We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you are looking for all rolled into one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Feeding Hills, MA
1 review
“Everything you are looking for all rolled into one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

It's designation as "The Perfect Place" is no understatement. We just spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Inn celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary (September 2012) and have never felt so comfortable, pampered, and welcomed by staff and surroundings at any other place we have chosen to spend our time. We were looking for a most memorable experience and we certainly got that and much more. From the first pass through the front gate, we immediately felt the charm and warmth. The grounds are spectacular, neat and well-groomed with herb and perennial gardens, fountains, benches, a gazebo, heated pool, and several areas to relax and talk about our day of exploring Chatham and the Cape. Did not use the fitness room but it's there if you so choose to work out. A complimentary full breakfast or lighter continental breakfast is offered each morning and afternoon tea is offered each afternoon. In the evening, you can visit the kitchen and have tea or coffee and some sweets before retiring for the night. The British interns are at your service and aim to please, so sweet! The innkeepers are highly visible and mingle with their guests making sure all is well. They surely know how to pamper and please. The rooms are clean and inviting. Ours (Lady Mariah) was particularly desirable with its luxurious bath including jacuzzi and fireplace. Even if you never leave the grounds, you will have a great vacation from start to finish. Every need is fulfilled without being intrusive. Jill and James have really thought of everything. Hated to leave and cannot wait to return. Our only regret was not finding this most special place sooner. Book early!

Room Tip: Your choice of room depends solely on your needs. Each room has something to offer, check the websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SY_JKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    68
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
85
822
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The property was beautiful and the house had a warm feeling to it. I stayed in the Eliza Jane room and was very comfortable. Room is quite spacious, equipped with mini fridge and tv. Bath room is newly renovated with stand up shower, and big bath. The staff is made up of interns from England who are studying either Hotel Management, or Business, etc. They come over and work a full year at the Inn, usually from June to June. They don't give the best advise on the local hot spots but they do offer great service and are very friendly. Breakfast every morning was something different, home made, and always very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank its_tuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is my third year staying at this property. This year I included my children ages 10 and 11. We had such a wonderful vacation. We stayed in the Lydia Harding Suite which was more than enough room for 4 of us. My son especially loved the luxurious robes after he soaked in the huge jacuzzi tub. I think we took advantage of every amenity offered right down to playing croquet! The innkeepers and staff have every detail covered such as preprinted directions to restaurants, beaches and other towns on the Cape. They are always one step ahead of you in terms of service. Normally we like to travel around the Cape and stay at different inns, but we can't seem to want to leave the Captain's House Inn and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLMatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I am from the Cape originally and know it well. My wife and I return once or twice a year and have tried all of the most highly rated inns. Several years ago we tried the Captain's House Inn in Chatham and determined that it was the best of all in terms of ambience and service. Consequently we stay there every time we visit the Cape.

Room Tip: Wild Pigeon and Hiram Harding are our favorite rooms, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtbuckbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at The Captain's House Inn for Labor Day weekend in 2012 (Sat-Wed). We were there to celebrate our 10th year anniversary and we are so happy this is the place we chose. The inn is located on Cape Cod in the town of Chatam which is not far to down town Chatam and the local beach. The grounds were immaculate. Beautiful gardens and heated swimming spool. We selected the Northern Lights Room which came with a huge, comfy king size bed. The room is decorated perfectly and has a sweet little fire place and outdoor patio to relax by. The room was spacious and the light instrumental music they play is so soothing that we left it on all through the night. Each day they ensured our refrigerator was stocked with bottles of water and Nantucket Cranberry juice. The snack basket was also re-stocked daily with Cape Cod kettle cooked potatoe chips and Kashi granola bars. My favorite was the Lindtt mint chocolates that they left for you each morning when they cleaned and replensished your room and at night during turn down serivice. The room has every amentity including a coffee pot which we never used because coffee, tea and juice is brought every morning at the time you choose. Tea time is from 3:00-5:00pm. They offered a lot of different cakes, cookies, pies teas, coffee, etc. Then they put out an evening snack at night from 6:00-10:00 which also offers an array of goodies, drinks and hot chocolate. The library is completley stocked with updated DVD movies which you can take back to your room and enjoy (yes there is a TV). Let's not forget to mention the complimentary Port and whiskey offered in the library as well. Breakfast was always gormet. Perfectly plated meals that were delicious and filling. Besides your main course they offer a continental breakfast with bagels, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereal, granola etc. They start you off with their "Fruit Starter" of the day and they bring you cute little individual pots of coffee or tea. Absolutley a wonderful way to start the day. So now let me talk about the staff. First off I must mention that the inn keepers Jill and James were not there for the first part of our trip. They were on a family vacation and rightfully so (all families need these times). Thankfully their staff is absolutley amazing. Everything was seamless. Everyone from the maids, chiefs, and groundskeepers were helpful and kind. In fact we did not even realize the inn keepers were not there until two days later. How did we realize it? We found a greeting card in our room one night that was hand written and it was apologizing that they (Jill and James the inn keepers) were away, but that they couldn't wait to meet us upon their return. Talk about a perfect touch. As promised we were greeted by a Jill on Tuesday morning. It just so happened that it was the day of our anniversary and we needed help with our plans to visit Martha's Vineyard. Jill told us exactly where to go what to do and took it upon herself to book our anniversary dinner at The Captain Linnell House in Orleans. She got the timing just right and the place was stunning! The food was amazing and the waitress brought me flowers for our anniversary. When we got back to our room that night Jill had sent chocolate covered strawberries with another card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. Such a simple touch but it meant the world to us. I can't say enough about The Captain's House Inn, it's wonderful staff, and it's thoughtful owners. They truly leave no stone unturned. Thank you for making our 10 year a memorable one. We will definatley be back in years to come. For those of you looking for the perfect B&B, than look no furthur, this is the real deal. It was worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: The Northern Lights room is stunning, spacious, and perfect for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

After reading many reviews we chose this great inn - a ten out of ten!
Super helpful staff
Cleanliness top notch
Good location
Organized innkeepers with dinner reservations done ahead
Excellent food
Attention to detail outstanding

Room Tip: Great website where you can look at the pics yourself to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Jill and James are always available if you need any advise on local activities. James helped us book a car on Martha's Vineyard for a day trip. Access to downtown is within walking distance. I would cut across Barcliff instead of walking all the way down to the end of Old Harbor Road.

The breakfast was delicious and beatuifully displayed. The Port and Sherry in the library were a great touch. Our Room the Lady Hope was wonderful. We were even able to place a cot in there for my daughter. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the pool was great! I can't wait to go again next summer. The is B&B is beyond wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
16.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Property: Captain's House Inn
Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham
Captain's House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing