We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced. Big disappointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seas Ice Cream

Four Seas Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Centerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Cash Only, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1934, Four Seas has provided Cape Cod with the finest ice cream and customer service. An old blacksmith shop turned ice cream parlor is where, you can sit on stools at the counter or at a dining room table. Old-fashioned ice cream sodas, frappes, and ice cream flavors like ginger, penuche pecan, cookie do, fresh peach, and black raspberry. Four Seas has been winning national and local competitions for decades, and has been named in the top ten ice creams in the country by several publications. We are committed to working with customers’ needs, from delivery options to unique flavors created especially for a specific company. Many local restaurants, ice cream stores, beach clubs, caterers, golf clubs, and local markets purchase wholesale 3 gallon tubs, toppings, cones, and/or quarts. Off-Season hours 11-5 Wednesday thru Sundays for quarts, toppings, and ice cream cakes.
Fletcher, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over priced. Big disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We've been going to Katie's and Sundae School for years, but decided to go to Four Seas after reading reviews. We were very disappointed. They are over priced ($9 for banana split) and inside was dirty. I got an ice cream cookie sandwich that I couldn't eat for 1/2 hour it was so frozen. We will not be returning to Four Seas. Go to Sundae School instead if you are looking for a great ice cream and experience at a better value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    54
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
386 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

After this place was featured on the Food Network several years ago we tried it several times. Ice cream was ok, but the portions were small and overpriced. No room to maneuver once you are in. There are far better places for ice cream on the Cape.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnscommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAFAYETTE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster Sandwich and Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

After a morning of clamming, our host suggested we grab a bite from Four Seas. Ice Cream is excellent. Large portions and unique flavors. My husband swears by the lobster sandwich. We had to go there twice during our 2 full days at the Cape. If you are in the area you have to stop at the Fours Seas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KELBELLFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The ice cream at Four Seas is tasty. But there is not a lot of indoor seating so we ate ours in the parking lot. They had no sprinkles, which disappointed my 5 year old. We likely will not return and will instead find a place where we can sit inside or in a nice outdoor area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bklyn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasIceCream, Owner at Four Seas Ice Cream, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It's tough to add seats to a 120 year old building and 79 years as an ice cream shop. Zoning laws prohibit it w/o completely changing the building. Sorry we don't do sprinkles! We don't believe in putting WAX on our ice cream. Look at any Rainbow Jimmies or sprinkles ingredients and the first 2 ingredients are WAX and corn syrup. If you want a tasty topping on the ice cream, we have over 20 different choices and hundreds of combos. If you come back we'll give you a taste of the hot fudge, much more tasty then the sprinkles. Thanks, D&P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

A friend recommend us to visit while we were in Cape Cod. The Ice Cream was OK. I have had better ice cream. The Crab sandwich however was outstanding. T- shirts, sweatshirts are over priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine8841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Seas Ice Cream also viewed

Centerville, Cape Cod
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Four Seas Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing