We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Charming Motel”
Review of Red Rose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlemont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Rose Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlemont
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great place to stay in Charlemont. Close to rafting on the Deerfield in summer, and skiing in the winter. Good pool in summer, clean. Owned and opeaterated by friendly local family, well priced. I recommend if you like a more personal experience and clean, modest accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milkbonehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great people, and very helpful. Specifically, I had forgotten some items in my room and they took the time to follow up to confirm the address and mail them back to me.
The room was bright and the sheets clean. Prices were reasonable.
Good information was available about local attractions.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Bronwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Before deciding to stay at the Red Rose Motel, ask yourself this:

Q: "How do I feel about 1950s roadside motels?"

Multiple Choice:
A. Kitschy charm is so retro and fun! It's like traveling back in time!
B. I don't really care, as long as the room is relatively clean and not too pricey.
C. 1950s motel rooms are fine as long as they've been updated with all-new everything.

If you answered A or B, you'll be absolutely charmed by the Red Rose Motel. If you answered C, keep on driving. The Red Rose is a no-frills, inexpensive place to stop on the Mohawk Trail. It isn't actually IN Shelburne Falls, but it is close enough to visit Shelburne Falls easily while staying there. When you check in you will be greeted by the owner with a very warm smile and a sincere handshake welcoming you to the establishment. I walked out of the office with a huge smile on my face feeling like I'd been welcomed into their family.

I also thought it was super cool that they still have those huge plastic motel keychains on the room keys and a buzzing fluorescent light fixture in the bathroom straight out of the late 50's. Yes, the furniture was dingy and worn, the bed was kind of flat, and the knobs on the A/C unit were broken off (we had to move the bed in order to plug in the air conditioner to turn it on). But it's a safe, clean and very convenient place to stop along Route 2, and that's exactly what we were looking for the night we stopped here. There's also an outdoor pool on site (which we did not get to use) and a great view of a beautiful green meadow out the back window.

So, in short, whether you should stay here or not depends on your personal expectations. If you're looking for an adventure or a trip back in time, the Red Rose Motel may be just the place! If you want modern amenities and all the comforts of the new millennium, it's probably not a good fit for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The motel is an adequate stopover while touring the Mohawk Trail and Shelburne Falls. During our one-night stay, it was clear that it was perfect lodging location for Deerfield River kayakers. The staff was very friendly throughout the reservation, check-in, and checkout process. The grounds included what looked like a nice swimming pool and a volley ball court. Our two-bed room was equipped with a large flat screen offering a very good choice of channels, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a somewhat noisy air conditioner, a couple of chairs, but was basically clean. The bathroom needed some attention in cleanliness and caulking and grout management. The mattresses were well-used. Sleeping together in one double bed was not an option. WIFI strength was excellent. Not offering a complimentary breakfast resulted in a rate that was a somewhat high compared to similar motels. Unfortunately the absence of hot water in the morning left a disappointing final impression. Also, one photo on the web site said “Located on the Deerfield River” giving the impression the river can be seen from the motel property. This is not the case as the river is across the road behind tall foilage. Also, when searching Shelburne Falls, this motel comes up yet it is actually located in Charlemont about nine miles away. Their web site should make this clear if for no more than assisting travelers in planning lodging location.

Room Tip: This is a basic motel. We estimate all rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have stayed at the Red Rose a bunch of times since 2007 and its a great little quiet place to stay if you dont want to pay $150 a night . Laura is a wonderful good hearted person and her son Aldo is very nice too.Must say they are two of the nicest friendliest people i have meet . Since i have been going to ski at Berkshire East the Red Rose is the place i have been staying .. Laura even let us set up a fire pit in the parking lot to stay warm on a cold winter night . The rooms are clean neat have 2 double beds, 2 comfy big chairs a table nightstand big mirror,free wifi a lot of direct tv channels mini fridge a microwave coffee, tea maker, what more can you ask for .! I do and will recommend the Red Rose to everyone ..! Mark from CT...!

Room Tip: Any room at the red rose is a good room ..! All have the same views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Not a fancy chain motel, the landlady answers the door with a toddler on her hip and a smile. Place is old but clean and bed is comfortable. Has a nice looking pool but I didn't try it. Free wireless..take that big chains. What more do you want for $78??

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank jocdocnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hubby, 17 year old son and myself stayed at the Red Rose Aug 19 - 22. We stayed in room #6. We were arriving later than scheduled so I called and said we would be in around 11p. No problem, I was told the door will be unlocked and it was. Two double beds, dorm style fridge & microwave. Mirror outside the bathroom to dry my hair as son took a shower. I was lent a hair dryer from the front desk. Nice hot shower every day; even with the 3 of us. Beds are softer than we are use to but our main problem was learning to sleep together in a double vs. King at home. Location was great - right between Shelburne Falls and Charlemont. Free WIFI (worked great). Drive 1 mile past the motel towards Charlemont and no service. People were in the pool (too refreshing for this Texan). $72 per night for the 3 of us. How can you go wrong?? I would recommend the Red Rose to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotRodToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlemont
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
233 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
17.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hawk Mountain Lodge
Hawk Mountain Lodge
#2 of 2 in Charlemont
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Red Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rose Motel

Address: 1701 Route 2, Charlemont, MA 01339
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Charlemont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlemont
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run motel overlooking the Deerfield River on the historic Mohawk Trail. We offer satellite television, free wi-fi, swimming pool, barbeque area, volleyball, horseshoe pits and in-room coffee and tea service. Numerous local outdoor activities include white water rafting, skiing, zip lining, hiking, kayaking, mountain biking, hunting, and many others. In the nearby Village of Shelburne Falls you can shop, walk across the historic bridge of Flowers and see the impressive glacial potholes. In Charlemont you can ski Berkshire East, Zip Line at the BEAST or Zoar Outdoor and enjoy the quaint town we call home. We accept pets and offer a great rate of 450.00 for a weekend to rent our Lodge. ( six bedrooms, full kitchen, full bathroom, flat screen TV, Bar and wood stove) Great for big parties and events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing