We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatham Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chatham Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Chatham Motel. I have no complaints about the room. It was very clean and looked newly renovated. Housekeeping was very prompt every day. The only negative which really wasn't a big deal, was our assigned parking spot had an overgrown bush on the passenger side making it impossible to open the door once parked, especially since the people next to the driver side door had a huge oversized truck. But that wouldn't deter me from returning. The price was right and I would highly recommend the Chatham Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    82
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
111
110
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I was worried about booking a motel and I have never been to Cape cod so I had no idea where or what to book. I think I made a great choice! The location is convenient in the sense that it's on the main street. Although, it's not exactly walking distance to the downtown. You need a car or a bike to get around, but I love this place because it's super clean and very quaint. I almost feel like it's right from the 50's with the panle walls and bulit in bottle opener in the wall! The bed spread is a nice cotton quilt whice feels so homey. It's very simeple. The TV is small. There is no iron or board in the room. There is a fridge. But it's very clean and there are three windows, the staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are cottagy and lovely. Chatham is a great location as it's quaint and charming and a good centre point for all the activities you may want to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevnJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Apart from having an old school building on site for the suites, the rooms are in a classic single story carpark-facing arrangement set in a few acres of nicely kempt gardens. On the main road but far enough away from the traffic to be very quiet. Trees shadow the rooms from the summer heat.

The two only slight negatives are that the rooms have two queen beds not a single large bed which cramps the room a little and there is no kitchenette so self catering is not an option.

Room Tip: Bring your swimming clothes! The pool is small but excellent for lounging around on a sunny afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o0GlobeTrotter0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adams, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Chatham Motel a few days ago. I've been coming to Cape Cod since I was little & because of my boyfriend's work obligations, had to book a room at the last minute, and the place I wanted to stay was full- so I read the reviews of the Chatham Motel and decided it would be a good place to stay. I can say that the staff was very friendly and it was quite cozy. The pool looked clean and it was a nice laid-back atmosphere. The only complaints I had were that the toilet wasn't very clean-looking (there were a few spots on the seat), there were stains on one of the pillow covers, and mold and someone else's hair in the fridge. It was obvious the room had gotten a basic cleaning (vacuumed, sheets washed, etc.) but those things were bothersome. Because of that, I don't know if I'd stay here again. Cleanliness is extremely important to me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeHakk210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed for three nights in late June. The motel has that mid-20th Century look on the outside but very clean (and I am PICKY). The location is great in terms of convenience to Chatham and other points on the Cape.

One thing to be aware of is that there is a definite difference in rooms. When we were shopping the motel I am quite sure that Expedia associated a higher level of room with the rate we were paying, than what we got. the room was fine but part of my reason for choosing it was that the deluxe room had a little more privacy from our young children.

The only drawback to the location is the bugginess. Bugs are part of summer in New England, but we had to ask hotel staff to vacuum out the many small flies that came in when we opened the windows on arrival. Also, there were quite a few beetles in the pool.

That said, the staff were super about taking care of anything we asked for and they clearly care about providing a postiive, comfortable stay for their guests.

If I were traveling without the kids we would stay again, most likely.

Room Tip: Don't open the windows if it's raining, because there are bugs smaller than the holes in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have stayed in Chatham for many years and have finally found the place we will come back again to stay next time! This is a great value--clean, comfy accommodations in a convenient location! The room had a microwave, refrigerator, new coffee maker and was spacious and quiet. It is the best value we have found and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I just stayed at The Chatham Motel this past weekend and had a very nice stay. The location of the motel is good - right in between downtown Chatham and Hardings Beach, so either is just a couple minutes in the car. Of course there isn't really anything special about the rooms but they are very clean and spacious - who cares if they are a bit dated? The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. My wife was disappointed that there wasn't a hair dryer in the room - not the end of the world and not a huge shock but still worth noting, and we couldn't find the TV remote anywhere, but weren't watching TV anyway.

Bill and Cheryl, the managers, were very friendly and helpful. It is true that there is no coffeemaker in the room but they have good coffee in the office starting at 8AM, or you can stop at the Dunkin Donuts down the street which is probably within walking distance.

We originally booked the motel because it was the cheapest rate I could find (it was the first weekend of peak season for some places and the last weekend of non-peak season for others) and the reviews were decent, but I'd gladly go back again now that we know we like it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
14.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Motel

Property: The Chatham Motel
Address: 1487 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2710
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#2 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chatham Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Motel provides you with the opportunity to enjoy a Chatham vacation in an atmosphere of beauty and quaintness that you expect from a small fishing village on Cape Cod. Here, away from the busy in-town activity, you are surrounded by colorful gardens and landscaped grounds. The Chatham Motel is within 1.5 miles to local restaurants, beaches, bike trails, and the downtown shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Chatham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Hotel Chatham
The Chatham Motel Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing