We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room. Great location”
Review of Surfside Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good room. Great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We rented a room for 2 days. The room was fairly small with 2 beds, a dresser, a TV and mini-fridge. The furnishing were old but in good shape. Everything was clean. The bathroom was a decent size. The fixtures were old but in good working order. The only problem was noise. The plumbing from the room above ours ran down the wall of our room so when someone used the bathroom upstairs the water was quite loud as it ran down the drain. It was loud enough to wake us up.

The best part is the location. It was a 4-5 minute walk to the downtown shopping strip so we didn't have to drive. Parking in Chatham downtown is difficult. It was also a 1-2 minute walk to the Lighthouse Beach.

The location and price of the room offset the dated furnishing. The noise was still a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Me and my Mom have been staying at the Surfside Motor inn for the past 18 years. It maybe not be the best decorated bed and breakfast in Chatham but for the price and location it cant be beat. Walking to the beach is easy and it is even possible to carry down kayaks and paddle out to North Beach. Walking to town takes just a couple minutes longer but it also very convenient. The staff is friendly and breakfast on the front porch can not be beat. One of my favorite places in the world, anyone who gets the chance should visit!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed at the Surfside many many times over the years and each and every time it has never failed to give us a wonderful holiday.

In Chatham it is rare to find a hotel that is reasonably priced with a good location. The Surfside is down a little quiet street, just a few minutes walk from a small beach and a little bit longer of a walk from the lighthouse beach which stretches for miles and never seems crowded.

The rooms in the Surfside are quaint and comfy. The porch on the front is the most relaxing place to sit and have a coffee in the morning or to sit on in the evening with a drink.

You can hear the sound of the ocean from most of the rooms which to us adds a very special touch.

The breakfast is served in a lovely sitting room with sofas and chairs. They even supply some toys for the little ones !

If you want a hotel as close to the beach as possible, without paying hundreds of dollars per night this is the place for you.

The hosts, Dick and Joan are the most welcoming and friendly people you are ever likely to come across. Nothing is too much trouble for them. It is obvious that they love having people come to stay in their beautiful hotel.

The Surfside is a magical place !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was a business trip for us. Our clients chose this place and we were quite disappointed. The location was great and the exterior of the place looked nice, but to our surprise, the inside was the opposite. We walked into the main area and found it was loaded with kids toys (which is great to keep the little ones happy, but this was a little overkill) The room was dingy, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the bedspreads were filthy, the sink had black mold in it, the sponges on the sink were old and smelly, the so called whole in the wall which was supposedly the closet was also used as an extra storage area which left us little room to hang our own things up, it also had little privacy and smoking was allowed outside and the smell came right into our room. Not a place for anyone wanting to get a good night sleep or anyone on a business trip that needs internet....there was none at all. What a shame, a great location with a neglected piece of property.

The only thing that made this trip bearable was it's location, their outside porch, walking distance to the beautiful beach, lighthouse, and all the little shops the town has to offer.

Put your $135.00/night towards a nicer place up the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WeTravelAlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chatham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
3.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
4.4 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#3 of 9 in Chatham
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motor Inn

Property: Surfside Motor Inn
Address: 25 Holway St, Chatham, MA 02633-2414
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Inn Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing