We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain David Kelley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Centerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Captain David Kelly House for a wedding in May and we could not have been happier with the Inn--it is now or favorite. The hosts could not have been more welcoming. They have lovingly restored the house and paid attention to every detail. We stayed in the Patience room, which is bright and beautiful. The bed was so comfortable with wonderful down pillows. They even had local chocolates by your bed at night. Nothing, however, could have been more fun than the "scone wars" and presentations in the morning--I say they both make the best scones I have had! It puts a smile on my face just remembering what a great time we all had at breakfast each day. I can't wait to go back and see Rick and Tom.

Room Tip: Loved the Patience Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
329
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We just got home from a second to the wonderful Captain David Kelley House. When we decided that a trip to the Cape was in order, we didn't even think about staying anywhere else. We absolutely love Tom and Rick and this B&B.

We stayed in the Rachel room, where one can only wake up happy. Happiness is really the only option here - the room is beautiful and we woke up each morning to sunshine, fresh air, gentle music, and the thought of the scones that were in our immediate future.

Just like our last visit, everything was smooth, easy, relaxing and an overall wonderful experience. Rick and Tom are wonderful hosts who truly love what they do and it shows. Tom and Rick really make the experience, but there is a beautiful house and delicious breakfasts to enjoy as well! Tom and Rick and as kind, friendly, and accommodating as hosts could be. I'm really not sure that there is a better B&B experience out there to be had.

If you're thinking of staying at the Captain David Kelley House, do it. You will have a wonderful time and you will make two new, awesome friends. We will definitely be back. There is no where else on Cape Cod where we could consider staying. Since I like math, I think the following sums things up:

Rick & Tom + CDK House + You = HAPPINESS

I'd give them 10 stars if tripadvisor allowed it :)

Room Tip: We've stayed in Phoebe and Rachel. We loved both of them! They're both beautiful and calmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
634 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Got Karma? Check. Got history? Check. Got Character? Check. Got Pizzazz? Check. Got Sass? Check? Got Soul? Check. Got Pampering? Check. Music? Yep. Scones? OOOHHH YEA. ZUMBA? YOU BETCHA! This is a place for relaxing, or Fun, like a party in a box. Or entertainment. Like a super funky reality show in a Cape Cod setting. Rick and Tom's love for people, life and their craft are knit tightly into every nook and cranny of their renovation in motion, the customer service details, the abundance of hospitality, charm, camaraderie. LOVE. Simply LOVE. You come for some R&R, and you leave with so much more! There is so much seemingly "effortless" care in every detail. Perfectly located, walking distance from country stores, ice cream, shops. Minimal drive to the beach. Rick and Tom outdo, out smart, out scone each other DAILY, with TLC banter, and never ending smiles - friendly is a bland adjective. You are truly treated like royalty, so easy to get lost in a world of make believe! IMMACULATELY CLEAN. Super comfortable beds, linens, fluffy towels. Bring your booze, and they will serve it. Need a reservation? They'll make it. Need an umbrella? They provide it. Beach chairs/towels/cooler for you to fill? NOT A PROBLEM. Want to zumba? Ask - Rick FABULOUS instructor. Want to read? there are books galore and nooks to plant yourself ANYWHERE. Want to play piano? Help yourself. International? Your flag will greet you when you arrive. Chocolate on your night stand (milk, white or dark, you chose). Want tea or coffee- always available. Bought your snacks? They have a fridge. EVERY LITTLE DETAIL you can think about. Cape Cod experience the way it should be. A B&B that sets a standard. It is a place you will want to come back for many many many more retreats. And treats. And fall in love with Rick and Tom over and over again - seriously - their charm and karma will disarm you at the welcome mat. Don't say you didn't see it coming - I TOLD YOU SO! Can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a luxurious 4 nights and three days at Captain David Kelly's Bed and Breakfast in Centerville, Ma on Cape Cod. My husband and I went to Cape Cod for a wedding so I was looking for a nice place to stay but found so much more. You have to start with the owners Rick and Tom who have mastered the fine art of hospitality and service. Each of them has their own unique sense of humor so in addition to the comfy beds and warm bathrobes there is lots of laughing. It was totally a blast to get to know them. Each of the seven available rooms is beautifully decorated with antiques, and artwork that tie into the nautical history of the house and the area. The rooms have their own style and personality as well. The house and the garden are charming and make you feel like you live there instead of just visiting. Wait until you experience the Scone Wars! Both Rick and Tom are amazing cooks. Every morning you will enjoy a three course breakfast the highlight of which are the delicious, homemade scones. Their presentation is fabulous and usually involves some singing or comedy routine. I couldn't wait to find out each morning not only the flavor of scone we were being treated to but the show that would accompany it. They definitely found their calling. Rick and Tom are quite competitive about who makes the best scones so this made the morning that more enjoyable. If you're going to Cape Cod set your sights on Captain David Kelly's Bed and Breakfast. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for four nights and absolutely loved our stay! Rick and Tom truly have the “gift of hospitality” plus they are just fun to be around. The house is immaculately decorated (and clean) and they have thought of every detail to make guests comfortable. The mattress, the soft sheets, the fluffy towels, plush robes, fancy toiletries and the tasteful furnishings were all five stars caliber. (One very tiny complaint is that they didn't provide conditioner, maybe you have to ask for it.)

We stayed in the Patience Room on the second floor. It was huge and sunny with nice windows on three walls. As late sleepers we liked being away from the bustle of breakfast in the morning. The room faces the front but the road noise was not an issue and we are fairly sensitive.There was a little noise from a nearby church bell that chimes late at night but it has a very short chime and it didn’t keep us awake.

Tom and Rick accommodated our time and food preferences and the delicious three course breakfasts served on vintage china were delightful! The scone presentations were a hoot and we enjoyed our conversations with other guests. The “breakfast experience” was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Centerville is not really a destination town but we loved the quiet residential location, beautiful landscaping and that it was centrally located on the Cape. We highly recommend staying at this lovely B & B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patience Room on the second floor. It was huge and sunny with nice windows on three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

After leaving Captain Kelly B&B this morning with a final farewell from Rick & Tom it really helps to start your day with a smile. The garden and house is beautiful and the breakfast entertainment and food is fantastic. With equally good scones from both you will enjoy your stay here. We loved Cape Cod and the Captain David Kelly B&B and will certainly recommend to our friends albeit in Australia, thank you! The Australian flag out the front during our stay was a great touch.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cccsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayside, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at CDK for the weekend. Our room was beautifully decorated and we loved having our own private porch. Rick and Tom are the perfect hosts. We enjoyed talking with them and with other guests. Breakfast was great, including the presentation and "delivery". We're still trying to decide which morning had the better scones. The whole experience was relaxing and fun. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Captain Baker room on the first floor with a private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centerville
3.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
15.6 mi away
Captain's Manor Inn
Captain's Manor Inn
#1 of 9 in Falmouth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Dell Inn
Long Dell Inn
#2 of 6 in Centerville
331 reviews
6.1 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
820 reviews
13.7 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain David Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain David Kelley House

Property: Captain David Kelley House
Address: 539 Main St, Centerville, MA 02632-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Centerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Centerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain David Kelley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you: Sea Captain David Kelley built this gracious Greek Revival House in 1835. Architectural gem featuring hardwood floors, crown moldings, and wainscoting. Three screened porches overlook beautifully landscaped yard/gardens. Listed on National Register of Historic Places, the inn offers six beautiful guest rooms with private baths, A/C, Cable TV/DVD, wi-fi, alarm clock radios, hair dryers. Each room decorated with oriental carpets, nautical art, and antiques. Beautiful Craigville Beach is just a walk down the street, Hyannis and Barnstable are a 10 minutes away. After a day (or evening) of fun, escape to your own private oasis at Captain David Kelley House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Captain David Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain David Kelley House Centerville, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing