We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlemont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Warfield House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Charlemont B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in a main house and love it! Beautiful views from the front terrace, very scenic and peaceful. It is a big property with plenty of space just to take a walk around enjoying fresh air. We had omelet for breakfast made from 100% natural eggs picked in a henhouse just 50 steps way. Overall, had very pleasant experience, glad we booked.
Thank you Garry and Hillary
:)
Katia and Olga

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you want someplace quiet and interesting, this may be for you. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I think the house is very quiet anyway, but I was the only guest on two of the three nights I stayed, so that impression may not be accurate.

The rooms are also very clean and the linens fresh. I had a top floor room with stunning views. The sun in the windows in the morning was a wonderful way to wake up, and the air is bracingly fresh. The water pressure in the shower could have been more forceful, but it was certainly more than adequate. Ample amenities--extra pillows, towels, blankets, hair dryer, etc. The wifi works just fine. I didn't try the TV in the common room.

I can't comment on the restaurant on the property as it was not open, but Hillary, the lovely innkeeper, makes a great breakfast.

The property is great for exploring--both on the farm with the animals and trails and, for the hardy, down (and back up) the hill to Avery's General Store.

The surrounding area has lots of interesting towns and wayside stops.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, ask for Room 6 or 7. They are at the top of the house and have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKAZengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the WarfieldHouse Inn, in the bungalow for two nights for our son & daughter in laws wedding reception which was held there. We will never go there again or reccomend staying there, yes the view is spectacular and it is a working farm we knew all that before hand, that said:
1 The inn keeper of the bungalow Melanie ( and I don't like to mention names but people need to know this.) is the rudest woman I have ever met.She was not there when we arrived, so we were left with post its on the door telling us what rooms we were in, which was all wrong! So my husband went to the main house to straighten that out and they had no idea what was going on altho the girl was very nice.
I had my mother and aunt who are both 79 years old, we had requested a room with twin beds and a private bath, which is off the kitchen, that was fine, until the day of the wedding when Melanie showed up, the reception was over and we were all sitting on the porch and she came out and demanded to know who was staying in the house and it was all wrong !
Now this was done in front of all our guests,my husband tried to talk too her but she was right and he was wrong, they went inside to straighten it out.. the next morning we were told she was making pancakes which was fine, but everyone was not up at the same time and that also bothered her...
When we went to check out she tried to bill us for people who were staying in the main house along with our guests in the bungalow.. and actually had a heated descusion in front of the guests,who are all in the industry, they are all chefs as is my son. Needless to say they could not believe how rude she was! If the Warfield House Inn wants to stay a B&B I strongly suggest they get the right people to run it. This wedding was planned a year in advance so this was not something she didn't know about and reservations where confirmed a week in advance. Thankfully my son and daughter inlaw had a wonderful wedding and did not spend their wedding night at the Warfield house Inn.

Room Tip: no recomendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hollymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We made a reservation and were pleasantly surprised to be seated at what we would consider the best table in the house. The view is exquisite! The staff was very attentive and kind. The menu is not very long but there is something for everyone on it. The grass raised beef came recommended by the chef and did not disappoint. The price of the meals was reasonable. It was a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stated at Warfield House during hurricane Irene. The hurricane made it where we couldn't leave. Everyone there took great care of us and provided for every need we could have had. Also the restaurant was amazingly good and the service was really impressive.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

When I first thought about reviewing the Warfield House, I wasn't sure how I would go about rating it. It's a stunning location, in all honesty, I don't think they understand that they have a gem with that place, and if they built a newer barn instead of a pavilion, they could charge a lot more for weddings. Location definitely gets 5 stars. However, the management is really not all that great. My advice to anyone booking a function here - GET IT IN WRITING! They told both my mom and I that part of the wedding package included champagne for the toasts. 2 weeks before the wedding they told us they had no idea where we got that idea, because they didn't even have champagne glasses. So, we didn't have a champagne toast, we just had everyone lift their glass - whatever that may have been. Thank goodness for my vendors - my caterer and dj especially - because the night went off without a hitch because of them. The bartenders were fantastic, and we even got the owner and the event planner out on the dance floor by the end of the night. All in all, they just don't have a clue what they are doing. My room was beautiful, breakfast was delicious, and I had the wedding of my dreams.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are adorable (maybe the newest?) and have A/C. We loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianScarpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The setting cannot be beat (5 stars). The concept is truly wonderful (5 stars). The staff were truly nice people (4.5 stars). The rooms are really pretty nice (4 stars). But I give it a rating of 3 overall, because it feels like the place just opened and they are still working out the kinks, even in the restaurant. Perhaps they are trying to do too much at once, with the restaurant and managing local entertainment. We didn't get served dinner at the restaurant for 90 minutes, but on the other hand, they were apologetic and treated us to dessert and a round of drinks. The staff for our house was out sick and nobody took over, so our rooms never were cleaned in our two-night stay (and this is a working farm, so the floor does get dirty). We couldn't figure out why they did not understand that a raucous band playing well into the night might not be a great idea for a peaceful stay on a farm with small children. Imagine the 7-year-old still up 2.5 hours after he went to bed.

All the same, we really did enjoy the people and the place is so wonderful. They make their own maple syrup and it's incredibly good (you just want to drink it). The kids can collect eggs in the mornings. I really want to give it another chance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anon430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlemont
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.7 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
808 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
300 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warfield House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warfield House Inn

Property: The Warfield House Inn
Address: 200 Warfield Rd, Charlemont, MA 01339-9805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Charlemont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A UNIQUE BED AND BREAKFAST, One of New England's best kept secrets! New England family farm tradition on a breathtaking 530 acres overlooking the scenic Mohawk Trail and Deerfield River. Wake up to find yourself on top of the world. Explore and let nature work its wonders on you! Bed and breakfasts come in all shapes and sizes. How do you describe a magnificent bed and breakfast with two guesthouses, and a special events and wedding facility? All of this on a splendid working farm overlooking the Mohawk Trail, Deerfield River in the foothills of the Berkshires in Western Massachusetts? Now our guests can have the experience to enjoy a Llama Picnic Trek!! The Warfield House Inn is located in Charlemont, MA. In a word, you could call it enchanting, sweeping vistas, mountain air, charming rooms and an expansive conference facility provide an inspiring setting for any occasion. Come for a special overnight stay or a holiday weekend. We invite you to come as a couple or as a group, for an adventure or for a celebration. Refresh and recharge at this peaceful bed and breakfast atop Warfield Mountain. From the Warfield House Inn, located in the Berkshire Hills of Western Mass, you can explore the natural beauty of New England's mountaintop forests or its rapid rivers. Spend your days participating in some of the best fly-fishing, rafting and skiing in the Northeast. The local towns are rich in history and full of artisans, architectural wonders and antique shops. You do not have to travel far from our bed and breakfast to find recreation, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Warfield House Hotel Charlemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing