We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a delightful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lexington, massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we had a delightful stay!”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My son, his fiance and I arrived at the Captain's House Inn late in the afternoon. We had tea and lemonade (included in the room rate) in the garden with lovely homemade cakes -- agreeing that the pecan scone with clotted cream and jam was the best. The staff made us feel as though we were in their own home, with coffee and cookies left on the kitchen counter for a late night snack and sherry while watching a movie from their library. In our one-night stay we had a dip in the pool, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast (also included) before leaving. Everything about our stay was perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceangirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    74
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
97
878
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Granby, CT
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Captain's House Inn offers an ideal escape for your next vacation if you want quiet, charm and sophistication. We visit the Cape annually and for several years had stayed at one of two standard motel properties, one with beach frontage but which was very expensive and offered little in the way of charm. Despite the lack of charm at that motel, before our first stay at The Captain's House last year we were worried we might miss the view of and access to the beach, but we should not have been concerned - for the past two years we have been delighted with our choice of The Captain's House and its quiet elegance. The location is good - you can bike to the center of Chatham if you wish (though we always drive the mile or so there and now park in the new Community Center lot near the rotary). When you enter the Captain's property you feel the combination of the Cape Cod and English charm immediately - the grounds are very well maintained with many flowers, a gazebo, herb garden and all beautifully set off the buildings' traditional Cape Cod architecture. The main house and guest rooms are very clean and decorated with antiques. Sometimes we don't stay at Bed & Breakfasts because neighbors are a little too close, but at The Captain's House we do not feel that way at all. We have stayed in the Whirlwind and Wild Hunter rooms - both offer privacy and quiet; we especially enjoyed reading the paper each morning on the private deck of the Wild Hunter while watching the birds in the bird bath and listening to the little fountain in the yard. The interiors really look the way they do on the Inn's website. The other guests are very quiet - no children running amok (as we had experienced at the aforementioned motels). The Inn seems to attract its share of European visitors - we have heard British, French and German accents at breakfast. The staff is very friendly, efficient and eager to please and are mainly hospitality students from England which adds to the English charm. The owners also help serve the breakfast and chat with each guest and are genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your stay. The breakfasts are a delight - choose between two elaborate and creative options that change daily, plus an array of cereals, breads, fruit - all served in the sunny dining area on attractive china. And don't miss tea time between 3 and 5 - a daily changing assortment of delicious pastries with your favorite tea (they seem to have about 10 teas available at any time) or excellent lemonade. And if you come home late (9 or 10-ish by Cape standards) you can snag a few more treats from the kitchen that is open to guests for that purpose. There are plenty of comfortable chairs at the pool. Both times we have visited the Inn it has been full, but the public spaces never seem crowded, or actually have anyone else in them usually other than at breakfast. We can't think of any negative aspect of the Inn and we will definitely be back. Stay at the Captain's House if you want a sophisticated, relaxing and convenient place to enjoy for its own sake, or from which to explore Chatham or the entire Cape.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,MA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I had a fantastic time at the Captain's House Inn! The room was super nice & the welcome basket is a very nice touch! The breakfast was yummy- they even cooked up something that was not on the menu for my picky man!!!! I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the US and I have to say this little inn is right up there with them. I can not wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisiea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn.NY
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at The Captain's House in the Clarissa Suite. Our room was the nicest we have ever stayed in- we had trouble leaving it in time to get down to the delicious breakfast each morning! The inn keepers are gracious hosts who really have thought of everything. The entire staff was incredibly warm and helpful. Can't wait to send our friends and family here and make our return soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrikeBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

After much internet searching for places to stay in Chatham, we decided on the Captain's House Inn and were extremely satisfied with our choice. While we do not typically pay that much for a room, we felt that the services and amenities we received were well worth it. There was more food than we could eat, staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful, and the room was large, nicely decorated, and quiet. If you needed anything, they were ready to help. We would stay again if we return to Cape Cod!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The Captain's House Inn is a beautiful Inn located in Chatham...a short drive to downtown Chatham and the Chatham Fish Pier. We stayed in the Lady Mariah room, which was beautiful !! The room was decorated with a lot of care and thought, and it really seems that they think of almost everything here...I would recommend this Inn to anyone. The price seemed a bit high (depends on what you are used to) for the room, but a stunning breakfast was included, and my wife and I really enjoyed our retreat away for a couple of days ! This is a lovely place to stay, and the staff is OUTSTANDING !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemywifelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in July. From the informal but very inforamtive first tour to our (tearful) departure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful Inn.
The staff are great and the Innkeepers really do know how to run things.
Thanks to Kevin for the magnificent breakfasts - I still miss them. The afternoon tea each day was very welcome, as were the cookies at night. The rooms were great - and those sheets!!!!!!!
We really wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
1.0 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House Inn

Property: Captain's House Inn
Address: 369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Captain's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Chatham
Captain's House Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing