shortly be planning your next visit. The breakfasts are delicious... Yummy scones!!! If I could give a 10 I would .... We will be back many many times... Thank you Tom and Rick...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent three nights at Captain David Kelley in September as part of our honeymoon (we had the chance to stay either in the Captain Baker Room and in the Rachel Room).
Rick and Tom are lovely, they welcame us and made us feel like at home! Everything in the house is lovely and tidy, the rooms are big and equipped with all the comforts. Breakfast was great! Rick and Tom are great cooks (we tasted the best scones ever!).
They were always helpful and did their best to meet all our needs!

Thank you so much, we had a very great time with you and really enjoyed our trip… As Tom said, we hope our roads will cross again!
Andrea & Annalisa (Italy)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This review is long overdue (sorry Rick and Tom!). We enjoyed out first stay at the Captain David Kelley House this past August, and will definitely be back again. This charming bed and breakfast is laid back, beautifully maintained and has all of the modern conveniences. Perfect place to stay, and we toted our parents along with us who also enjoyed their stay. A+ Rick and Tom--thank you for being such wonderful hosts!! The scone war must go on!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong... Beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxKSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Mids UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The house is charming, we had the Rachel room which is beautifully furnished and the location of the house is good.

Hosts Tom and Rick are great and could not be more helpful. Great advice was given as to where to go and what to see. We took Tom's advice and went to Martha's Vineyard and had an amazing day. Tom went as far as lending us his own map so we could find our way there and back.

Breakfast is an event. I won't spoil the surprise, but it is not to be missed.

You will have to decide for yourselves who bakes the best scones; we are a divided household. Tom has my vote, but Rick gets the vote from the other half.

All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our sojourn on Cape Cod at the Capt. David Kelley House. The ambiance, the hosts, the accommodations (and the weather) were all superb! We were made to feel very welcome and quite at home immediately upon our arrival and that sense of 'belonging" continued throughout our four day stay. The breakfasts were outstanding (and both chefs of scones outdid themselves) as well as entertaining! The bed was more than comfortable, the house quiet. The hosts, Tom and Rick, were awesome and genuinely wonderful people! They offered to make any dining reservations we wanted, had coupons for some of the better restaurants in the area, and were very knowledgeable about places to go and see (we were familiar with the area, however). We could not have asked for a better stay and beautiful accommodations, more agreeable hosts (who apparently LOVE what they do and communicate that), or better Cape Cod autumn weather. We would highly recommend this delightful (and delish!) B & B to anyone traveling in the area. It is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m2teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, I was at first wary. WOW!! My room was cozy, beautifully decorated. The bed very comfy, and the atmosphere warm and very friendly. The breakfasts were an adventure with the yummy food and the funny scone war. (Rick and Tom take turns making the scones.) The costumes and jokes start off your day with laughter in a beautiful setting that makes you want to just move in permanently. Rick and Tom were very accommodating, answering questions and providing breakfast early to accommodate our schedule. We were so busy taking in all the tourist stuff, I wished I could have spent time just relaxing in this amazing house. If I ever venture back to the Cape, I will surely stay at the Captain David Kelley House. I do think September is a great time to go. Weather was great and it wasn't overly crowded. I can't say enough. Kathy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
3.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
338 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing