We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice affordable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatham Highlander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatham Highlander
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice affordable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2005

Considering that this hotel is not part of a large chain, it was a very nice stay, at a reasonable price, in a good location. The room was very clean, the plumbing fixtures were in excellent condition, and the setting was far enough back from the road that there was no traffic noise. The clerk was extremely polite at check-in and offered tips about local restaurants and sightseeing opportunities. The location is at the edge of town, so it is not reasonable for most people to walk to the restaurants and shops in town, but it is possible to find parking in the downtown area.
I would definitely stay at the Chatham Highlander if I visited that area again.

Helpful?
3 Thank tripunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
25
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2005

Visited Chatham for the first time over Memorial Day weeekend. We were a bit shocked by the high prices for lodging but managed to find the Chatham Highlander at a rate of $125/night. Our room had comfortable queen beds and the carpet seemed new. The furniture and bath were vintage but very clean.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2005

Really overpriced. We stayed there at the end of September and they required a two night stay. Green vinyl chairs. Nothing's been updated in years. Their "pool" is a tiny little hole in the ground.


Helpful?
5 Thank maf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, owner at Chatham Highlander, responded to this review, 24 April 2006
We used to be YUK but we've updated the entire place. We purchased the Chatham Highlander the end of 2003 and recognized it as a diamond in the rough. In 2005 we began updating the rooms. We finished them this year. 25% have been completely renovated. The others have new carpeting and furnishings. Our rooms and baths are spotless. As to the swimming pools, we have 2 heated ones. One is 18 x 36 and the other one is 20 x 40. Visit our website to see pictures of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2004

This place was a dump. Extremely overpriced at $130 a night. I've stayed at 5 star hotels that were cheaper. They were requiring a 2 night stay after Labor Day. The furniture was 1970s vintage. It doesn't look like they have replaced anything in the last 10 years minimum. Stay away from this place.


  • Stayed September 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, owner at Chatham Highlander, responded to this review, 24 April 2006
In September 2004 we were ugh. It was our first season of owning the Chatham Highlander. We have since updated all of the rooms. 25% are total renovations. The others are new carpet and furnishings. We offer lovely accomodations which you can see on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2004

I checked in to the Chatham Highlander on July 31. The Highlander is an old motel with well kept grounds and I thought for $150 per night we would be able to get clean, modest accommodations. We checked in at the temporary office, and went directly to our room in the adjacent building. The room had a heavily stained carpet, a strong odor, saggy beds and furniture from the 1950s. We could deal with that, but then the toilet overflowed. We decided to check out. I went back to the office and I explained to the clerk that the toilet had overflowed and my husband had shut the water off to the toilet in order to stop the water from flooding the room. I told her we would be checking out. We were in the room for no more than five minutes. She credited my credit card for the full amount of the room and apologized. I thanked her and left. Two weeks later when checking my credit card statement I found a $25.00 charge from the Chatham Highlander. I called the motel and spoke to the same clerk who had checked me in. She told me that she remembered exactly who I was because my husband and I had checked in, taken showers and then checked out. She knew we had taken showers because the towels were wet and in the tub. My husband had made the mistake of shutting the water off from the overflowing toilet and trying to wipe up the floor with towels. She then accused us of purposely trying to stop up the toilet in order to make it overflow. I had to call my credit card company to dispute the charge. They removed it, but told me that the Highlander would still be paid because $25 is not worth the credit card company’s time and effort. Somehow I think the Highlander knows that. If they thought we really used the shower and purposely damaged their property, I’m sure they would have charged us at least the full $150 rate. Beware!


Helpful?
14 Thank dinnerguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Chatham Highlander, responded to this review, 25 April 2006
We purchased the Chatham Highlander the end of 2003 and spent 2004 "getting our feet wet." This guest did have a horrible experience in August 2004. In August 2004, we hired new management. We did refund the $25 charge plus gave the customer an additional $25. Our management and cleaning staff are now awesome. The Chatham Highlander is a lovely property. You can see pictures of our grounds and rooms on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
7.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#4 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Highlander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Highlander

Property: Chatham Highlander
Address: 946 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-1865
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatham Highlander 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chatham Highlander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Hotel Chatham
Highlander Motel Chatham
Chatham Highlander Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing