We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, MA
2 reviews
“A Step back in time”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It was our first visit and we felt like we had stepped back in time to when life was a bit slower and elegant. Our hosts greeted us like friends who were coming for a visit. Rick and Tom are warm and funny and after being shown around we settled in the Patience room. It is beautifully decorated with period furniture and such a comfortable bed. Breakfast on both mornings was just wonderful with fresh fruit,and amazing scones. Their home is decorated with great care and attention and conveniently located for exploring the area. . We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Do not think that you can go wrong in your choice. Stairs might be the only consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
316
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Love staying here. We stayed over the valentine weekend.
It is so nice to come into a place and be greeted like you are family. The location is close to many shops and points of interest, The staff is very helpful with things to do while you stay on cape cod.


Room Tip: We have stayed 2 different rooms in the 2 times that we stayed at CDK. We find that we like the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've been to the Captain David Kelley House twice. This time was over Valentine's Day weekend. We got snowed in and loved it. The inn and the area is so beautiful in the snow. Rick and Tom always make sure everyone feels comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two rooms there. While both were nice, I do have a favorite. I'm afraid to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The four of us traveled all the way to Cape Cod from our home in Europe to visit my father on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Given our short stay, we wanted a place that would capture the essence of old New England while offering comfort, elegance, and a convenient location. The Captain David Kelley House and its wonderful hosts more than fulfilled our every expectation. The meticulously restored house, its beautiful furniture, the hosts' extraordinary attention to detail, the sumptuous breakfasts, and the elegant yet absolutely relaxing atmosphere of this outstanding B&B made our stay simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seacaptain539, Owner at Captain David Kelley House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! Your feedback is important to us, and we're glad to know you enjoyed your stay in the Alexander Suite. We loved spending time with you and your girlfriends, and are looking forward to the next Girl's Weekend Getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

No need to look further for a B&B on Cape Cod. Elegant yet incredibly inviting and comfortable. The most charming hosts. A scrumptious breakfast. I only wish I could have stayed longer. As my stay was business related and only for one night, I am so looking forward to returning with my husband for a "pleasure" stay (and sampling the offerings from the opposing side of the "scone wars"...).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a charming place and a wonderful winter getaway. We went for New Years and we were so happy that we found this lovely, quaint bed and breakfast. The room was clean and fresh and also comfortable. Rick & Tom clearly take pride in their home. They were wonderful hosts as they served delicious breakfasts in the mornings and left us chocolates at night. There were 2 other couples who were interesting company to eat with at breakfast and we were all well fed but also entertained by Rick and Tom's scone wars and their chef get ups!
I'm so glad we found Captain David Kelley House. It was in a great location. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Captain David Kelley House is a beautiful, warm, homey destination. We were there late Nov. Rick and Tom are the ultimate hosts. They made us feel welcome without intruding. We stayed in the Patience Room, it's newly renovated & gorgeous, with all the amenities - flat screen tv, comfy, cozy chairs and bed linens and of course chocolates every night! Coffee and tea are always available in the foyer. Breakfast is a lot of fun with the famous SCONE WARS. Delightful! Definitely would go back and encourage you to try it. We hope to go back when the weather is warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne52252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,034 reviews
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
807 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
3.4 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia and HRS so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing