We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Me and my son had a perfect stay here. We were well taken care of by Rick and Tom. It was like coming to a home rather than a hotel. We felt very much at home. The rooms were nice and clean. We had the Alexander suite with a bathroom in common.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
316
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Linda and I stayed at the CDK House in September 2013 and could not have picked a more welcoming and entertaining pair of hosts than Rick and Tom. The accommodation was simply superb. Breakfast was something else, with the sconefest and competition a wonderfully entertaining (and tasty) start to the day. Nothing was too much trouble, and the guys were on hand with great advice about things to do and see and places to eat. That advice never disappointed. Thanks for a wonderful stay guys - your reputation as the best place to stay in Centerville is well deserved!

Room Tip: none of the rooms will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faddyfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and very appreciative of your glowing review! The Scone Competition is still going strong! It keeps things fresh and fun; Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

(Hope you all sang that title!) :)
I mean it when I say this place is the best. It is just so beautiful and typically what us Aussies think of as Cape Cod style and what we have seen in the American country magazines for years!
My mother has dreamt of traveling through New England for about 30 years or so...experiencing the places, vistas and people.
Our expectations were completely surpassed here...we were blown away by the beauty of it all and the sheer joyous and welcoming nature of the delightful duo, Rick and Tom! :) You can tell they love what they do and they love people. They are just naturally friendly and approachable and would do pretty much anything in their power to make your stay what you need it to be.
We stayed three nights and my husband and I plan on returning sometime to do it all again! (I must say also that we had a lot of luggage with 4 in our party and Rick assisted greatly with taking luggage upstairs for us - no questions asked. Just superb.)
The rooms were huge and beautiful. Perfect decoration and little touches around. The ensuites were great and the shower pressure awesome! The proximity also to the quaint general store was also a bonus for some shopping!
The "scone wars" is a must experience. (I videoed the performances each morning thankfully so it will be great fun to show them all to friends and family.) Just a wonderful enhancement to an already great experience. Us Aussies think you are 'just great mates' and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. xx (Nik, Lloyd, Carol and Greg)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rachael room. Wonderful with own back entrance if required. Also the Alexander suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikpumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful weekend at the Captain David Kelley House. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. I felt like I was at home. The best part was the delicious breakfast served by Rick & Tom, along with a little skit or some piano tunes. I certainly will go back in the near future.Thank you Rick & Tom for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was "flying solo" for the first time in many years and actually considered staying in a commercial hotel on the Cape rather than a B&B. I was concerned there would be little privacy and only couples at breakfast. My fears were unfounded. Rick and Tom, from the moment I called to inquire about a reservation, couldn't have been more easy going and welcoming. Their home mirrors their warmth, their attention to detail, and their engaging sense of fun! Whether you are arriving alone or as part of a large group, they remember your name, email you ahead of arrival about your room and why they think it will be perfect just for you, and they are available for your questions/requests, yet they know how to ensure your privacy. I stayed in the Phoebe Room - the view of the distant hills was stunning - the bed was sumptuous in its simplicity, providing a peaceful night's sleep, and freshly brewed coffee wafted up the narrow staircase in the morning to greet me. If heaven is anything like this, sign me up!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking up narrow flights of stairs, tell Rick and Tom you will need to reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rick and Tom.......you have done it right!!
I have stayed in many B&B's around the country (and Europe).....this is one of the finest!
What a great house, super rooms and the breakfast's......wow, is what comes to mind.
The house is centrally located on the cape, seems like we were only minutes from everywhere we wanted to go.
Tom and Rick were so very helpful with places to go, dinners and anything that one might need.
We will be back for sure on our next trip to the area.
Thanks guys!!

(and Tom.....you won)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My friend and I were doing an Autumn New England road trip and the Captain David Kelley House was one of our first destinations, and our BEST destination. We stayed in the suite. Both rooms were cozy and comfy. The house is really a HOME; the decor is comfortable and beautiful. The details, cleanliness, and quality were top notch. I felt like I've known Rick and Tom as friends for a long time. They are so much fun and just so kind and full of JOY! I adore them. Breakfast and the scone wars were fantastic...the food was excellent; I've never had such perfectly cooked poached eggs. The scones were yummy...yes, both, I can't take sides! One morning it rained so we spent our time sitting in the living room. Rather than being sad that our morning plans didn't pan out, we instead enjoyed a relaxing much needed time-out in a thoroughly pleasant home. I highly recommend the Captain David Kelley House...except, please don't book when I want to go back! :o)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyhasfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
3.4 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing