We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great long weekend getaway”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came for our 2nd wedding anniversary. The Captain's House Inn is a fantastic place in a scenic historic area. Our room the Whirlwind was very cozy and the whole building was like stepping back in time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. This review would be dishonest without even mentioning breakfast, the staff serve a delicious English style breakfast. Jill one of the owners was very gracious and stopped by during breakfast to chat with us. No doubt we would stay there again if we are in the Chatham area. Recommend for those that want that special romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioRosa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and that breakfast was a big part of your positive experience at the inn. Our chef works hard on his menus and we always welcome guest input. Many dishes he creates were inspired by guests' ideas and feedback. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day, as they say, we're glad each morning of your visit was kicked off on the right foot. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    73
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
866
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An absolutely amazing place at which to spend a few days. It isn't just a place to stay, it is a unique experience. Charming, comfortable and just like being part of a large, warm and friendly home. Both the young owners, Jill and James Meyers, and their attentive and friendly staff were an absolute joy.

Room Tip: Every room has its own character. Just choose the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your positive review. I love that you used our catch phrase, 'The Perfect Place' as your review title. It is a bold statement and one we always strive to live up to. We're glad that for you we did so. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment you drive in you feel like you're on a little secluded oasis. The sun room where they serve breakfast was a fast favorite. We Eve. Saw a bunny a breakfast outside having a salad. W

We stayed in the Hirum Harding room. You feel like you're stepping into a bit of history in that room. Imagining what it might have been like at one time. Probably not with a big luxurious king bed and a mini fridge, but the nature of the room remains.


We toured many of the rooms with Jill the darling innkeeper. Many of the rooms are quite new and really, really lovely. We were just tickled to have the chance to sleep in a bit of history.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review...and for describing me as "darling." I love that description - makes me feel a lot younger :). I, too, always try to imagine the history behind the rooms - the building you stayed, in particular, has so much charm and history. It was a pleasure meeting with you and chatting about the business as we walked through some rooms. Again, many thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Attention to detail by a friendly and welcoming staff is evidence of the high expectations and customer service training provided to the team by James and Jill Meyer, the Inn's talented young owners. Our room was outstanding and warmly furnished. Every aspect of the service was top notch and the breakfast, afternoon tea and evening snacks were nicely prepared and served in a beautiful setting. The gardens were being tended to during our stay and we hope to revisit during their full bloom. Our stay at Captain's House Inn was a wonderful way to welcome Spring, after a very cold and snowy New England Winter! We will definitely return for future visits!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. Our gardener you saw during your stay was James' mom. She and Dan, our seasonal grounds and maintenance guy, tend to the gardens and I give them a lot of credit. They do a beautiful job and spring is blooming at the inn. Thank you for noticing their efforts and we would love to see you at different times of the year as the gardens evolve from season to season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We've had the pleasure of staying at Captains House Inn many times, and we have totally enjoyed each stay. The rooms are each unique, most (or maybe all) with fireplaces, very comfortable beds and sitting areas. The staff is very friendly, ready to help at a moment's notice. We opted to have breakfast in the room, which is a real luxury. Each was delicious. Captain's is our special off-season treat on the Cape. It would be hard to imagine a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Each room is so different, so check their web site to see which fits your style or preferences. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
First, thank you very much for writing such a glowing review. And second, thank you for continuing to stay with us again and again. We really couldn't ask for a better compliment. And you are right - all rooms have fireplaces - most are gas, some pot belly stoves, and two log burning. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfasts too and were able to take advantage of enjoying them in your room - there's nothing like breakfast in bed to make you feel pampered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It's hard to take a cold and rainy weekend in March on the Cape and turn it into a warm and wonderful experience. The Innkeeper (Jill) and staff did just that. Our room was very nice; elegant, spacious, well-appointed. Perhaps just a tad tired but certainly nothing to complain about. Breakfasts were outstanding; served beautifully, piping hot and delicious. Although not an easy walk to restaurants or shopping, the weather would have precluded this anyway. The staff was well-trained, attentive and friendly. I don't believe the word "no" was in their vocabulary. A great alternative to the large, well-known inn located in Chatham. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Stairway to our room was quite narrow. Was fine for us but ask if this could be an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. James and I and our staff truly love what we do, so the service guests receive is genuine - we really do believe that there is no such word as no! We appreciate you recognizing that and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We'd like to recommend the "elopement package" to couples who only want a private and intimate wedding. The property is absolutely lovely. The inn keeper Jill and the staff were very nice and helpful. You don't need to prepare much since they take care of almost everything. Their online reservation system is very convenient and Jill replied emails quickly to answer questions. We enjoyed our stay in the Eliza Jane Suite. There is a collection of DVDs in the library which you can borrow from during your stay, which is an excellent feature. We definitely will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChathamFan, Owner at Captain's House Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about our inn and elopement package. We so enjoy having couples get married here for an intimate ceremony and are glad you were pleased with everything - it is, after all, one of the most important days of your life! Congratulations and we hope to see you back for anniversaries and getaways!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Property: Captain's House Inn
Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham
Captain's House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing