We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Chatham Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chatham Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The Innkeeper is truly into every little detail. From the amenities in the rooms, to the incredible quality of the linens, she carefully tends to every tiny detail. Breakfast was lovely, afternoon sweets were always appreciated and lovely chocolates on my pillow each night was the perfect end to the day. We plan to come back in the winter, and I would HIGHLY recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 511elenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We believe in truly spoiling our guests and ensuring everyone feels like royalty! The chocolates to end the day are really the best and we are glad you enjoyed all we have to offer here at CGI. We look forward to hosting you gain in the future!
David and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
408
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The innkeepers are lovely,very helpful and quite friendly and caring !The room was beautiful,well appointed with very nice amenities.The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.The atmosphere was quiet and restful !We liked it so much,we are sending our children. We hope to return!

Room Tip: We had the very new Monomoy Suite which we really enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We look forward to hosting your children. We love having returning guests and their families! We are happy you enjoyed the amenities and decor. Although the Inn's heavy renovations were completed prior to our arrival in 2012, we continue to add our own touches to all of our rooms! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next stay with us.
Andrea and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Gorgeous house with spacious and nicely decorated rooms. The towels and linens where the softest I have experienced.

The warm breakfast menu is fantastic.

Great service from the two genuine owners who were always at hand when necessary; whether it was for travel and excursion tips or just to know more about the region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely description of our Inn and your experience with us here at CGI. Referring to us as "genuine owners" is the highest compliment we could receive. We always hope to be available for all of our guests, but at the same time allow everyone their privacy and time for relaxation. We look forward to hosting you again here in Chatham. Have a wonderful August!
Andrea & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the inn. Highlights: room was lovely; decent location; very clean.
Unfortunately all of this was overshadowed by our welcome. Our 10 year old son was with us and walked inside the inn with me to check in. The innkeeper greeted us by staring at my son and asking if my husband was with me. He then said there was a problem as they don't allow kids. I advised him that the confirmation email stated ages 10 and up. He then said "well he doesn't look 10". (Our son is small for his age). He then went to get his wife who also told me that we had a problem. At this time I asked my husband to take my son outside as he was visibly upset. Long story short ,our reservations were made in February and they changed their policy on kids in March. We were given an apology for the awful way we were treated at check in, but my son was never comfortable. He did not want to eat breakfast there and shied away every time he saw the owners. As a result we spent very little time there. He asked me if he ruined our vacation. I understand rules and I understand the need to enforce them. However, I'm still appalled that they questioned his age in front of him and repeatedly told me that there was a problem because of him in front of him.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We have been awaiting your review! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to re-assure our future guests looking for romance and luxury, that we are indeed Chatham's premium property for adults to come to to re-learn what it means to relax! We are truly sorry that your child, bless his little heart, was placed in a position where he was made to feel uncomfortable, especially when you asked him to recite to us not only his birthday, but the year of his birth. We were admittedly surprised that you had your child upon arrival, not just due to his age, but that you were traveling as a party of three, not two as we expected. Our online booking system prompts our guests to call us directly when booking for more than two to discuss policies regarding multiple guests. We have this in place to prevent misunderstandings such as this.

Our current policy is such that we are equipped to welcome travelers ages 16 and over. We are truly sorry that our on-line booking system responded to you with a confirmation stating age 10 and above as was our current policy. We did have a policy change the month your on-line reservation was made. As you know, we did make every effort to accommodate your son very comfortably, even with a little "Kashwere Kreature" to hug at night! Having three grown children and 4 grandchildren of our own, we would certainly never turn you and your family away due to this misunderstanding.

We also made sure our on-site guests, who were in question, knew there was a misunderstanding. We stand firm with our age appropriate policies. We do hope you were able to enjoy all there is to offer here in Chatham and wish you the best of luck finding future accommodations for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I run a restaurant and appreciate good hospitality. They do a lovely job of it here. If you're looking for a quaint and quiet B&B this is as good as it gets. Just 'cause expedita wants 200 characters.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you Mark for the review! Sometimes just a few words are just enough to let us know how you enjoyed your stay! Being from the hospitality industry, we truly appreciate your review. We hope we are able to accommodate you in the future.
Dave & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Chatham Gables Inn. With this being our first visit to Chatham, Andrea and David rolled out the red carpet. Andrea was kind enough to help surprise my husband with our wedding picture shipped and displayed in our room prior to our arrival. Her helpful hints on their Facebook page, vacation guide and Pinterest helped me immensly to plan our weekend. The Inn is conveniently located to the water and downtown while providing you a quiet rural setting. The room was beautifully furnished, decorated and included wonderful spa products we truly enjoyed. The food expertly prepared and presented by Andrea was phenomonal. I have stayed in many five star and boutique hotels around the world and would not hesiate to recommend Chatham Gables Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristmasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We just love having couples that celebrate their anniversary with us! It was our pleasure to provide the displayed wedding photo for your husband.
It is wonderful you were able to use our social media (Facebook and Pinterest) to access our helpful hints and vacation guide. Since becoming the owners over 2 years ago, we have enjoyed expanding upon Facebook and Pinterest and continue to hear how helpful it has become. Comparing us to other 5 star Inn and Boutiques around the world is quite the compliment, and we thank you for that. We hope you will be able to return for another stay with us here at CGI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

.
Chatham Gables Inn is a very sweet little inn and represents an almost perfect Cape Cod place to stay. Chatham itself is a very nice little town which is hard to fault and is worthy of a weekend vacation.

The inn itself is tucked away from the main town - but it is possible to walk there. Go in the opposite direction and it is possible to walk to the beach.

The owners of the inn are a delightful, personable, helpful couple. And they have achieved in creating an almost perfect American inn.

What really stood out was the high standard of cleanliness of the rooms, everything felt fresh and newly decorated. The whole of the inn is has the touch of someone interested in interior decoration - olde world charm mixed with modern clean lines. The website is a good honest representation of what to expect.

In many ways the inn deserves a 5 star award, the reason I knock a star off is the limited timescale of breakfast being served between 8am to 9am. This takes away that feeling of relaxation when on vacation when you might want an extra hour or two in bed. We felt a little pressurised to be up and out of the way.

Also, although this may be a very personal opinion, I don't think it necessary to have music playing in all the public areas. I'm sure most people are visiting from hectic cities and crave peace and quiet in at least one public room. Silence can be golden - listening to bird song is preferable to Celine Dion.

Regardless of our minor quibbles, we really would not hesitate in recommending this delightful little inn.

.

Room Tip: Go for larger rooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGI364, Owner at Chatham Gables Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We love that you described our Inn as "Charming!" Our guests do find our location to be quite perfect being less than a half mile from town and less than a half mile from the ocean. During the summer high season, it is particularly peaceful. CGI is just far enough from town to enjoy the peace and quiet of the garden, but at the same time a stones throw to the hustle and bustle of Main Street to enjoy shopping and dinner.
Thank you for commenting on our attention to detail and cleanliness of our luxury inn. "Old world charm mixed with modern cleanliness" is a lovely way of describing the Inn.

We do apologize you did not fine our breakfast times to fit your vacation while here at CGI. During low-season, in order to keep breakfast as fresh as possible we do limit our breakfasts times. Many mornings there may be only 2 or 3 couples staying with us. Although the main dish at breakfast is made to order, we also have additions such as our Blueberry Cobbler that we prepare as a batch. With only a few couples, we find it worked best to have an hour time period for breakfast. During our high season, we do extend this time to accommodate the increased amount of guests.

We do typically have spa/relaxing gentle music in the background of our 3 common areas. We have found guests enjoy George Winston or Emile Pandori piano to relax while sitting by the fire, as well as to eliminate other noise made from other guests. We do adore Bird Song as well! During your next stay with us, please let us know your preference and we would be happy to lower the music or perhaps find something you would enjoy!
We look forward to inviting you into our home again in the future.
Andrea & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Gables Inn

Property: Chatham Gables Inn
Address: 364 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's most beautifully-restored sea captain's mansion, boasting authentic Nantucket charm & hospitality, is a gorgeous award winning SELECT REGISTRY boutique inn located within walking distance to Chatham's historic downtown village and incredible beaches. Chatham Gables Inn, Chatham's premiere adult luxury property is one of the prestigious BED & BREAKFAST DIAMOND COLLECTION, and winner of the 2011 Chatham Preservation Award. Named "Fodor's Choice" for all hotels in Chatham, this classic New England inn features superior service, luxury spa amenities, bountiful breakfast, and a peacefully beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chatham Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Gables Hotel Chatham
Chatham Gables Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing