We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at home...”
Review of The Chatham Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatham Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like staying at home...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying in a motel typically makes me a bit nervous, but I was on a budget for an unexpected opportunity to go to the cape for the holiday weekend and so decided to give it a go. Glad I did! The room with 2 double beds was very clean and smelled fresh....nicely furnished. Appeared to be freshly painted with newer carpeting. The bathroom was a nice size, exceptionally clean. My only complaint would be in the amenities provided - 2 small bars of soap and a combo shampoo/conditioner that was barely enough for one. NBD - went to CVS and bought my own. Just a heads up so you can be prepared. Also, only 2 towels provided - worked out ok for just the 2 of us, but if you are coming with a family, be sure to ask for extra towels. The room included plenty of Starbucks coffee and a nice-sized refrigerator. The grounds were well kept. Can't comment on the pool - not open yet, but appears to be very nice. Plenty of chairs to set around outside. Location is great - convenient to beaches, restaurants, shopping....Easy access to the roads to Provincetown, Wellfleet, Truro and the Cape Cod National Seashore. The couple who run the place are very nice and helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. Plan to stay again later in the summer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbauer1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    85
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
117
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Plain, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My sister and went to the cape on Wednesday May 21st we stayed at the Chatham Motel and would recommend it very highly for anyone needing a place to stay. The room was very nice and the price was also very nice for the location. We enjoyed ourselves very much and plan on staying there again when we return possible this fall. Amy & Wanda

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay and it was just great! The rooms are clean, the grounds are well kept and the motel is located close to local amenities. We stood in the schoolhouse for the second year in a row and we love it. It's very spacious and has a nice porch to sit out on. Kevin and Celeste are great friendly hosts and run a great motel. We will be back again next year, it's a new tradition we plan on keeping!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The owners and managers of the Chatham Motel were incredibly helpful. The rooms were
cozy and had a cottage-like atmosphere. The motel was very convenient to the beaches, restaurants and downtown Chatham. Definitely a place I would stay again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoniaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Recently I was in Chatham to take part in a family funeral. The manager and his wife were kind and helped me with some last minute copying for the programs to be used at the cemetery. They're friendly and dedicated to making the motel a comfortable, safe place. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The grounds have some interesting plantings which have clearly been taken care of over the years. The location is conveniently close to the downtown of Chatham and the beach, even if not immediately at either. If I go back to Chatham, it's where I'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We needed comfortable, quiet and conveniently located accommodation that we could use as a base to explore the Cape - the Chatham Motel did the job perfectly. The room we stayed in was in the newer part of the complex and we were very impressed - it was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and very clean. The bed was big and comfy, the bathroom was spacious and the shower was hot and powerful - what more do you need? The room also came equipped with a modern capsule coffee machine, which was a nice touch.

In terms of location, the motel is a 5 minute drive to the charming shops and restaurants of Main St, and we never had a problem finding somewhere to park once we got there. There are also a number of restaurants that are within walking distance of the motel. It was also quick and easy enough to find our way to the main roads that led to the other parts of the Cape.

The management were welcoming and friendly and you can tell that they care about the accommodation and their guests. The welcome pack provided in the room was a goldmine of useful information. All in all, we would highly recommend the Chatham Motel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on a return visit to this gorgeous and fascinating area of the United States.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the complex and the room was fresh and modern - although the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've stayed here numerous times - once a year for about 13 years.
It's my home away from home. This motel is charming "old" Cape Cod - most all the rooms have been recently remodeled - they're beautifully done. This is a family owned and operated motel and they really care about their property and their service. It's a great location - close to 2 public beaches and to downtown Chatham. The rooms are extremely clean, and the staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. They have one efficiency unit which is what I choose. If you are going to Chatham or environs this is a great place for a reasonable price. Don't miss it! For kids they have a pool in season, and a swing set. Also includes A/C and heat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
643 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,210 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Chatham Highlander
Chatham Highlander
#9 of 9 in Chatham
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Motel

Property: The Chatham Motel
Address: 1487 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2710
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#2 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chatham Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatham Motel provides you with the opportunity to enjoy a Chatham vacation in an atmosphere of beauty and quaintness that you expect from a small fishing village on Cape Cod. Here, away from the busy in-town activity, you are surrounded by colorful gardens and landscaped grounds. The Chatham Motel is within 1.5 miles to local restaurants, beaches, bike trails, and the downtown shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Hotel Chatham
The Chatham Motel Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing