We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel in stunning situation”
Review of Hawthorne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorne Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent motel in stunning situation”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Attractively furnished room, not large but contained everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our room included cooking facilities but it would be wise to check you have all the utensils you need before planning meals - we ended up cooking pasta in 2 small frying pans with no lids. The lids supplied didn't actually fit anything! Toaster and excellent coffee machine provided. Very well fitted out compact bathroom. Best bath/shower combination we've come across and included places to put things. Everything spotlessly clean. Easy walk to main street shops and restaurants in daylight but not well lit at night. Get up early and enjoy the sunrise over the private beach.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    80
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
111
202
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Struan, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having stayed at the Hawthorne some 6 years ago we returned 2013 this is a casual motel with the best views and setting you could wish to have easy, to find --- a short walk to the town for breakfast or dinner lovely people and really helpful plus free Wi Fi in rooms stay there worth every $

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a wedding at Chatham Bars Inn over Columbus Day Weekend and decided to make a little getaway trip out of it - the Hawthorn was PERFECT! It's still a little pricier than staying "in town" in chatham, but for 2 of us it was perfect and MUCH cheaper than Chatham Bars Inn with possibly better views?!

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and changed each day. The beds were very comfortable and clean and the owners accommodated some of the special need we had (arriving late) quickly and with no fuss. Also, when I was booking, they replied promptly and answered all my questions - even calling me to make sure we were all set.

I look forward to staying here again and absolutely recommend it to people looking to have a nice stay in Chatham, right on the water.

Room Tip: You will pay less if you don't get a water view room - but you can access the water as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbmorrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Hawthorn was perfect. Lovely, large room with a king bed and small kitchenette. Walking distance to town and restaurants and a beautiful view right on the water. The off season special rate of $150 was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiohugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorne. Great room, great view of the water.
Owners on site take pride in their property and very helpful directing us to local restaurants and shops. Rooms are clean and grounds are well kept with chairs to soak in the view.

Thanks Gil and Ellie for a great place to stay on our visit to the Cape.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimslyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Hawthorne sits right on the water and most rooms will have a view of the boats and sunrise. There is a lovely lawn and patio where you can relax; coffee and tea and fruit set out in the lobby/living room area in the morning. It is easy to walk into town and to the lighthouse and very central for driving to the other Cape areas of Provincetown and Hyannis. The room we had included a kitchenette which is nice for beverages and snacks but the space was a bit tight around the bed. Not a big problem considering you really don't spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkr718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a lovely view from our room. We were last minute stay and we were treated as if we had made reservations months in advance. Clean spacious room (ours did not have kitchenette) with a great view of water. Private beach and beach towels provided. We just loved our stay. The y have a list of local restaurants in lobby with menus and were very helpful. A jewel on the beach.

Room Tip: all seem to have views. Must ask for kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbetweeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chatham Motel
The Chatham Motel
#4 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Motel

Property: Hawthorne Motel
Address: 196 Shore Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2357
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#3 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful waterfront lodging in quaint Chatham, Massachusetts. The Hawthorne is located on a private ocean beach and only a short 6 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Standard ocean and non-ocean view motels rooms as well as rooms with a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hawthorne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Chatham
Hawthorne Motel Chatham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing